We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorite Churches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iglesia de Los Martires

Iglesia de Los Martires
Plaza de los Martires, 29008 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 95 2212724
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 180 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
2,760 reviews
2,484 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,572 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Churches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently went to hear Mass at this church. After Mass I looked around at the different altars and admired how the various images of the Virgin Mary were attired and how the chapels were decorated. It is a very beautiful church in the center of Malaga and should be seen by people who visit the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Church of the Martyrs Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love history and visiting these historical sites, it really does add immensely to the quality of your trip to hire a very good guide. We used Andalucia tours and it was well worth it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campanillas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A Rococo shrine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Situated in a street of the same name, the Church of the Martyrs is a must for anybody fond of "church crawling". It is a blaze of gold leaf and dark paintings, and holds a number of the images mounted on "tronos" for the Semana Santa processions, at which Málaga excels (some "tronos" require over 200 men to carry them!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Impressive Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stunning church which is one of many in Malaga. Impressive architecture, colours - a feast for the eyes. Whether passing in the street or entering the church, you cannot fail to be impressed. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
“A beautiful church with stunning artwork and statues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the great fortune and pleasure to visit in the company of BennyMalaga and his lovely wife. I'll never forget the beauty of the interior as well as the various statues of the Virgin. I loved their delicate faces and the expert craftsmanship of their embroidered clothing and bejewelled crowns. After visiting this church, I went to more than a dozen churches in other Spanish cities but I never saw adoration comparable to that of Los Martires. This will always be a special place for me.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglesia de Los Martires also viewed

 

Been to Iglesia de Los Martires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglesia de Los Martires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.