We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful church with stunning artwork and statues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iglesia de Los Martires

Iglesia de Los Martires
Plaza de los Martires, 29008 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 95 2212724
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
“A beautiful church with stunning artwork and statues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had the great fortune and pleasure to visit in the company of BennyMalaga and his lovely wife. I'll never forget the beauty of the interior as well as the various statues of the Virgin. I loved their delicate faces and the expert craftsmanship of their embroidered clothing and bejewelled crowns. After visiting this church, I went to more than a dozen churches in other Spanish cities but I never saw adoration comparable to that of Los Martires. This will always be a special place for me.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A most amazing church - a must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

One of the oldest churches in Malaga, dedicated to the city patron saints (you can leave your messages to one or both of them on special boards inside). But what impressed us most (I visited with my wife and 2-years-old son who seemed to enjoy the visit very much, unlike the other churches we took him in!) are the wonderful installations along the perimeter, reproducing scenes from the Bible in a very colorful and lifelike manner! The interior is really something to see, and it is a pity this Iglesia is positioned so low on TripAdvisor rating.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have never seen so many beautiful statues, all wonderfully maintained. It's a feast for the eyes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,274 reviews 2,274 reviews
2,046 attraction reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,933 helpful votes 1,933 helpful votes
“One of Malaga's Most Beautiful Churches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Church of Los Santos Martires was one of the four churches ordered built by the Catholic Kings after the conquest of Malaga from the Moors at the end of the 15th century. The church honors the Martyrs San Ciriaco and Santa Paula. Today these two saints are the patron saints of Malaga, together with Our Lady of Victory.

Don Diego de Deza was the person who built the church in 1505, although work started in 1491. The original church was in the Gothic-Mudejar style, with pointed arches. The architect of the main chapel and sacristy was Juan Rodriguez. The church has three naves and a big cupola on top of the main chapel. The whole church was remodeled in the 18th century and rededicated in 1777. The church suffered damage in 1854, 1884, and during the Civil War in 1936. The church was restored and inaugurated in 1945. The church has a long history of destruction and reconstruction.

Today the church is a mixture of styles, but the main style now in the decoration is rococo. There is penty of marble in the church and many of the chapels have gilded altars. There are about 11 different chapels with beautiful images of the Virgin Mary, many of them maintained by the cofradias (brotherhoods) that have their base in this church during Holy Week celebrations. Many of the processions originate in this church. The church is very beautiful and has much sculpture and many paintings. The sacristy is especially beautiful with its pastel colors.

This church is an architectural gem and one of the most beautiful in Andalusia.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglesia de Los Martires also viewed

 

Been to Iglesia de Los Martires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglesia de Los Martires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iglesia de Los Martires to your Saves list