We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best holidays we've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Resorts to your Saves list
Crown Resorts
Calle Monte Paraiso sn | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29649 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“one of the best holidays we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We just came back from the most incredible and special holiday with Crown Resorts! We stayed in Club Marbella and I can't say enough great things about the hostpitality, it was exceptional. The 2 bed apartments were SO lovely and spacious, really really big actually, with full kitchen and everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Two balconies, one which we had dinner and wine on every everning.

The whole resort gave us the perfect holiday experience. The customer service was also phenomenal. The staff were so kind and helpful. We went shopping in the supermarket and arranged for the goods to be delivered the next day, when we would not be in. The hotel staff kindly brought our shopping to our room and put some goods in the refridgerator for us, without incident.

We also loved the live entertainment every night and the children's activities.It was an incredibly child friendly/family friendly resort - with a children's 'animation' team there for you every day, either doing games, dances, or activities with the children in the mini-club room (full of toys, workshop space, activites etc). There was even a summer camp offered for children, so parents could do their own thing, at a very affordable price. There are spanish classes, zumba and heaps of other classes offered to adults too.

It was one of the best holidays we've ever had. We will go back as soon as possible and recommend the resort to everyone we know!

The only thing that wasn't great was the restaurant at the resort - not terrible at all but nothing special. And the restaurants outside around the resort were disappointing too - with heaps of british pub type places and almost no authentic or spanish places to eat. We had to walk and search for a long time outside until we found something nice, which we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent an extended weekend at the Crown Resort at Sitio de Calahonda. Spacious two bedroom with separate baths. Clean both outside and inside and well equipped. Service by professional and helpful reseptionists who spoke perfect english.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by the accomodation at this resort and it's facilities. We had two big bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, washing machine, living and dining and a balcony. The resort is spread over a large area made up of several resorts, it is almost a town to itself and you have access to all the facilities once you are booked in at any one of the resorts. There are several pools and restaurants and live entertainment at nights in the restaurant. The beach, shops and restaurants are in easy distance and if you eat local it can be inexpensive. The staff were friendly and quite helpful. We would love to visit Malaga again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

First let me say that we were upgraded from a studio to a 2br, I believe because there were few people in the resort. It was a nice surprise and welcomed. However, our room was in the back and had views of the apartment complex to the rear. With hardly anyone there, couldn't we have been closer to the front or to the pool? The mattresses on the beds are hard - and I love a firm mattress. The biggest complaint that I have is the heating. It is the end of November so I expected the weather to be somewhat colder, not a problem. The room only has plug in space heaters available. How does one little heater supply the entire 2BR apartment?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The resort is tired and definetly not up to standard. The cutlery is mismatched, towels as thin as tissue paper, the whole resort smells old and the furniture is dirty and tatty.

Room Tip: Avoid by all means
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton /lanakshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

got there 11pm after paying for 2 taxis from Malaga airport
6 of us three adults three ninios
50 euro each cab,cant believe there's no 7 seater's in the whole of Malaga.
as advised buy or booking conformation we went to club marrbella ,this is 1 of 7 different places to stay at crown resorts,some are in callahonda ours was in riverera del sol or RDS 5 min by car but hills everywhere ,we got the furthest away resort of club caronte not ideal if your with a pensioner and 3 kids.15 mins walk to a few bars and a large supermercado.20 min walk beech/bus stop to fungerola (45min)or marbella (30min).in this area RDS the taxis were a rip off i think there is an air of upper-class in this area so everywhere but the supermarket is on the expensive side of living(someone needs to let them no we all cant afford 24euro for a steak dinner).
2 nights in we travel to la calle de mijas only 5 min in a taxi X2 8euro each but well worth that as the restaurants are at least half the price and around 25 of them ,funny that its that cheap and only 5min in taxi or 10min on the bus(1.25euro each). Crown resorts needs to let people now witch club they will be staying at, some are lively and have much more facility's ,others only have A POOL .i paid 30 euros at the delta mar reception only to find out on our last day wifi is free at there pool (saw me coming you think) 2 bed apartment was clean large and had all you need,full kitchen including washing machine ect. no air con but there was a ceiling fan in every room. my main advice would be to hire a car for this area but its not essential.
crown has a internal bus service witch takes you to and from cabapino beech ,supermarket,all the clubs in there resort,they also sometimes come and give you a lift if you phone in advance witch was great.all in all a good resort if a bit spread out, make sure you tell them whether you want lively or secluded ..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

We booked this resort from reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. It had two bedrooms and two full baths, overlooking the sea. We were assigned Club Caronte, which is the furthest of the 5 clubs from the main road. I am pregnant and can concur with the rest of the reviews that you need to be in good shape if you want to stay here, as the resort is built into the side of a hill. However, there are plenty of taxis at the bottom of the hill where the grocery store is located, which will happily drive you to the top for 6 euros. We used them a few times during our stay.

The on-site facilities are sparse, but the pool was big enough and there were many loungers to use. They also provide all-day lifeguard service, which is great if you have small children. You can use the shuttle bus to get to the other resorts to use their facilities, but the service isn't frequent from Caronte. What we really liked was that we were able to use the pool and change room at the Del Mar resort the day we left, as our flight was in the evening. It helped to pass the time while we waited out the day. 

The minibus the resort provides will take you to and from the beach, but the local bus service (#220) is more frequent. We didn't rent a car because we didn't have an international driving license with us, but bus and taxi service were really reliable. Taxi to and from the airport is about 47-55 euros and they only take cash. Bus fare for kids 3 and under is free and for everyone else about 1.60-2 euros. If you go to Fuengirola or Mijas village (highly recommended) you will have to purchase your return ticket at the main bus terminal, not on the bus itself (which is the normal practice). Many people were caught off guard by this and missed the bus back to Riviera del Sol (where the hotel is located).

The beaches in Fuengirola are better than Marbella. In Marbella the sand is very rocky because they need to dredge up sand from the sea to reclaim the beach twice a year. On both beaches there are plenty of loungers with umbrellas, but a friendly gentleman will approach you when you sit down, because you have to pay 6-9 euros each chair to use them. It was really hot there, so we paid. 

All in all, a great last-minute vacation. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts

Address: Calle Monte Paraiso sn | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29649 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malaga
#5 Spa Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 454
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crown Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Malaga
Crown Hotel málaga
Crown Resort málaga
Crown Resorts Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.