We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Malaga Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Malaga Hotel to your Saves list
Monte Malaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo Antonio Machado, 10,, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Schepdaal, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor, very quiet, view on the pool. The room was very good and large.The bathroom had an infrared lamp so when you came out of the shower, you felt warm. The breakfast was super with a lot of fresh fruit and cava every day! Everybody was always friendly and helpfully. In ten minutes we were in the city centre. We also hired a car and parked it in the hotelgarage (€11p/day). Every day they cleaned the windshield of the car, without asking it. The lift in the hotel is part in glass, nice view on the harbour.
If we can mention something negative, it would be that the mattress of the beds were a bit too hard but we could live with that. We didn't use the wellness part so we can't say anything about that.

Room Tip: Great hotel! Friendly staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thanks for the review of our hotel and qualify us as "Super".
We appreciate your comments about the breakfast, the room facilities and their treatment, which is very important to us. And we hope that the hardness of the bed, which is attached to the customs of each person, not an obstacle to relax.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    244
    55
    12
    7
See reviews for
89
267
32
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed Monday 1st April for 4 nights and my first impressions were very good as we had a quick check in. Then when we got to our room on the 2nd floor and were a little disappointed at the view and no balcony. The hotel is clean and tidy and is 10mins from Malaga old town. Its very handy for the train station 3 mins walk away and that means you can get the train to the airport in 10mins for 5 euros for 2 people(we paid taxi 20 euros thinking it was miles away on the way in). you can get to Benalmadena, Fuengirola and Torremelinos very easily all on the same line and the trains are every 20mins. We spent most days at Torremelinos beach and at 6ish got the train back to our hotel for a quick kip and shower then out in old Malaga town which is a bit like a smaller version of Barcelona...will be back but probably a in the centre of Malaga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Really the location of our hotel is perfect for doing tourism: three minutes’ walk from the train station that connects you to all points of interest (airport, Costa del Sol, etc...) And short walking distance from the historic and commercial center of the city.
What a shame you did not like the view: our hotel is located in front of the sea and the views are throughout the Mediterranean. This is something you could find only in a few hotels of the city.
We hope to see you again in our hotel in Malaga or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Seville and Huelva. It will be a pleasure to attend you.
Yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Monte Malaga is a modern, clean and great hotel. We stayed in the 6th floor, with a nice view towards the harbor. The bath room was impressive, with two sinks. We can highly recommend the breakfast at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

On the negative side, it was a bit too far from the city center, and the beds were very hard. The extra bed, however, (for the third person) was softer and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your feedback, and by the recommendation made on our breakfast buffet.

The hotel, as you'll see in the opinions of other travelers, is connected with most of the areas of Malaga, via public transportation. As to the beds, it is an aspect of each customer habits. Hope that was not an obstacle to his rest.

Hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Seville and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Overlooking harbour, massive cranes and occasional cruise liners, with dull noise from cars in road below.
No restaurant except their "cafeteria" with compulsory football match playing on T V. Same menu for room service included pre frozen pizza. Certainly didn't pride itself in Andalucian cuisine.
Spa disappointing and unsupervised. Sauna was often not turned on at published times and Turkish was just wet and not suitably hot. Ticks the boxes in terms if facility being there but fails to meet reasonable expectations.
Rooms clean but beds hard
Didn't sample breakfast at 12 euros per day
Lovely front desk staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
We regret your comments, we assume that your stay with us was not what you expected. We would like to explain you some concepts of our hotel you make reference in your review.
Our hotel overlooks the port of Malaga, place where ships cruise that visit Málaga are docked, close is Misericordia beach, 500 m distance from the hotel. On the horizon you can see the Mediterranean Sea, without any building between, which gives us a splendid view of the sea, very bright and pleasant temperatures and a good number of sunshine hours, that means important energy savings, concept that respects the environment, key in our company policy.
Regarding Hotel Relax Zone, like it is announced in hotel indications, is not a conventional spa, but Relax Zone with indoor pool, sauna, steam room, heated loungers and contrasts showers. Your use and enjoyment is free for our customers as you could check. You need to contact reception (which is also announced in relax area indications) to the various services and facilities are enabled.
On the other hand, we have in cafeteria a menu with more than 25 dishes, some of them, for example salads, could be asked at your taste. We also have appetizers, pasta dishes, desserts... done clearly in Spanish and Andalusia cuisine style, like (gazpacho, ajoblanco, huevos rotos...). We regret that your choice was to one of the few precooked products that exist in the menu.
Similarly, our breakfast buffet consists of hot and cold dishes, pastries and freshly baked bread, fresh fruit, juices, and show cooking, in which we prepare at the moment dishes at your choice.
Finally, surprises us your comment about the hardness of the beds because our mattresses are high quality. We understand this comment more relevant to personal taste that with the quality of our mattresses.
We regret again, that your stay was not like opinions that others customers have expressed in this travelers community. We hope to have a next time to change your opinion about our facilities and services.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Pros - great balcony with view of the Sea, 2 room suites, extremely accommodating, friendly staff (with great English), tasty room service, spa & lovely toiletries & bathroom. Be advised: this is an industrial area of the coast, so directly in front of the hotel looks like a giant factory - nothing like the view of the Mediterranean one normally sees.
Cons - quite a walk to the old town area, extra firm beds, like sleeping on a pool table, Tired furnishings, could be cleaner. When we mentioned the bed, they put a mattress pad on it for us. It helped slightly, but they really need nothing less than a pillow top! Of course, we are used to, and appreciate, American luxury, so take it with a grain of salt. :) Probably wouldn't stay again....unfortunately, we requested a no-smoking room, but didn't get one...so there was that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Madam

First of all we would to thank you for giving us your opinion about our hotel and room facilities and the attention received by our staff. The view you have seen from your room is the Harbor of Malaga, but it is not an industrial area, the hotel is located near the Misericordia beach which is bathed by the Mediterranean Sea .

We are extremely sorry about the things that you haven't been pleased with. We are talking with our department supervisors to clarify everything as soon as possible. We also apologize for the inconvenience with the mattress. We did our best to solve the problem as soon as we noticed, and we regret is wasn't enough.

The complaint about the room you booked, in relation to your reservation it was a non smoking junior suite, according to availability. We apologize but since it was a special type of room, the number of them is limited and the only one we had available in this days was a smoking one, due to the high Easter season.

We thank you again for your comments about our hotel. Looking forward to have a new opportunity to offer you the stay that you deserve, we hope to see again in Malaga or at any of our other hotels we have in Andalucia.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Monte Malaga . We had read a lot of good reviews on Trip advisor and we wern't disappointed. We had asked for a double bed and when we entered our room we couldn''t believe the size of the bed. It must have been at least 7 foot!
The food at breafast was excellent and there is a cafeteria on the ground floor open from 8 am until 11 pm serving good food. (Try the Maxi Burger, but make sure you are very hungry! )

If you are arriving in Malaga by train the hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Maria Zambrano train station which is only 3 or 4 stops from the airport

Highly recommeded!

Room Tip: A room on the front of the hotel is better, then you can see the cruise ships come and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to post your review.

Our Maxi Burger is one of the top plates of the cafeteria. Algra We know that was to your liking and felt overwhelmed with it.

We look forward to seeing you again at our Hotel or at any of our sister Hotels located in Sevilla, Cádiz or Huelva.

With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Malaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Malaga Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Antonio Machado, 10,, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#3 Business Hotel in Malaga
#5 Family Hotel in Malaga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Malaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superior category 4-star hotel in Malaga overlooks the sea and is a short distance from the beach, near the Picasso Museum and the AVE railway terminal.It has 179 rooms, most of them with sea views, including 7 Junior Suites and Suite with JacuzziA SPA, pool and 8 fully equipped rooms for congresses, corporate events, wedding receptions and all kinds of celebrations.One of the first ecological hotels in Spain.Monte Málaga Hotel is provided with an area to relax, free for all its guests.In this area these facilities are provided:- Fitness area, with exercise bikes, treadmill and stepper.- Salt water swimming-pool with jacuzzi, heated and covered in winter.- Relax area, with contrast showers, Turkish bath, Finnish sauna and thermal deck chairs.You can also ask for therapeutic and relaxing massages at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Monte Malaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Malaga
Monte Malaga málaga
Monte Malaga Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Malaga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.