We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Malaga Hotel

Save Saved
You added Monte Malaga Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Malaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo Antonio Machado, 10,, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Big shiny hotel, spacious rooms, nice big bathroom.
Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Good breakfast with lots of choice, one morning the chef brought us out freshly made churros which were delicious.
You do get a bit of road noise even on the side of the hotel, if you have the windows open. but with the aircon on, and windows closed you can't really hear it. Also it is opposite the port which is not especially picturesque. If like us, you are using the hotel as a base, then its perfect, let's face it, what is the point of going to Spain if you are going to spend all your time at the hotel??.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    188
    45
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
220
29
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is nice and modern inside. I didn't like the energy saving light systems on all the floors. Stepping out of the lift into blackness is not customer friendly and more about lowering the bills than saving the globe. The rooms are very spacious and clean if make too warm even with the air on on.

The bar is a desolate naff cafe like set up and very unwelcoming.

The breakfast experience is not good. Getting staffs attention is difficult. The cooked breakfast is very poor and room temperature and the coffee is dreadful. UHT milk is all that's on offer. I found tables were often left with dirty plates on them and the manager seems to unbothered as he walked around in his beige suite and beard.

Wouldn't stay here again unless it was much much cheaper. Choose somewhere more central.

Room Tip: This is a corporate hotel. Find something in the old town. It's much more fun there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you very much for your stay in our hotel.

I would like to tell you some aspects about their views.

On one side, energy saving is an action of conscience that everyone should be involved, much more if our establishment was built on this premise and is adapted to do so.

On the other hand, if you stay with us on a next occasion, don’t hesitate to contact reception if you feel that it’s hot in the room, so that we can help you to activate the air conditioning, since it works perfectly and able of cooling the entire stay.

Finally, tell you that I think that the adjectives that define our cafeteria are not the most suitable.

About our breakfast, in order to inform all the users of this community of travelers, I will tell you that it's a buffet, consisting of bread and pastry of various kinds and freshly baked every day, fresh fruit and natural products, oils of top quality, freshly cooked, hot dishes , milk and natural fruit juices, all this together with our show-cooking service, where we prepare immediately several dishes at your choice. I want to emphasize to you that this is one of the points most and better valued by our customers.

Waiting to see you again, yours sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a week here in april 2012. The service couldn't have been better! Our room was spacious and beyond our expectations. Roomservice and cleaning was immaculate, everything we needed was taken care of immediately. We would choose this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay with us was to your liking and wanting to be back here.
We hope, therefore, his return visit to Malaga or any of our hotels in Seville, Cadiz and Huelva.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Ugly building in an area not much to talk about. Room was very nice and spacious and I have never experienced a Hotel wifi that actually works like this. Pool and sauna included which is a nice bonus. Good place for a business traveller but if on a holiday I'd select another Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay with us was to your liking.
We hope his return visit to Malaga or any of our hotels in Seville, Cadiz and Huelva.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Malaga for 5 nights and were very impressed. The hotel is located opposite the port (granted not the best view) and 10min walk from train station. We actively chose to stay just outside the city centre as wanted to avoid the crowds. The walk into the centre is about 15mins, although there are plenty of buses if you do not feel up to it. Check in was swift and we were rewarded with room 601 which had great views of the port and nearby beaches. Room was huge - one of the biggest we have stayed in and had all the amenities expected of a 4 star hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel but there is a little cafe behind which serves good breakfast. Staff were polite and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the Malaga area.

Room Tip: 601 - best standard room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
Thank you for staying with us also, we imagine it was to your satisfaction.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Huelva and Seville. We will be happy to assist.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Although brief, our stay with our friends at this property were exceptional. The hotel was run extraordinarily well with an emphasis put of customer satisfaction. The hotel was filled with very high end furnishings and had a pool to cool from the hot Andalusian sun. What really made our stay so perfect was the attention to detail offered by their manager, Salvador Leyras. His professionalism makes this property more like a 5 star than a 4 star property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
His words are the perfect reward for our efforts and daily work. The companion pass on to our Savior, that they are just as grateful.
Hope to see you again for Malaga or any of our hotels in Seville, Cadiz and Huelva. We will be happy to assist.
Sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

It is fair service, quite nice location, everything is on its place somehow.
Parking is in the same building. To the city centre just 15 minutes walk.
Minibar is ok.
Service and staff are really outstanding. They are extremely helpful, work very fast and professional.
Hotel has a big lobby, which is impressive.
The furniture is rather old, but everything work properly. What is negative point - opposite side of the road. Nothing good. You have to go not less than 10 minutes each side to reach something nice looking. Surrounding is not nice.
I can recommend this hotel for the same reason I did it this time. Just to pass by, we stop, parked our car, walked to the old city and had fun. We just slept in this hotel and in the morning we forwarded to Ronda. This was really nice. Thanks to everyone who helped us.

Room Tip: It seems that it is not good to choose the sea view. It overlook the port facilities, not nice looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Malaga Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We are pleased that he was well served at our hotel and the staff gave him every assistance in their holidays.

Our furniture has very little maintenance time and do the same constant. We regret that did not like.

Thank you also to recommend us in this community of travelers and hope to see you again for Malaga or any other of our hotels in Cadiz, Huelva and Seville.

Attentively

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Malaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Malaga Hotel

Address: Paseo Maritimo Antonio Machado, 10,, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Malaga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Malaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superior category 4-star hotel in Malaga overlooks the sea and is a short distance from the beach, near the Picasso Museum and the AVE railway terminal.It has 179 rooms, most of them with sea views, including 7 Junior Suites and Suite with JacuzziA SPA, pool and 8 fully equipped rooms for congresses, corporate events, wedding receptions and all kinds of celebrations.One of the first ecological hotels in Spain.Monte Málaga Hotel is provided with an area to relax, free for all its guests.In this area these facilities are provided:- Fitness area, with exercise bikes, treadmill and stepper.- Salt water swimming-pool with jacuzzi, heated and covered in winter.- Relax area, with contrast showers, Turkish bath, Finnish sauna and thermal deck chairs.You can also ask for therapeutic and relaxing massages at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Monte Malaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Malaga
Monte Malaga málaga
Monte Malaga Hotel Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Malaga Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.