We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, fantastic restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Guadalupe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Malaga
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average hotel, fantastic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A previous reviewer said this wasn't a hotel but a restaurant with rooms - a bit unfair; it's a three star hotel with a five star restaurant, in my opinion. In parts it could do with a lick of paint.We booked a double room including breakfast and gourmet meal - all for 115 euros. Given the prices we'd paid elsewhere in Spain I did wonder if they meant 115 euros each , but no, it was for both of us.

Our room was small to average and fairly basically equipped - two to three star quality. It was however quite comfortable and very clean and had a balcony with a magnificent view over the city and out to sea. Probably much more magnificent in good weather - we had heavy rain, lightning and, the next morning, thick mist. Can't blame the hotel for that!

At the price we'd paid we wondered what our gourmet meal would be like. Arriving in the restaurant we were greeted by a very pleasant waitress from Liverpool who presented us with a cracking menu from which we chose two courses, and later, a dessert. After we'd chosen our food and wine a rather embarrassed looking gent arrived to tell us we'd been given the wrong menu - on our half board deal we should have been given one with a more restricted choice! Naturally, we'd chosen the more expensive stuff (duck for me, lamb for my wife) and there'd be a small surcharge - this seemed very plausible given the choice available.

When the food came it was fantastic ("historic" as Michael Winner might say) and our chirpy scouser waitress was delightful, even accepting the blame for the mix up with the menus! From the soup to the coffee, the food and drink could not be faulted and despite the bad weather we had a great view from our table of the lights of Malaga. It really was a "gourmet" meal and when we got the bill the next day the whole thing, bed, breakfast, three course dinner for two with wine and coffee came to around 170 euros. Only true bargain of the trip!

Finally, a word on the location. To get that view, the hotel has to be up a steep hill which has to be driven up and down if you are using the hotel as a base to visit Malaga. (for us it was somewhere to stay the night before flying home - and for that it was perfect).

Choose this place for a special meal and spectacular views - not for a luxury place to sleep and probably not for a base from which to visit the city unless you are prepared for the drive or to take taxis.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    79
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
149
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Malaga to use as a base to explore the surrounding areas, and chose the Villa Guadaloupe based on TripAdvisor reviews - we were not disappointed!

The hotel is in an upmarket residential area on the hills overlooking Malaga, in the El Atabal urbanisation. As referred to in previous reviews, the views from the hotel are panoramic, looking across the city to the Mediterranean. The roads to the hotel are very steep, and because of the location a car is advisable. It takes about 15 minutes from the hotel into central Malaga by car, and the cost of a taxi varied between 8.5€ and 12€ each way. The hotel itself is relatively small with 11 rooms, but is very well planned and with very good facilities for its size. There is free parking directly in the courtyard at the front of the hotel

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights, although many guests stayed for shorter periods either at the start or end of their holidays. Because we were staying for a week, we requested a room with a balcony and views over Malaga, and were pleased with our choice. The room (room 6) was not big but had all of the facilities that we required including TV, free safe, free Wi-Fi, well equipped bathroom and large balcony furnished with a table and chairs and two sun beds. Larger rooms were available on either side of our room for no doubt an additional charge, but we felt that our rate (71€ per night including buffet breakfast for 2) provided good value for money. Previous reviews have mentioned barking dogs and yes, there are dogs in neighbouring houses that do bark but this was not a real problem to us and only happened sporadically.

The hotel has a small but well maintained and attractive pool area, once again with panoramic views. The restaurant is beautiful with amazing views, and the food is really excellent. For hotel guests there is a 3 course meal for 20€ pp, the menu for which changes daily, and in addition there is an excellent A La Carte menu. The breakfast buffet consists of a choice of meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurts and breads and pastries, together with tea, coffee and fruit juices. Cooked eggs are provided on request.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, and what really makes it stand out is the hospitality of the staff and management. Guests are made to feel really welcome and valued, and I would particularly mention Alex and Candace, both of whom went out of their way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good smaller hotel in a quiet area, well located to the road network and with an excellent restaurant and real focus on good customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 2 have great views over the city and sun on the balcony for most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Like all these reviews on tripadviser it is very much down to the individual as to what expectations they have how tolerant they are and how critical of things.As for me i would say i am fairly tolerant and not over critical but if things are not right then i am not frightened to voice my opinion.Well this Hotel ticked all the boxes for me,it had the right combination for myself and my wife of being in a great location with fantastic views over Malaga from my room(no 10) and also the Restaurant and pool.It is has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere mainly down to the Staff and management at the Hotel who mostly speak very good English and are extremely helpful.The room was what i expected from a 3 star hotel with ensuite, all clean and tidy but with the added bonus of lovely enclosed balcony and as i said above great views over Malaga, not all rooms have this option but as i was staying for ten days i did request a rooom with views which i was duly given.It doesn't have any tea or coffee making facilities and it was a twin bedded room rather than a double neither of which was a problem for us.The Restaurant'Amador' which is part of the hotel was superb in fact we dined there 8 days out of the ten,every day there was a special for hotel guests that cost only 20 euros for 3 courses which i think is exceptional value considering the Michelin star like quality of the food!And if you didn't like the special then you could always choose from the A la Carte menu.Breakfast was your normal continental type with various cereals,fruit,yogurt,fruit juice and cakes with coffee or tea plus omlette or scrambled eggs if you wanted for 9 euros.The pool although small had lovely views and just right for a cooling down dip.The one necessity is your own transport as the Hotel is out of the main town and up a steep hill with many twists and turns as it would have be to get the stunning panoramic views.I know some people have mentioned dogs barking on here' and to be fair they do talk to each other in the mornings but for us was never intrusive or a problem.All in all a lovely and enjoyable stay for us a big thank you to Candice and all the other staff for making it so.

Room Tip: Enquire at hotel for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, NL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found this a very nice hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. We even had a nice balcony with a spectacular view of Malaga. The city centre is only a short cab ride away (we paid 10 to 15 euros). Be sure to use your GPS in order to get here; it took us quite some time to find it! The only minor thing was that the beds are quite hard.

Room Tip: make sure to have a balcony (maybe all rooms do though, I don't know)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Villa Hotel Guadalupe in Malaga has a nice view. You can overlook the whole of Malaga and it is very quiet. There is parking - convenient if you are by car. And you need the car. Or you come there by taxi. There is no public transport around the corner.
The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is rich. We liked the pool. The room we got was big enough for our 4-person-family. We even had a nice terrace. But remember it's not a very cheap place to stay

The hotel doesn't have a secured way to transmit credit card details. We suggest that the hotel finds a way to transmit those dates in a secure way. E-mail definitely isn't the solution.

We would book the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night here and it was ok. The view was great but there were no place where to set the suitcase.
Taxi from town at night cost us 12€. In the evening we walked down the hill (600m) and got in a bus (1,20€) to town.
Had to go and ask to borrow a wine opener (as we had some repacking to do before the next mornings flight, that really needed some wine) at the reception. Girl told me that she should not but she could open the bottle if I bring it to her. Back I went. As she opened the bottle she said that so many bottle openers disappear when they are given to customers. And that she should, but as she is so nice she does not, charge for opening the bottle. So!?!? I do not get it. If I wish to drink some wine in my room, what's her problem. I do not wish to hear how the other customers before me have behaved.
We settled the bill in the evening on our way out to town. I did not have my booking paper with me and the amount sounded a bit weird. I was hungry and ready to go so I thought to just do it and check it afterwards. They had charged 10% extra. Next morning as we went out there were no one to be seen in the recepyion so I setted the thing by e-mail. They said they will return the 10% money to my credit card. It was a question of tax 10% and they handled it ok.

Room Tip: we asked and paid 10€ for a room with a view/balcony. They contacted me by e-mail after recievieng t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were expecting great things from Villa Guadalupe due to the reviews but unfortunately, it was a "restaurant with rooms" rather than a hotel and so very disappointing. The room was small and basic and with few facilities (our trip included three hotels and this was the only one which didn't provide a fridge in the room). The reception was hardly staffed and the pool area was very small. We had a small balcony which did make the room feel less like a cell than it could have done! Unfortunately the walls were paper-thin and you could hear the showers, etc in all the rooms. As most people seemed to only stay a couple of nights it was very noisy with luggage being moved early each day - it was about as restful as the average airport hotel. It did have nice views and was near to the airport which suited us. Of our three hotels, this was double the price of the others (90+ euros a night) had the least facilities and the smallest rooms. The other reviews seem a bit of the "emperours new clothes" - we couldn't see at all what all the fuss was about!

Room Tip: Don't bother to stay here - there must be much better hotels in Malaga!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Address: C/ Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga
Hotel Villa Guadalupe Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Guadalupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.