We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WOW FIND IN MALAGA FOR ICE CREAM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heladeria Freskitto

Heladeria Freskitto
Calle Granada 55, Malaga, Spain
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 1,099 restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A WOW FIND IN MALAGA FOR ICE CREAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am an ice cream fanatic and I have tasted some of the best ice creams in the world. Yes there are a few great shops in Venice and Rome, Paris and in other parts of Spain but my favorite is Heladeria Freskitto in Malaga. The shop is small but all the ice cream is home made creations of master ice cream maker Jose Antonio Romero. This man is dedicated to making great ice cream and he has won recognition from his peers for doing so. This is world class ice cream and I suggest the chocolate, which he is famous for and the pistachio. While in Malaga I am visiting this shop every day and then I walk many kms to make up for my wonderful indulgence. Thanks Jose Antonio for making ice cream in Malaga.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    26
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the Costa Del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an ice cream lovers sanctuary. There is no sitting room as it is just an ice shop that does one thing and does it well - it sells ice cream. We have been visiting Malaga for 12 years and this is a stop we go to every year. It is by far the best ice cream in the city. We stopped in during Semana Santa, Holy Week and the stand was being operated by the owner Jose Antonio and he explained that his ice cream was an award winning selection that was nationally recognized and certified. There is a certificate on his wall that states this. However, there is no real need for documentation as the taste of his freshly made homemade ice cream is delicious. Jose admitted that his favourite is plain Nata (a base mix of milk, cream and sugar) and it is the best for me too. Mixed with a ball of cafe flavoured ice cream and it is like having a Cafe Con Leche on a cone. All his flavours are homemade by him and his staff on a daily basis. The busier it gets, the better the ice cream is, as it is fresher and readily made. There is no greater feeling of being on holiday than enjoying ice cream from Freskitto in nearby Plaza Merced while the drums of a holy week procession march by. At this point, I can not visit Malaga anymore without going to Freskitto for ice cream.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No, no, no. This is not a good ice-cream bar.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have to disagree with the earlier reviews here. We tasted some different flavours and the prominent problem was that the ice-cream must have melted before it was froozen again. So, instead of a creamy cone we got an icy one. Which of course is disastrous. Try the Cara Mira instead. Almost on par with Gilolitti in Rome (well not really, but almost :)).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My favorite stop for home made Malaga ice cream, they have a large selection of flavors, but try the Malaga Dulce, it's wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria Freskitto also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Heladeria Freskitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heladeria Freskitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Heladeria Freskitto to your Saves list