We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Revello de Toro Museum

Revello de Toro Museum
Calle Afligidos, 5, 29015 Malaga, Spain
952 062 069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 80 Attractions in Malaga
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Nacka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Breathtaking art of an artist that is still productive. Wonderful house. We had no expectations and were totally mesmerized! Don't miss. Definitely our favorite art museum in Málaga.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“artist donated another drawing to the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we were there there was a reception going on as the artist had donated his latest drawing of a violin to the museum. This small museum is certainly worth visiting. The quality of the paintings and drawings is high.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“in the City of Malaga- Revello de Toro Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A brand new addition to the impressive selection of Malaga Museums, opened in late 2010, the restored home of sculptor Pedro de Mena houses the collection of 142 works by Malaga-born artist Felix Revello de Toro (born in 1926) of which 104 belong to the Museum's permanent collection.
The six rooms, divided across three floors and organised around a central patio, exhibit the work of a painter famous for portraits and figurative paintings, including oil paintings and sketches, which he has bestowed to his native city. The building - one of the few remaining examples of 17th-century Malagueño architecture - with Tuscan marble columns and the original woodwork, is a delight.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Talent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stumbled on the Museum by accident as we were heading back to our Hotel. The paintings and drawings on display are superb and I would highly recommend paying a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning portraits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We are interested in art and architecture so visited this museum in a restored old house. We did not know of Revello de Toro's work before and what a surprise. His paintings (a donation by the artist) are truly inspirational. Beautiful portraits with a lot of use of white draped fabrics and bright light. And the still life of glass bottles is an absolute stunner with bold brushwork.
We had to return the next day to buy a book of the collection.
The museum house is carefully restored and makes fine gallery spaces around a courtyard.
Friendly helpful staff and a useful audio guide in English.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revello de Toro Museum also viewed

 

Been to Revello de Toro Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revello de Toro Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.