We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place with really nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tranca

La Tranca
Carreteria 93, 29008 Malaga, Spain
+34 615 02 96 69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,320 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Carreteria street, downtown in Malaga, the tavern La Tranca will conquer you with its selection of tapas, wines and atmosphere. The look is a traditional Spanish bar where you can have Spanish homemade tapas standing in the barrels that make table or at the bar. Try their chilly beers, wines on tap, as the vermouth, moscatel or pajarete, In this tavern you can also enjoy the first drink, all in a warm and authentic place in the city center. Enjoy it!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little place with really nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stopped in with my wife and had some tapas and a few drinks. Food, service and drinks where all excellent (try the vermouth, it was both our favourite). Really friendly staff, and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be going back.

Also it seemed really cheap, the vermouth was 1.8 euro, tapas was around the 1.5 to 3 mark. We had lots to eat and drink and the bill was still only around 30 euro.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    36
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just got round to writing this review after visiting Malaga with my husband at the beginning of September. La Tranca just round corner from our apartment. Unbelievably friendly manager and staff, great food and atmosphere. First place I'll be going back to when I'm in Malaga again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stalybridge
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“This is why you travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great, hospitable little bar ,always busy and welcoming,holding its TA reputation for us ,we enjoyed tapas and a snifter at the bar for a reasonable price served by the beautiful girl behind the bar,listening to the locals join in with the traditional Spanish music played over the radio.excellent,gets very busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Great bar for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, easy to see why it is popular. They do not have a kitchen so no idea about food but the place as such is definitely worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great local bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

cool bar with authentic barkeeper and packed with locals. we only found a place standing on the bar, which was perfect in the end. the tapas we eat were great too, particularly recommendable are the empanadillas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tranca also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Tranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tranca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.