We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, can be extended to a serious walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caminata por el rio Chillar

Caminata por el rio Chillar
Nerja, Malaga, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun, can be extended to a serious walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a brialliant find at the back of Nerja. The start is a very flat ramble up a stream, you paddle and the deepest it gets is about thigh high. There a few dip pools which are full of kids and dogs at the weekends. You can walk up as far as you want to go for 2 hours - if you have had enough just turn round and ramble back to the car. Great fun to do with kids.

After 2 hours it gets harder with a scramble up a series of small waterfalls and up to the old arabic irrigation channels which loop back round - this is a full day walk and not for anyone who has a porblem with heights.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had heard about this walk from friends, but no one could give me precise directions as to how to find the start - it's actually very easy to find once you have parked in the free public car park on Calle Mirto and walked the half a mile or so along the road down to the bottom of the valley. There are two other (smaller) car parks closer to the start of the walk, but they fill up very quickly. You need a good pair of old trainers or waterproof sandals, as there's no way to avoid walking in the water up the gorge, shorts or swim wear, a decent hat, sun block and lots of water! It's a great day out (we had 3 teenagers with us) but do start early or, like us, you'll have to turn back before you reach the source - we walked for about 4 hours at a gentle pace but without stopping and still didn't get to the top. The scenery is beautiful (see the photos I have posted) and the water lovely and clear, with waterfalls and pools along the way if you want a rest. In some parts the river bed is fairly wide and shallow and in others it narrows so only one person can fit through at a time and you are wading in knee deep water - if you went when there had recently been rain I am sure it would be much fuller/deeper. Take a picnic for lunch and, if you get to the source, eat it there - if not, you can eat it at one of the pools along the way. We'll definitely be going back and this time we'll start earlier and make better time to be sure we get to the source!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drunen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walk through the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We did the walk and we loved it. In the beginning you can walk without getting wet feet but within 10 minutes there is only water to walk through. It sometimes even gets to you knees. A wunderfull experience. Park your car at the special parking place in Nerja, calle Mitro and than walk down following the street which leads you to river, woods, mountains. It will take you approximately 10 to 15 minites to get there. You can park your car more closely but there is a change you will be fined by the police. A lot of locals are still parking there cars there and I did not see any fines on their cars so maybe it is worth taking the risk, especially if you have little children. Just parc the car where all the locals do and enjoy the walk through the river Chillar.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topeka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great walk up the Rio Chillar Nerja on the Costa del Sol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a peaceful and unusual hike. You are guarunteed to get your feet wer. Walking through the gentle stream was definitely a different experience. Definitely be sure to wear shoes that can withstand being water- logged. My family loved it. There is a small natural pool at the top of the hike which we took full advantage of as we'll as treating ourselves to a " waterfall" massage. The total trail takes a while depending on the speed at which you walk but allow 3 hours for the full experience. One does not have to hike the full length. There is a waterfall about halfway as well.
Wonderful for those hot days!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caminata por el rio Chillar also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Caminata por el rio Chillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caminata por el rio Chillar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caminata por el rio Chillar to your Saves list