We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great introduction to authentic flamenco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liceo Flamenco

Liceo Flamenco
Calle Beatas, 21, Malaga, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 64 Activities in Malaga
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LICEO FLAMENCO is a "Tablao Flamenco" (Bar or Club where Flamenco is performed) located in Malaga city centre. Furthermore, LICEO FLAMENCO aims to be an ambitious Cultural project focused on appreciating thevalues of Flamenco as a World Non-Material Cultural Heritage, which also aims to promote the society, artists and arts in Flamenco circles.LICEO FLAMENCO is located at Beates Street Nº 21, in a 19th century building, designed by the Spanish Architect Jerónimo Cuervo, who also designed the Cervantes Theatre in Malaga. Former Regional Government Oce LICEO FLAMENCO is currently a place full of history and arts on every corner.LICEO FLAMENCO is opened from thursday to saturday, from 20:00 until 23:00. There are daily activities, concerts and shows, which start at 20:30 and last aprox. 1 hour and 45 minutes.Also LICEO FLAMENCO is available everyday at every hour for groups activities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a great introduction to authentic flamenco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I attended two performances by different artists/groups on consecutive nights, both of which were very entertaining and indeed captivating. The venue is indeed small and rather intimate, which sets the right folksy "bohemian" atmosphere. However, I can't help feeling that the artists deserve a better audience area. The layout of the place is restrictive, with two pillars in front of the rear (and underused) bar obscuring the view. You need to get there early to pick a prime position.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Performance! Excellent service! Highly Recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I emailed Mario about booking a table at Liceo flamenco for my friend´s 21st birthday whilst we were in Malaga and he was more than helpful in arranging the perfect night! They catered for vegetarian diets, the service was fantastic and they even got my friend up on stage to dance with the performers! It was too perfect! The performers themselves were very proffessional, the dancing, singing and guitar all combined to create an emotional, enthrawlling show that had the whole crowd cheering. The venue is intimate and the decor beautiful. A fantastic flamenco experience I would recommend to anyone!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An exceptional opportunity to see a really good flamenco show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were really surprised about this place. We didn't expect such a good flamenco show. It is located in a beautiful old building in the city centre. The entrance costs just 5€ and they are really worth it. While you are watching a great flamenco show they offer you typical spanish food and you have the opportunity to taste excellent wines.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flamenco evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I enjoyed the show a lot. We ate some of typical spanish food and wines. It is a interesting place because there are not many flamenco shows in the city center. If you want to know something about flamenco culture is the perfect place. The building is nice and the service is good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Local flamenco club, cosy, friendly and inexpensive, in Malaga centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

A local tourist guide told us about this small club, tucked away down a side street in the centre of Malaga's paved shopping area. We visited at Easter and arrived at 8pm - tickets were only 5 euros each, a fraction of the price of the more commercial shows in town. The artists performing at 8.30 that evening were a male and female singer, two musicians, plus the dancer.
The stage was quite small but they all fitted in, and we were well entertained till after 11pm that night - a really great evening of wonderful local music and dance - see the photos.
The bar served light meals - mostly cold meats - plus the usual array of drinks, all good value.
We will definitely go back, such a great club. Hugely recommended !
Check out their website for details - http://www.liceoflamenco.com - it has an English button to assist! Very easy to walk to as its right in the centre off the pedestrianised shopping area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liceo Flamenco also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Liceo Flamenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liceo Flamenco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.