We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover near airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez to your Saves list
Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Horacio Quiroga, 29004 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stopover near airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Used as a stopover after a late flight into Malaga airport due to location.
Everything fine except the quality of the meat served in the restaurant. Beef steak was so tough that it was inedible. Staff accepted and apologised, and we were not charged for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    174
    113
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
162
36
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

i only stayed one night before a flight in the morning, everything was very good, staff very helpful, rooms clean, my room was near the lift which was a bit loud but ok, 7.50 a bit steep for breakfast but it was good, enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Ibis Avenida Velazquez is located on the outskirts of Malaga close to the airport.
It's convenient location makes it a good stopping off place if you arrive on a late flight from the UK like we did.
We stayed on a prepaid bed and breakfast basis and got a really good deal through the Accor website.
I have driven past the hotel on many occasions but actually getting there with all the road junctions and one way streets is a different matter. It took us 30 minutes! A Sat Nav is no great help as the address Avenida Velazquez is a bit misleading.
Reception was friendly and efficient and our room was clean, modern and functional. The room was quiet, bright and well equipped, as was the bathroom. I don't particularly like the squeezy bottles of soap and the fact that we only got one towel each.
Breakfast was a good buffet with lots of choice of cold hams, cheese, cereals and pastries. The coffee tended to run out regularly. We were asked to pay for breakfast on the first day even though it was prepaid and after a bit of arguing I agreed to sort it out when we checked out. Mysteriously this was never mentioned again and I wasn't charged twice.
Not far from the hotel there is a large Carrefour hypermarket and a McDonald's alongside.
On the Avenida Velazquez itself there is a really good China Wok chinese buffet restaurant which is worth a try if you are looking for somewhere nearby to eat.
Overall a pleasant hotel which is clean and comfortable and good value. It's in a bit of a desert if you want to go out at night on foot but during the day there are plenty of buses into Malaga itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Ibis Avenida Velazquez is located near Malaga airport and about 10 minutes drive from the city center. Ibis offers compact rooms with air conditioning and satellite TV. Hotel offer free wireless internet access but you must get password at the front desk. Less than 2km away from hotel is wide sandy beach. If you traveling by car there is no problem to find free parking place near hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Yes it's right alongside a noisy road, but that's the only downside. Indeed, we also considered it to be a major selling point, because it's a very convenient location - we arrived at the airport late at night and found it quick to get to this hotel.

Extremely comfortable beds, very good value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is out of town, so you have to have a car to go there!
All in all, an excellent option for us.
Typicall Ibis room, no surprise!
Good rate (49 euros)
Great breakfast and helpful staff at reception and breakfast!

Would not recommend it for holidays in Malaga, just for an overnight stay in Malaga!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed one week during September at the Ibis Malaga Avenida Velazquez. The staff at the hotel is very warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are pleasantly decorated, clean, very comfortable and simply appointed. There is a bar and restaurant as well as internet access in the rooms and lobby. The hotel is very close to the airport and you can easily take the number "A" bus to Puerta Blanca and walk ten minutes to the hotel. Cost is 2€ versus 20€ for a five minute taxi ride. You can also take buses from Puerta Blanca and arrive at the center in less than thirty minutes. La Misericordia Beach is five minutes by car or 20-25 walking and is an excellent beach. At first I thought the location of the hotel was a bit remote but then just figured out how to get around. I had a really good experience here. Thanks Ibis Malaga Avenida Velazquez!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez

Address: C/ Horacio Quiroga, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Yohann Reichenecker, General manager of the Ibis Málaga Airport Av Velazquez hotel give you a warm welcome.About 5 min by car from the finest beaches in Spain (Los Alamos, Malagueta), the Ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Av. Velazquez hotel is easily accessible from the airport. The charming centre of Malaga is only 10 minutes away by car. The hotel has 138 rooms with is new "Sweet bed Ibis", air-conditioning, Wifi connection and covered parking. You are 500 m from all sprot sinstalacion " Martin Carpena, Inacua, Athletism Stadium" and less than 3 km from a golf course. The hotel also has a convivial restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel málaga
Accor Malaga Avenida Velazquez
Hotel Ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ibis Malaga Aeropuerto Avenida Velazquez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.