We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Picasso Malaga

Museo Picasso Malaga
Palacio de Buenavista San Agustin 8, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 95 212 7600
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #24 of 89 Attractions in Malaga
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

There's only so much beach, hotel and pool I can take on a 2 week holiday so it was well worth going to the museum. It is not huge so about 2 hours is enough. The collection is great and you get to see some of his less famous pieces. You can use a free audio guide which is really informative. Even if you aren't familiar with Picasso you get a real insight into his ideas behind his work. There is a cafe and a gift shop. The only complaint would be that the museum is absolutely freezing. They really crank up the air conditioning which is a big contrast to the temperature outside.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    375
    246
    60
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Great to see some of Picasso's work that isn't as well known and has a great collection ranging from some early work right through to the last years of his life.
The audio-guide is incredibly useful - I wouldn't go in without it.
Lovely space - clean and bright.
My only negative - 8 euro entry for a very small gallery. When I was in Berlin, I was paying much less for entry into much bigger museums/galleries.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

This is definitely worth a visit.

We rented the audio-guide which was of infinite value in understanding Picasso and the exhibition.

Even if you know little about this great artist or are not really fond of his work, the audio-guide explanations will give you insight into the man and his vision of life and of art.

Highly recommend it.

After 17:00 it is free, but be prepared for long line-ups. Unless you're on a tight budget, the price is not so expensive as to warrant standing in line.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The building and the clean presentation of these works deserve some credit. My teenagers were free but they enjoyed less than I did.. despite studying the artist at school. If we hadn't had the audio we would have been clueless. Take time to watch the video clips to get a sense of the fun and energy of the artist.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheserex, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Picasso !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The building itself is nice and very pretty part of the city. The art of Picasso could be not really understandable, but you will get an audiophone which will help you to understand it. Great time in this museum !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Picasso Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo Picasso Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Picasso Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.