We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building ..worth a 40 minute wait” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Picasso Malaga

Museo Picasso Malaga
Palacio de Buenavista San Agustin 8, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 95 212 7600
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #21 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful building ..worth a 40 minute wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If Picasso does not float your boat then you won't appreciate this museum. It does not contain any of his reportedly finest work. He does nothing for me and I have seen his reportedly fine work elsewhere but I'm glad I went. Great effort has been put into this museum and the building is gorgeous.
We had to queue for 40 minutes ...this is due to the limited numbers allowed as it's so small. So four people out four in. There is a bag search and/ or drop. Inefficient, unnecessary and far too many staff. For 6 euro it was good value. There are sketches and ceramics and figurines. I liked the man with the green zig zag face....his was the only piece that did not make it as a postcard in the shop! Pity.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    354
    224
    56
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Early Picasso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Many of the exhibits were in Picasso's earlier style but there was also a good supply of later work. Very pleasant garden cafe.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The building is great but the content are poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not Picasso's best works but they are in a great setting so worth a visit. Probably best if you also visit his house which is nearby.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More than just paintings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We took a trip to the Museo Picasso Malaga this year and had a wonderful time. Granted many of the more famous Picasso's do not reside here. However, there are room after room of paintings and sculptures in various styles with English commentaries of many.

When we finished with the tour of the art we were pleasantly surprised by a further exhibition showing yet more paintings and a series of family photographs showing many of the subjects of his paintings.

Next we headed to the basement where you can find ancient Roman ruins that were excavated under the site of the museum.

I found this to be value for money and just the right size for part of a day trip into Malaga. Not too big and not too small...just right!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Picasso museum in a most beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was worth a visit around this beautiful building, central location near the cathedral. Paintings and drawings fantastic. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Picasso Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo Picasso Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Picasso Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museo Picasso Malaga to your Saves list