We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must while in Malaga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Picasso Malaga

Museo Picasso Malaga
Palacio de Buenavista San Agustin 8, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
34 95 212 7600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Private Malaga City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #20 of 80 Attractions in Malaga
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Tonsberg, Norway
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must while in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Malaga being Picasso's city of birth, it seems they put a bit of pride into this wonderful gallery. Very nicely curated and bright gallery rooms giving you the best of studying possibilities...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    418
    261
    63
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We're not great fans of Picasso and it was probably, on reflection, a bit of a mistake to come here. The entrance ticket was, we felt, a bit overpriced and the workers in the Museum were somewhat off hand and not terribly helpful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A glimpse of Picasso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The galleries are organised thematically rather than chronologically which makes a bit confusing for the amateur. Quite a large showing of his work and well presented. Excellent film narrated by one of Picasso's photographers was looped in in a side room. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently read other reviews of the Museo which were very negative. I found the Museo to be very interesting and not too large, which I find difficult to take in everything. It is a very serene spot and I loved some of the paintings which are housed there, some of which I bought in print. Well worth a visit if you like your art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

While it definitely hits the highlights of Picasso's time in Malaga, the Barcelona Picasso museum is far better in terms of the amount of work, and they probably have most of his better works (along with the Reina Sofia in Madrid and museums in NYC and Paris)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Picasso Malaga also viewed

 

Been to Museo Picasso Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo Picasso Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.