We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the rat race” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortijo de la Reina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortijo de la Reina to your Saves list
Hotel Cortijo de la Reina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malaga-Colmenar Rd, Km 548.5, 29013 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Escape the rat race”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night; we own a holiday home not far away and decided to treat ourselves to a night away. Although out of season, we still enjoyed our stay; it's a beautiful old property, nicely furnished in traditional style; the staff were professional and made us welcome. On our arrival we lay on sun beds in front of the cortijo overlooking the extensive garden and moutains; the waiter came and took our order; we enjoyed the sunshine with a glass of cava. We stayed on a Monday and as our agent hadnt pointed out to us at the time of booking that the restaurant was closed Mondays, a special arrangement had been made for us in advance; the chef and waiting staff were called in to accommodate us. We enjoyed our meal with the wine to accompany it; the service was also good the dining room. Our bedroom was beautifully furnished and overlooked the gardens and mountains. There is a large outdoor swimming pool with an attractive seating area which I understands opens from early May. Breakfast was good and served in an attractive dining room. Good value for money, really hard to fault the place. Takes a bit of finding, Sat Nav required. Would like to go back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    11
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
54
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford Lincs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel offers numerous rooms which are well furnished and a good size. The room we had was well furnished with older furniture and a four poste,very comfortable bed. The grounds are large offering a pool and additional accommodation, including two log cabins and a conference/wedding/celebration area. The hotel was a little tired - a pity as it offered numerous well decorated and furnished rooms in keeping with its Spanish character. The dining rooms were pretty but only two tables were occupied. The food was pleasant and a reasonable cost. Our only concern was the ineffective air con. We were kept awake at night by the heat but were able to open windows to create a through draft. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good value with a pleasing choice. It was a pity that water and juice were served at room temperature, not chilled. This is a quiet and peaceful hotel which with a few minor changes could offer a great summer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with effective air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The majority of the reviewers criticise the place. Well, I won't.

Be ready that it is a rather remote property surrounded by mountains and on the edge of a small village, you certainly need a car to get there and to be able to explore the region and dine out. For us it was a definite plus - it meant that the place is far enough from the crowds. They have a big parking and it is for free.

Due to a late flight we arrived well after the midnight. The isolated and silent villa looked great. The only person there - a night guard-receptionnist greeted us, checked us in very quickly, showed us to the room and helped us with the luggage. Despite the late hour he was very friendly and polite and curious about our trip, whether we knew the region and so on.

We booked a Junior Suite and were really glad to find a spacious, clean and elegant room with a tine balcony. As it was chilly outside they put an additionnal heater in the room and our night guide told us that he switched it on in advance so that for the time of our arrival it would be warm enough. So nice of him!

It is a truly quiet place both inside and outside so we really enjoyed sleeping there.

Breakfast... The weakest point of the whole place. So much is said here about the limited choice and lack of freshly cooked food. I won't argue. All of you are right. But as the main thing I need for breakfast is some meat like chorizo, and as I got it, I won't criticise it much.

Speaking about more negative points - we had some problems with hot water, it seemed to run out and stopped suddenly then abruptly appeared again. A bit disturbing if you have eg long hair to wash as I do.

We had a wonderful walk along the mountain paths - they gave us a map with the itineraries and you can find signs of your itinerary on trees and stones etc. We enjoyed playing tennis - they give you rackets and balls, for free and you can play as much as you want. We enjoyed nature and views from the pool area (the pool itself was closed yet).

Yes, it felt unusual, yes it didn't seem like a four-star hotel. But it gave us peace and tranquility we usually lack so much in our crazy city. Actually it didn't seem like a hotel at all. We felt as if we were staying at some far friends' relatives: they allow you to live in their charming remote property in nice settings, they don't bother you much but have no intention to pamper you during your stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My four children aged 18 to 24 and I stayed at Cortijo de la Reina for a rural weekend break. The evening walks are lovely and we watched the sun setting over the Malaga mountain ranges....stunning. I am sure there are more hiking paths from the hotel too.

The staff were friendly and arranged a special vegetarian dinner for al 5 of us. We would definitely go there again. We found some nice sitting areas in the grounds of the hotel where we could relax and enjoy the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The connecting rooms which are set apart from the hotel are lovely and have their own terrace for pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My myself and my boyfriend spent two nights here during our holidays touring around Spain. This was supposed to be our two days of rest away from everything... And it was, but not in a good way!
We drove here and thankfully it was well sign posted! It looks nice enough from the outside and it is set in a nature reserve..Inside the decor and style of the hotel isn't my taste.. but I'm sure it is others' - religious paintings on the walls, lots of clutter... However personal tastes aside this hotel could do with an overhaul, a lick of paint and some care. Our bedroom had a very strange smell and the airconditioning unit was incredibly loud. Our bedroom did have a proper double bed which made a nice change to the oh so common two single beds pushed together that most hotels seem to have.
There was no information in our bedroom about the hotel and/or area and none of the staff seemed to be interested in informing us..In fact the staff didn't come near us or speak to us over the two days we spent there.. They seem to be very uninterested... We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night.. It looked inviting .. white table cloths... waiters well dressed etc.. However the dinner was hugely dissappointing... We both had salads to start.. Both mainly a plate of lettuce with very very little dressing... and very little salmon and/or goats cheese. Very very poor attempt.. A plate of lettuce - the kind that gets stuck in your throat for over 12 euro!! For mains I had the fish and potatoes.. the fish was ok, but the potatoes could possibly have been instant mash. They were awful,,.. grey and watery... The deserts were ok, but far too expensive for what we got..
We spent the next day by the pool area... That was nice... but like the rest of the hotel it could all do with a bit of TLC, paint and a groundsman to take care of the over grown weedy grounds...
We had a late lunch from the " snack" menu.. A burger each and a handful of chips for 10 euro something. Given the price you pay locally this was about double what we had being paying. As we had a late lunch we decided to get sonething in the evening from the snack menu instead of getting somethiing from the restaurant.. I had the chicken caesar salad... Again a plate of lettuce with very little dressing... fried bread and chicken... Such a poor and dissapointing "meal" .
We couldn't wait to leave there!
The breakfast for 5 euro is actaully good value... Usual buffet fair.. bread, meats cheeses, etc.
The wifi (the modem was hanging out of the wall in the living room area - which had more furniture than a furntiure shop.. very cluttered!) only works in the living room area and not in the bedrooms.
It was such a dissappointment and quite sad to see a place which could be so much better with the right managment , chefs and staff going downhill... It's like a place that used to be great, but now is in the wrong hands... the photos on the website make it look a whole lot better than what it is..
I also noticed on their website that they cater for wedding receptions there... Don't. I think it would be an awful place for a wedding in its current state. A friend of ours got married the week previous in Cortijo Bravo in Velez Malaga and that was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights at this hotel in the hills above Malaga having come off a cruise. It was quiet, rustic and peaceful. The hotel rambles a bit but has bags of character and is a great antidote to the hustle and bustle of the coast.
The pool is great. Spectacular views over a national park, serene and a clean pool. The rooms were, fine, for the price.
We ate evening meals on the terrace which cost €19 a head for 3 courses and coffee. Not bad by comparison with some of the outrageous prices some of these restaurants charge on the Costa.
If you are looking for nightlife and excitement, this place is not for you. Its quite remote and you have to driver half an hour or so from Malaga to get there. But if you need to chill, its brilliant.

Room Tip: See if you can pick your room, there are a wide variety including some in blocks within the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The room was wonderful, like my grandmother´s house but much comfortable. Large comfy bed, beautiful antique furniture, even a fireplace, with windows to the countryside.
The hotel has plenty of cozy spots, both inside and outdoor, to rest, read, chat or enjoy the silence of the Natural Park surroundings. If you like hiking, the are a few easy trails for a walk, very appropriate for kids too.
Food is excellent, and very original.
We noticed there is also a swimming pool, so we might plan a weekend as soon as weather is hot (may-june).
The service was also very good. People willing to help you with anything and trying all the time to make your stay unforgetable.
Particularly good for kids. They enjoyed more than ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cortijo de la Reina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortijo de la Reina

Address: Malaga-Colmenar Rd, Km 548.5, 29013 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cortijo de la Reina 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cortijo de la Reina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo De La Reina Hotel
Hotel Cortijo De La Reina Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortijo de la Reina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.