We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EL Piano

EL Piano
C/ San Juan de Letran 13, 29012 Malaga, Spain
952 217886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,177 Restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: between Teatro Cervantes and Plaza de la Merced
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went to El Piano for lunch on our one day in Malaga based on the great TripAdvisor reviews, appreciating the guarantee of healthy food there, and a concern that we would quickly tire of the deep fried during our trip to Andalucia otherwise. It was absolutely delicious with a great range of choices. The food was suprisingly filling and very reasonably priced. It was very relaxing to sit out in the quiet side street in the shade. We were going to be in Granada later in the week and were so glad to know there was going to be an El Piano there too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at EL Piano, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. we certainly look forward to serving you in EL PIANO GRANADA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    43
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place will definately go back I want to taste the banana curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We just happened upon el piano and I was so glad we went in. The owner explained very kindly in English that all the food is vegan and gluten free and and how many choices you can have in your bamboo boat dish. There is loads of choice hense the need to go back! The food is delish you can really taste the flavours. Such a treat. My husband was very pleased with his choice of beer too...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at EL Piano, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We really appreciate it. Delighted you found the beer options agreeable. We have a huge range of beers from all over the world in EL PIANO MALAGA and even more in EL PIANO GRANADA. We look forward to serving you again soon, if not in Spain then in EL PIANO in York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“really lovely little veggie place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

lovely people; lovely food... very reasonably priced and delicious food - just down the side street off placa mercad - excellent

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at EL Piano, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Delighted to see that you enjoyed our wholly vegan and wholly gluten-free offerings. One of the things WE like best about the little central street is sitting out in a BREEZE! It has been so warm in Malaga this summer we would have stifled without such a lovely location. Come and see us again, perhaps in York or Granada next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“just excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This little treat of a place is on a side street between plaza merced and teatro cervantes, I am neither vegetarian or vegan, but I do know good food when I taste it and this is just superb! The mixture of subtle flavors and textures is amazing, who needs meat or animal products when food like this just tastes so good! The place is small but very friendly, chose from a wide range of dishes and fill the bamboo boat! Culinary excellence, and the price is very reasonable too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at EL Piano, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hi there, we did respond to your review within days of it being posted, but it seems to have been lost in space...the first time this has happened with TripAdvisor we hasten to add...Thank you so much for taking time to write about us and for being so enthusiastic. We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A Vegetarian Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hidden away on an alley off the Plaza Merced is this gem of a tapas bar. A few tables out front is really all there is. I chose my meal from the display and a beer form the cooler. Sitting out front I enjoyed the view of the bar next door. There was quite a party there. My meal, though modestly served in a paper boat was a treat. Four choices and a beer for 7 euros. I would have had seconds and thirds if I hadn't already planned an evening of eating at several tapas bars. I am glad I started my evening at El Piano it was the best food of the three tapas bars I went to that night. The other places had a better view for people watching but the food was second rate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena C, Owner at EL Piano, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed EL PIANO MALAGA. Come and see us some time in EL PIANO GRANADA or EL PIANO YORK, not great for people watching as the al fresco dining is not on the street, but the same good wholly vegan and wholly gluten-free food. Thanks for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Piano also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to EL Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL Piano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.