We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food of Our Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plaza

La Plaza
Plaza de la Merced No.18, Malaga, Spain
+34 952608491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,239 Restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Food of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate at this restaurant TWICE during our five day stay in Malaga because of how much we loved the food here. For vegetarians they had so many options and the prices were very reasonable. I still have dreams about the baked cheese and caramelized onion tart. During our stay they also had a gazpacho with watermelon blended in -- very inventive and refreshing in the summer heat! I can't recommend this place enough -- even the staff were lovely! Eat here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    114
    27
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Really helpful waiters great tasting food and very good value. This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I went there for my first night and never went any where else for 4 days to eat. Great freshly cooked food lots to choose from what ever mood you are in. and great cocktail and a great all round resturant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great place to eat tapas and drink before going out! My friend and I went almost every day for two weeks, we were treated like regulars at the restaurant! The staff is great, a special shoutout to Azahara: best waitress you'll ever meet! The food and drinks are delicious and super fancy for good prices! It is a must for a great atmosphere and an incredible time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Professional staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

La Plaza, situated at, yes, a plaza, consists of a tapas bar and next to it a restaurant, with one large terrace outside. They offer a 3 course menu-of-the-day for 9,90 Euro and they also have a menu to select a la carte and a tapas menu. The staff is very friendly and speaks good english. The tapas are delicious and prices reasonable. What struck us most was the service; we noticed our waiter explaining the menus ever so friendly and patient to some east european tourists, who kept on asking more and more questions about the menus and prices. It looked almost as a test to try the waiters patience, but he did not give up where others would have. This was really an example of excellent service. We had 6 tapas, 2 drinks and a bottle of water for 30 Euro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fabulous ! A must for all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We found this place while visiting Picasso's house in the center of Malaga. We were served by a wonderful well spoken chap, who was fluent in English. We both had a lovely three course daily menu for a great price. We liked it so much we decided to go back in the evening. Greeted by the same wonderful waiter who also remembered us. Although they were really busy we had an outstanding dinner and was really well looked after. Great food with lots of twists in their cuisine. Incredible service with delicious sangria and really easy access. A must!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plaza also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.