We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality meals at average prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Plaza

La Plaza
Plaza de la Merced No.18, Malaga, Spain
+34 952608491
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,173 restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Vegetarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality meals at average prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Set in the Plaza de la Merced, near Picasso's birth house, this typical, local restaurant served us the best meal we have had for a long time - chef had worked for Jamie Oliver in London??. I had the Moroccan Lamb Shank with almonds, couscous and a mint yoghurt sauce. The combination of these tastes was subtle and delightful - a delicious meal. My wife had the sea bream with paella and a beautiful cream sauce with prawns - equally delicious. Very reasonably priced and a very nice house Rioja to go with the meal. Having walked around the area and studied a few restaurant menus, we opted for La PLaza and certainly had no regrets and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Malaga.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    185
    99
    21
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leamington spa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“nice food shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

think we chose the wrong night as the owner was not there.On a cold grey night ,looking forward to a warm welcome and hot food,got neither.
Found our own table on entering with just an acknowledgement from the bar.Got menus but had to ask for a wine menu.Whilst choosing noticed the restaurant itself was cold.Waiter came to take what I thought would be the wine order,but insisted on taking the food order as well,as though he didnt want to bother coming back.Got the wine then a long wait before all the food came at once.Looked lovely but plates stone cold and so was the food.Great flavours but a bit like eating a takeaway the next morning.Also the order was wrong which as this was a different waiter and no written order,was made out to be our fault.
Origional waiter came back when we had finished,nobody checked on us during the meal.Told him the plates and food cold,and he said he would tell chef,but that was no help or consolation to us.Then no one again,had to ask for a dessert menu,then no one again!!!!
So went to the bar,paid the bill,and left.
Such a shame as the presentation and taste of the food great,good menu,location,and prices.
Notice on reading other reviews,many of our problems not new,so need to be addressed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

my husband and I went here for dinner one evening duribg our honeymoon in malaga. the menu is fantastic and has lots of choice, even for a fussy eater like me. the staff were very friendly and spoke good english. they couldnt have been more helpful. we ordered tapas and the food was to die for!! the waiter recommended a bottle of wine, which was lovely. all in all, a gorgeous dinner. we intend to go back and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun & Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first dining experience in Malaga was happily here next to the Plaza de la Merced! We won't soon forget the excellent tapas, wine and sangria! Sitting on the patio, the owner, Robert, (aka to us a MUCH better looking Bill Nighy) reccommended items off an extensive, but not overwhelming, tapas menu.

We were not disappointed by any of our choices. As a matter of fact, we reordered two of our favorites, the sticky ribs (the sauce was one of the best I have tasted), and the skewered prawns! The menu is totally accommodating for a vegetarian as well. Oh..then there were the "Puddings"...Chocolate Truffle Cake, Sticky Caramel Pudding Cake with Ice Cream (of course). Everything is made on the premises.

Robert is not only an owner who cares about the quality,taste,detail and presentation of his menu, but the satisfaction and care of his clientele. It was not only the great food that brought us back on our last day in Malaga to La Plaza, but the charm and entertaining atmosphere made by the owner himself. Again, not an overwhelming person, he is relatable to the customer. The wait staff could take a lesson from the owner on finesse. Robert spends so much tme checking tables and customers himself, perhaps he needs to hand off some of the task to the staff in their down time.

The amount of food, drink, and fun was priced well within a traveler's budget! You will not walk away hungry or sorry about this choice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food we got that week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Maybe not so traditional, but refreshingly different from the standard menus found elsewhere. Not a mishap or any so-so dishes. The vegetarian burger was way better than most beef burgers! The Moroccan lamb dish was tender and rich in flavor. The rice dessert with mango and orange was a first, but - wow. The cook is a few steps ahead of the competition, and although not a vegetarian I would recommend this place for their wide selection.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plaza also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.