We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Views on a Sunny Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo de Gibralfaro

Castillo de Gibralfaro
Cmno Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
952122020
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Malaga City Tour by Open-Top Bus
Ranked #9 of 156 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“Delightful Views on a Sunny Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After experiencing the Alcazaba take the road alongside to the top to witness this structure and grounds. Take your time traversing the journey to the top(if it is a hot day have some water with you) and enjoy the views and vistas below and afar. Notice the Bull Ring, the harbour, Government buildings and Palaces of a day gone by. The fees for entry are reasonable though I don't remember how much (shame on me). When returning we took a path off the side of the hill and wandered through the hillside gardens then on to the Park below heading towards the port.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    609
    159
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

it is quite a steep climb to the top of Gibralfaro caste (best not done when very hot) but the breathtaking views for the top make it worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Looking at the machine to get our ticket and we thought there was a reduction for seniors of .60c - No, to our surprise it was only .60c for seniors.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
279 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Walk up is steep but managable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Castillo is worth a visit for the views, we walked up and back down to the Alcazaba with no problem even though my husband gets a discount as a senior. The visit would offer more if there was some information, the little available is only in Spanish. The entrance fee for both the Castillo and Alcazaba is very reasonable, it cost just over 6 euros for both attractions for the two of us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

View is good but I don't believe it does worth spending time and effort. You may visit if you have time in Malaga.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de Gibralfaro also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Castillo de Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo de Gibralfaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.