We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Views on a Sunny Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo de Gibralfaro

Castillo de Gibralfaro
Cmno Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
952122020
Improve this listing
Visit Castillo de Gibralfaro like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Malaga Segway Tour
Ranked #10 of 173 things to do in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
694 helpful votes 694 helpful votes
“Delightful Views on a Sunny Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After experiencing the Alcazaba take the road alongside to the top to witness this structure and grounds. Take your time traversing the journey to the top(if it is a hot day have some water with you) and enjoy the views and vistas below and afar. Notice the Bull Ring, the harbour, Government buildings and Palaces of a day gone by. The fees for entry are reasonable though I don't remember how much (shame on me). When returning we took a path off the side of the hill and wandered through the hillside gardens then on to the Park below heading towards the port.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    464
    121
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

it is quite a steep climb to the top of Gibralfaro caste (best not done when very hot) but the breathtaking views for the top make it worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Looking at the machine to get our ticket and we thought there was a reduction for seniors of .60c - No, to our surprise it was only .60c for seniors.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Walk up is steep but managable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Castillo is worth a visit for the views, we walked up and back down to the Alcazaba with no problem even though my husband gets a discount as a senior. The visit would offer more if there was some information, the little available is only in Spanish. The entrance fee for both the Castillo and Alcazaba is very reasonable, it cost just over 6 euros for both attractions for the two of us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

View is good but I don't believe it does worth spending time and effort. You may visit if you have time in Malaga.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de Gibralfaro also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Castillo de Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo de Gibralfaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.