We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more interesting than I imagined!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Cathedral

Malaga Cathedral
Calle Molina Lario, 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
952 21 59 17
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
London, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Much more interesting than I imagined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Yes it is a hodge-podge of styles that should not mix well but they do! I love the inside of the Manquita the most - such interesting testimonials to their religious past, etc.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    362
    114
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting history and architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

All visitors to Malaga should visit the city's famous cathedral. The history and architecture are very interesting and well worth the entrance fee. The serenity inside the cathedral is soothing and calming. A great contrast to the heat and the bustle outside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe england
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a stunning cathedral, in my opinion better than the ones in Seville and Granada both inside and out. Beautiful architecture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Spanish Baroque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The cathedral is very impressive from the outside and inside it is much as I expected with lots of heavy Spanish Baroque architecture and art. It is interesting to walk around for a short visit, but I wasn't struck by anything of special artistic merit. However, Spanish Baroque isn't my favourite style so others who do like this style would get more out of it. I felt the 5 euro entrance fee was rather steep. I would say that I liked it much more than Seville Cathedral which is huge and depressing inside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We thought Malaga cathedral was absolutely stunning, possibly the most ornately decorated cathedral we have even been in, with amazing stained glass windows and beautiful chapels. Well worth the €5 to get in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Cathedral also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Malaga Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.