We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malaga Cathedral

Malaga Cathedral
Calle Molina Lario, 9, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
952 21 59 17
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We took a walk that was recommended by our hotel and it took us past the cathedral. What a brilliant piece of architecture in the central part of Malaga. One can understand why someone like Picasso, with the picasso museum just a few steps away, received so much inspiration growing up in Malaga spain.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    336
    108
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the visit and the cash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Some folks seem to think that this attraction is to pricey at 5euro but I have to say, as someone who loves history, it was wonderful. If you know the stories of the Saints, take some time to read up, and simply enjoy an absolutely amazing building and wonderful craftsmanship, this is a must visit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a lovely couple of hours in here, and it is stunning! It is extremely interesting, and well worth the entrance fee. It was a very calming and serene place, and at one point my husband and I were reduced to tears. A few hours in here is, I feel, a cure for many ills - a very spiritual experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Small but fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It may seem expensive but I can tell you it is worth every Euro, this is something special and well worthwhile, enjoy it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campanillas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Bit of a hotch-potch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

"La Manquita" ("The one armed lady", so called because it has only one completed tower - the money for completing the other was sent to aid the Colonists during the American War of Independence!) suffers from having had a somewhat rowdy Cathedral Chapter in the past. They were at constant loggerheads with their architect, so there are a number of differing styles in evidence! The High Altar is an excellent example of Renaissance style, and the Choir is a magnificent example of wood carving, executed by Pedro de Mena (whose house nearby can also be visited).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaga Cathedral also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Malaga Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaga Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Malaga Cathedral to your Saves list