We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, cheery hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlos V to your Saves list
Hotel Carlos V
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cister, 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, cheery hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We travelled to the hotel on the #4 bus from the bus station (right next to the train station too) - €1.30 for a single journey. And the bus to the airport is €3 and runs from half 6 in the morning.

The rooms are a little dark and furnishings a little tired but what do you expect for a two-star hotel in a city centre?! The staff are friendly (all we saw spoke English and also humoured my broken Spanish!). You are walking distance to some nice cafes and restaurants.

Excellent value for money and very convenient to see the sites of Malaga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
11
64
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here in the autumn and, although basic with no food, is in a perfect location. The lack of a dining facility is not a huge inconvenience as there are several bars, cafes, restaurants, etc. within a few minutes of the hotel. The bar opposite does a good coffee to kick start the day. Once I'd had that, I wandered off to find breakfast and then explore Malaga. During my stay I think I explored every street and alleyway.
The room I had was spacious and clean with a very comfy bed. All in all, for the amount of money I paid, it was extremely good value. Had there been any problem with cleanliness, I would have made a comment to the staff and if the situation hadn't been resolved, looked for another bed in another hotel - simple!
I used public transport to get in and out of the city. There's no need for a car so don't fret about the parking access or cost. I took a taxi one night when I had stayed out a bit later than intended and the cost was reasonable. I also used a couple of buses and took the train to the airport.

Room Tip: As the street is pedestrianized, I would think any room would be ok. I was at the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Situated right in the middle of the city center. it is hard to get in because the hotel is located in pedestrian area of the city center. But they have a parking underground just in front of the hotel (12 EUR/day).
They will ask your car number plates for the police to allow you to enter with the car in this area.
Once you are there you will find is the ideal place to start exploring Malaga, close walking to almost everything (eg:Malaga Cathedral is 50 meters away, Roman Theater 150 meters away)
The staff is very friendly,good English and willing to help you with whatever you need.
Room is big and clean,same is bathroom. I paid 80 EUR for 2 nights in January which I consider good value for the money. It is definitely a choice for Malaga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a wonderful surprise while staying in Malaga. This lovely hotel was perfectly located in the center of the town, in a semi-pedestrian zone. It could not have been better in my opinion. Restaurants, cafes, meseums, and everything to see and do was within walking distance. The personel at the reception was helpful and friendly and was fluent in English. The single person room was simple but I was pleasantly suprise to have a bath (and not just a shower) for the price. Free Wifi in the room was working perfectly well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is located in the city centre very close to the restaurant district and shopping areas. Also the beach is only 1.5 km away. The staff is very polite, the rooms are clean with large nice bathrooms. The only downside is that there is apparently no breakfast served and no restaurant. No refrigerator could be found either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just stayed three nights in this hotel which, although simple and no frills, is excellently sited for visiting the main attractions in Malaga. The hotel is perfectly clean and the reception staff friendly and helpful. There seems to be only one double bedded room per floor, in our case number 56, on the fourth floor it's 46 etc. The double bedded room is quite small and has only a lateral outside window, next to the head of the bed. The bathroom window has a view of a part of the cathedral. Bathroom is spacious and spotless. Wifi worked well
. Apart from 9 one morning when neighbours visiting jazz festival took a bath with jazz music (on their ipad perhaps) which we heard clearly, the rest of the stay was remarkably quiet. There was no traffic nor street noise in our room.
The rooms with twin beds were all larger and lighter than ours, but that didn't matter because in Malaga you spend little time in the hotel.
The hotel is excellently placed for visiting, being close to the cathedral and what will soon be a new and large art gallery in the Palacio de la Aduana. It is within 5 minutes slow walk of the Picasso museum, the Roman theatre, the port and just about everything else. Very convenient for popping into hotel for five minutes rest before doing the next attraction.
The hotel will look after your luggage on the day you leave and there is a large lounge downstairs (with a machine selling bottled water far cheaper than that in the shops).
We'd checked out on our last day and in the afternoon it rained. The hotel let us use the downstairs lounge to dry out while waiting for the rain to stop and did it in a generous and friendly manner.
The hotel is simple but, compared to all the others I saw, seemed to be in the best geographical situation to visit Malaga and have somewhere quiet to return to. Other hotels were either too far out, on busy roads or in areas where night life is exuberant. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I decided to start my trip off with an extra night in the city centre so I could do a bit of sightseeing. I was after a central hotel in a safe area as I was travelling by myself and wanted to be close to local attractions and restaurants etc. I knew that my single room probably wouldn’t be great but for 42 euros for the night I wasn’t expecting the Ritz and it was fine for one night. The location couldn’t have been better though – in the pedestrianized area with cafes literally on the doorstep and just round the corner from the Alcazaba. It was so nice to be able to pop in and out the hotel during the day and they were happy to store my luggage after I’d checked out. I’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Address: Cister, 10, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlos V 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Carlos v Hotel Malaga
Hostal Residencia Carlos v málaga
Hotel Carlos V Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlos V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.