We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sur to your Saves list
Hotel Sur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trinidad Grund 13, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Nerja, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The Hotel Sur is a pretty unassuming hotel, but it was perfect for a few days in Malaga. Our room was clean & spacious, the bathroom huge (lots of hot water), free wifi, a/c, the reception & cleaning staff very friendly, and the hotel is located just one street south of Alameda Principal, so you´re a hop, skip, & a jump from everything. There´s a great café directly across the street for breakfast or you can have breakfast at the hotel (although I think they use the same cafe).

Again, it wasn´t fancy, but it was cheap & perfect for us!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    106
    50
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
100
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a fair priced and conveniently located budget hotel. Travelling by car in Spain's third largest city can be traumatic without sat-nav.
Hotel Sur has underground parking make sure you ask them for directions as the parking is accessed from the street behind the main entrance, which is a pedestrian walk way. The sign posting off the main street is non existent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel for a city break. It has a central location without the usual burden of it being noisy outside. The room was clean and a good size. One disappointment was the lack of minibar/fridge which I would usually expect from a hotel in such a hot location. The reception at the hotel were always helpful, professional, available and their English was excellent. The tourist information centre was 50 metres to the right and the bus stop for the airport was on the next street. For anybody who wants a quick, cheap breakfast, there is a small cafe across the way, and for a drink or excellent, reasonably priced tapas, there is a bar opposite the reception door (an added bonus if you want to access the hotel WIFI when socialising). After checking out, there were faclilties for us to leave our bags which we picked up after last minute sightseeing at 7pm.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for a short weekend and we would like to recommend the place as it's very good value for money.
Our room was surprisingly spacious and really clean. Quality of sleep was good, as hotel felt very quiet (it is located on a pedestrianised street) and away from cars.
The street itself is not very pretty, but there is a cafe right opposite which was great to have breakfast and the location is great - it's a very short walk from the historical centre and the port.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Sur. Our room was large, clean, and mostly very quiet. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and attitude-free; their fluency in English should please a lot of travelers from the US and UK. The wifi could be stronger, but was adequate for our needs. If and when we return to Malaga (which certainly merits multiple visits), Hotel Sur will be our first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street may be quieter. But Calle de Trinidad Grund, though centrally located an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel location is perfect at the city centre, 10 meters from the bus station and shuttle bus, very good for the price and friendly staff.
From a walking distance to night life and majority of pubs and restaurant, near to the cathedral.
Go for it if you are visiting malaga.
You won't regret it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location is great - in a very central position with parking just below the hotel. The hotel is great value for the money. However the room is not accessible - the lift was too small for my wheelchair.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sur

Address: Trinidad Grund 13, 29001 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hotel málaga
Hotel Sur Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.