We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet hotel with an excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Larios

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Larios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Malaga
Malmö
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, quiet hotel with an excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at the Roommate Larios for 8 nights in Aug 2010. I had a room facing the pedestrian street Calle Marqués de Larios since I requested one. Amazing view and feel for the lively street, but at the same time extremey quiet room at night with the window closed. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The air condition was a bit noisy but when I turned it down a notch it was fine. Not sure I would have used the roof top terrace, but it was closed during my stay. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get a feel for the city life and at the same time get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    195
    46
    20
    11
See reviews for
42
239
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Booked 3 rooms and stayed in this hotel on our way to and on the return from a villa we had rented (3 days in total) The location was great and the rooms clean although the air con in one of the rooms was very inefficient. The buffet breakfast was poor with very little choice and no hot food available. We have stayed in many 4 star hotels in all the major cities in Spain and this was by far the worst breakfast we had come across. On our return back from the villa we tried to check into the hotel at 3pm (our booking stated that check in was after 2pm) only to be told that not one of the 3 rooms booked was available until 5pm!! The staff were not really helpful and the roof bar terrace was closed. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We were 3 families travelling together with small children. I researched on Tripadvisor the comments on Room Mate Larios and I do not understand how they can receive less than 5 stars. Our experiance was fantastic; the hotel spotless, the staff could not be more helpful, the beds and room size excellent and there could not be a better location. When we return to Spain we will definately return to Malaga which we loved and used as a central point to visit, Setenil, Ronda, Mijas, Nerja, Marbella, Torremolinos and even Gibraltar and stay at this hotel. We all had rooms facing the pedestrian street and when our balcony doors were shut you could not hear a thing. Forget any negative comments and believe me when I say you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Ahead our first visit to Malaga we found Mate Larios at the web and booked a room. We chose due to the location, the four stars, the architecture and the included breakfast. Often it can be a dissapointment to see the hotel IRL, byt this was not the case here. The rooms and the rest of the hotel is furnished and arranged very nice. The location in Malaga was the best possible and the diningroom, overlooking a nice open square, was a good place for the breakfast. The staff was very friendly and uncomplicated. We used the internet (reducing the price a lot) for booking the last to days on our journey in Spain at Mate Larios. We wanted to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Wir können das Room Mate Larios nur wärmstens empfehlen:

Top-Lage:
- direkt in der Fussgängerzone
- kein Fahrzeugverkehr, daher Abends sehr ruhig
- von überall her sehr gut erreichbar, auch mit Taxi

Zimmer, Ausstattung:
- die Standarzimmer sind ok, die Junior Suites schön gross.
- sehr sauber
- stylisch und trotzdem zweckmässig eingerichtet
- Ambiance grosszügig, alles vorhanden inkl. Business Amendities

Service, Reception:
Äusserst freundlich, speditiv und zuvorkommend (in unserem Zimmer war der Save von den Vormietern verschlossen, wurde vom Servicepersonal innert Minuten geöffnet.)

Einziger Vermutstropfen:
Dass das Frühstück bis 12:00 möglich ist, ist super. Das geht allerdings etwas zu Lasten der Auswahl: Frühstücksbuffet war eher mager.

Ach ja: da das Hotel in der Fussgängerzone liegt, für Anreise mit eigenem PW natürlich nicht unbedingt ideal...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Nicely furnished, with air conditioning, rooms suprisingly quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

we returned to the hotel in May after staying there last December.
The staff are great and very helpful, except the lady who served breakfast on Saturday. She was very grumpy and needs to be more customer friendly.
The room was clean and spacious and the continental breakfast is served until midday which is great if you want to have a longer sleep in the morning.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#11 Family Hotel in Malaga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#11 Business Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic Hotel Room Mate Larios, again is becoming the hub and meeting place for the coolest people in the city of Malaga. Following the reopening of LATERRAZA DELARIOS last summer, the incorporation of LARIOSGASTROBAR puts in charge of the kitchen chef Pablo Molowny disciple of Berasastegui and Arzak, who after becoming very successful in the restaurant GIFT (Room Mate ÓSCAR, Madrid), earned many loyal political personalities, artists and designers who enjoyed his kitchen and new understanding of gastronomy, as well as his design and cuisine but without losing the traditional flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.