We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Larios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Larios to your Saves list
Room Mate Larios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Pori
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice hotel, great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room Mate Larios is a very nice hotel with spacious and clean rooms, wonderful and helpful staff and a great location right in the heart of the old town.
Took the train from the airport, less than ten minute walk from Larios, along the main shopping street. Staff was excellent, helped us in making our stay and vacation better in many ways. Rooms were clean and spacious, free wifi worked well. Walls were thin, all the commotion from the hallway was clearly audible (probably applies to most of the buildings in Spain?).
I'd definately visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    213
    50
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
281
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with another couple on 20th December for an evening out in Málaga where none of us had to drive home. We chose the location as we intended to spend the afternoon shopping locally and the evening enjoying the local Tapas Bars. We checked in and on arrival we were very pleased with our room. It was a 'cama matrimonial' (double bed, not twin) as we'd asked for.. But it wasn't a double, or a king or even a super king. I have no idea what it was but it was the largest hotel bed we've ever had. Memory foam mattress. Very comfy. The hotel has an Art Deco theme with a modern touch throughout the hotel and this carries on into the bedrooms. Painted in a very restful colour with nice furnishings. Very spacious. Very efficient double glazing (which came in handy later on!). The bathroom is clean and serviceable. Nothing flash but nothing negative about it either (apart from the location of the telephone extension in there.. I kept catching my arm on it when getting off the loo!! minor issue though). The hairdryer in there was much better than the usual ones you find in hotels and I definitely won't drag mine back there the next time I stay! The toiletries smelt amazing and I wish it were possible to source them away from the hotel.
The hotel bar was nice. Fab views over to the Christmas decorations in Plaza de la Constitución. Very reasonably priced.
Check in and out was a breeze. Staff very friendly. Can't fault it and we will definitely stay there again. In fact I can't wait to go back in summer and try the roof terrace bar!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel and so reasonable

Visited 12 December to 15 December this year - 6 of us friends in three rooms from Oxford, UK

Great break just what we needed with so many good eating houses, excellent wines and friendly people. Locally and splendid Christmas devorations, lively street acts and shopping.

Fifth time here and can't wait to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Best rooms to view fantastic Christmas tree and lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We started our trip to Spain in Malaga. This hotel was the perfect place to get us into the feel of Andalucia! The area is filled with life...good restaurants and bars, lots of stores and a perfect place for people watching! It is also close to the train and bus stations. The airport bus drops you off a short walk away. The hotel was very comfortable...the best bed we had in Spain. The room was large and the bathroom just fine. Street side rooms do get street noise all night...they were installing the most fabulous Christmas light display and they do clean streets late, but the hotel has installed incredibly insulated windows. We didn't do their breakfast, but there are lot's of places close by.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Malaga for my husband's birthday. The hotel was in an amazing position, overlooking the main street. The view of the Christmas lights was incredible! Anyway, the hotel was great, the staff friendly and efficient, the beds were extremely comfortable and the big shutters on the windows did actually block out all the noise, so we were able to stay in the heart of the city but we also got a good nights sleep. The WiFi was excellent although the password changing without warning was a little irritating. Also another minor niggle was the fact that the roof bar looms large in the advertising but is closed in winter. Understandable, but perhaps this could be included in the hotel blurb. Both of the above are minor points as I would without doubt stay here again

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

All the staff of the hotel are very happy to know that your last stay in Room Mate Larios was very pleased.

We would like to say you thank you for taking your time to share your opinion to other travellers.

We are looking to see you again during your next visit to the city of Malaga, we hope you can visit us in summer time and visit our terrace bar.

Best Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Larios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was not our first stay at this great hotel - the quality of rooms and service were first class and as for its location, wow!! You can walk the entire city from this hotel located in Malaga's premium pedestrian shopping centre - great for the girls but there are also plenty of cheerful bars for the boys!!.
We went to meet friends and enjoy the Christmas lights and City atmosphere - we were not disappointed even though it rained. The rain didn't deter the crowds which were friendly and added to the buzz.
Hotel was good value for money - the car parking a bit of a walk away and quite expensive. Drinks and food everywhere were good value for money.

Room Tip: We like a room overlooking Calle Larios
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for choose Room Mate Larios again and for writting that nice words about your stay with us.

We are totally agree with you, with this locations even girls and boys can enjoy!! Now with Christmas lights the city centre is very live and with lot of people in the street.

We are looking to see you soon in the hotel.

Best regards,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got an apartment through this hotel, so I did not stay in the actual hotel, just around the corner... okay, a couple of corners.

The hotel is located on a shopping street with LOTS of activity 24/7. The noise level would have been unacceptable had I not had ear plugs especially since I couldn't get the temperature in the room down to a comfortable level without opening the windows.

So, no AC and the first night I went out to dinner and came back and the main fuse had blown so we had to diagnose that problem. Then there was a stain or two on the sheets. They looked like they'd been washed, but it just hadn't come out.

Wifi had a good connection, but it was painfully slow.

The service at the front desk was okay, though I had to look for someone a couple of times.

To summarize: if you want a shopping/high energy experience and don't mind things being things being as clean as a well-lived-in home, then this could work for you. Me? Not so much.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#14 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic Hotel Room Mate Larios, again is becoming the hub and meeting place for the coolest people in the city of Malaga. Following the reopening of LATERRAZA DELARIOS last summer, the incorporation of LARIOSGASTROBAR puts in charge of the kitchen chef Pablo Molowny disciple of Berasastegui and Arzak, who after becoming very successful in the restaurant GIFT (Room Mate ÓSCAR, Madrid), earned many loyal political personalities, artists and designers who enjoyed his kitchen and new understanding of gastronomy, as well as his design and cuisine but without losing the traditional flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.