We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Malaga” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Larios

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 hotels in Malaga
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times already and booked to go back in November. Smart, stylish hotel in perfect central locations. Staff great, rooms really nice - worth a bit extra to get one of the suites which gives you a big room with terraces and great views. A bit of noise from the street at night, but only to be expected for a hotel so central and anyway, you should be out with the Spanish enjoying the night life, not trying to sleep! Apparently it's Antonio Banderas' hotel of choice when he is home, so can't be bad...

Room Tip: Go for a suite - worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Simon,

We really aprecciate your comments about your experience at Room Mate Larios.

Please do not hesitate to contact us regarding your future reservation in November to let us know about your preferences.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    185
    42
    20
    10
See reviews for
40
219
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is THE place to stay if you want to be at the heart of the city – near shops and Carmen Thyssen and within a 5 minute walk to the port and cathedral - but without too much hubbub often associated with town centre locations. It's a long established hotel but street access is discreet with reception and public rooms up stairs/lift on the first floor. The hotel is stylish and rooms generally well appointed. Public spaces are plush without being over the top and the bar area is a pleasant and usually relatively quiet place to entertain.
We chose a Junior Suite (403) which gave us great views across the Plaza de la Constitution and the daily and nightly perambulations of Malagueistas. About 30% of rooms face the rear and will have no view: be aware when booking that if you need complete quiet probably the rear facing rooms would suit best.
Our room was large with a good sized comfortable bed and good pillows. Two sets of curtains meant daylight was kept out in the early mornings and the windows were well enough insulated for sound to avoid hearing much of the occasional late night revellers outside. Bathrooms were high spec with usual (for the area) black marble and travertine tiles. Our room safe was plenty big enough to take a laptop.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel once. It was Ok but even at €7.50 nothing to get over excited about. Unless you want the full range of breakfast fare it’s more fun to use one of the local cafes.
Receptionists were knowledgeable and happy to help with any problems. One of the pluses for me was that you can enter the hotel off the street and go to your room without always passing reception.
I’d definitely recommend this hotel and prefer it to the other four we’ve used in the city.

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite (403) which gave us great views across the Plaza de la Constitution and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your opinion on this web page and for sharing your experience at Room Mate Larios with other people who could be interested in visiting our beautiful city od Málaga.

We do wish to see you again in the future and send you our kindest regards.

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect for exploring the city of Malaga. Right next to the lovely Plaza de la Constitucion and close to the harbour. The free breakfast is served until mid-day, altho' for the long weekend we were there, the offerings didn't change. Hot option was bacon & scrambled eggs the continental option was the usual cheese cold meats etc. Regardless it served as a good start to our day. If I returned to Malaga, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad we gave you a nice stay experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in Room Mate Larios when you plan to come back to Málaga.

Best regards,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've just got back from our latest return visit to Room Mate Larios in Malaga, and once again our high expectations were met... The rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, the location is perfect, and the staff are friendly, helpful and charming. Malaga is a wonderful city and this is the perfect place to stay to enjoy it.

Room Tip: The huge corner rooms overlooking the square on the second and third floor are the best of all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Zabriske,

Thank you so much for choosing Room Mate Larios when you are coming to Malaga.

We are vey proud to know about your experience with us. This is our best treasure.

We are looking to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great central location, huge and very comfortable bed, loved the staff and the decor but the breakfast was a disappointment – a bit tired and poor choice. I’ll happily go back but have breakfast in Bar Central just outside the hotel in the square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear client,

It is a huge pleasure read such a beautiful review. Thanks in the name of all the Room Mate Larios team who always try to give the best to their guests.

We are vey sorry to know you did not enjoy with our breakfast, but thank you to our clients comments we are going to change it to improve our service.

Hope we will see you soon in your next visit to Málaga!!

Warm regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The positive things : right in the historical center and everything within walking distance. For me this is the biggest plus about this hotel. Other positive things : nice pillows and a good bed (which is not always the case in Spain). Make sure you ask at the reception for a double or two single beds as they have both. If you make your choice clear, you'll receive what you've asked for. The rooms are trendy, spotless, not too big, but very good for a city trip and a good "value for money ratio". Breakfast is offered till noon, which is also a plus.
The flipside : the TV is extremely small (19 inch computer screen) and not well placed (on the desk). The safe is rather small (don't bring laptops that are larger than a tablet/ipad as they won't fit in). But the thing they must absolutely work on is the airco. It's a central airco system and even during winter when it was 15 degrees outside, it was extremely hot (and dry air) in the room. You need to sleep with open windows...so make sure you have a room at the back of the hotel. You'll face a wall, but at least you will be able to sleep with an open window....without having the street noise. Overall : good for a city trip, but not for a 7-days of sun holidays

Room Tip: It's a central airco system and even during winter when it was 15 degrees outside, it was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment about you stay with us at Room Mate Larios.

We are very sorry to know there was hot when you came at winter time.

We are looking to see you again in the hotel.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton aycliffe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, it was booked for me for my birthday so I hadn't read any reviews. I can honestly say the hotel was spot on, friendly staff, clean rooms and I had a beautiful view. It is a perfect spot to enjoy this vibrant city. Would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write your opinion about your stay at Room Mate Larios.

We do hope you have enjoyed these days in Málaga to celebrate your birthday.

We would like to see you again in your next visit to the city.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol
Address: Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Business Hotel in Malaga
#14 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic Hotel Room Mate Larios, again is becoming the hub and meeting place for the coolest people in the city of Malaga. Following the reopening of LATERRAZA DELARIOS last summer, the incorporation of LARIOSGASTROBAR puts in charge of the kitchen chef Pablo Molowny disciple of Berasastegui and Arzak, who after becoming very successful in the restaurant GIFT (Room Mate ÓSCAR, Madrid), earned many loyal political personalities, artists and designers who enjoyed his kitchen and new understanding of gastronomy, as well as his design and cuisine but without losing the traditional flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Room Mate Larios to your Saves list