We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city trip hotel, but do something about the airco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Larios

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Larios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Larios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good city trip hotel, but do something about the airco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The positive things : right in the historical center and everything within walking distance. For me this is the biggest plus about this hotel. Other positive things : nice pillows and a good bed (which is not always the case in Spain). Make sure you ask at the reception for a double or two single beds as they have both. If you make your choice clear, you'll receive what you've asked for. The rooms are trendy, spotless, not too big, but very good for a city trip and a good "value for money ratio". Breakfast is offered till noon, which is also a plus.
The flipside : the TV is extremely small (19 inch computer screen) and not well placed (on the desk). The safe is rather small (don't bring laptops that are larger than a tablet/ipad as they won't fit in). But the thing they must absolutely work on is the airco. It's a central airco system and even during winter when it was 15 degrees outside, it was extremely hot (and dry air) in the room. You need to sleep with open windows...so make sure you have a room at the back of the hotel. You'll face a wall, but at least you will be able to sleep with an open window....without having the street noise. Overall : good for a city trip, but not for a 7-days of sun holidays

Room Tip: It's a central airco system and even during winter when it was 15 degrees outside, it was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment about you stay with us at Room Mate Larios.

We are very sorry to know there was hot when you came at winter time.

We are looking to see you again in the hotel.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    193
    46
    18
    11
See reviews for
44
253
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newton aycliffe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed for 3 nights in this hotel, it was booked for me for my birthday so I hadn't read any reviews. I can honestly say the hotel was spot on, friendly staff, clean rooms and I had a beautiful view. It is a perfect spot to enjoy this vibrant city. Would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write your opinion about your stay at Room Mate Larios.

We do hope you have enjoyed these days in Málaga to celebrate your birthday.

We would like to see you again in your next visit to the city.

Regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is as central as you can get to the old city. Accommodation, service, breakfast and (via Easyjet) price were excellent. Only quibbles: the bar drinks were a bit pricey and the non-Spanish TV channels rather limited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comment you have shared about your stay in Room Mate Larios. They are very helpful for us because they allow us to improve to offer a good service to all of our customers.

We are looking to see you again in Room Mate Larios in Málaga.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Read a few poor reviews before for this hotel but I feel that they are being a bit harsh, I can honestly say that there I nothing I can really fault with this place. It is perfectly positioned,comfortable, good selection for breakfast and the staff were freindly and helpfull.i would not hesitate coming back

Room Tip: Try to get any front room. All the rooms appear good but a few have rear facing/ no view the front f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you had a very nice stay experience at Room Mate Larios.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning to come back to Málaga, It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in Room Mate Larios.

Best regards,



Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great hotel....we stay here often!! Very well situated staff are amazing very attentive you won't be disappointed!!
Rooms are great nice and warm and comfortable beds !!
The bathrooms are big and well stocked of toiletries

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing onto Larios street great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

The only word we can writte you to express our satisfaction of your review is: Thank you!

We are very proud for having regular guest as you are. It is our duty to do our best for our clients everytime they are coming in town.

We are looking for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great location, pleasant room and staff but could not sleep due to the heat. Despite our stay being in the winter the temperature was around 19 degrees and although this hotel advertises air conditioning there was none. We were told only heating was available during the winter months regardless of the weather. Probably would give this hotel a miss next time we are in Malaga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your comments about the hotel.

We are very sorry to know you did not find a good temperature inside the rooms. As our air conditioning system is centralised, we have the options cool in summer time and heat in winter.

We would like to have the oportunity to welcoming you again if you are planning to come to Malaga.

Yours sincerely,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to work where I could concentrate..and splashed out on Junior Suite. Wonderful room with balconies, huge bed and fabulous working space. Breakfast served till midday! Hotel located amidst delicious Tapas bars and near Cathedral, port and Picasso museum when I could extract myself. Staff very friendly and helpful even when I spilt hot milk all over the coffee machine..
Will certainly return.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are excellent, and very quiet with windows closed even though on main and fashio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LariosJefaRecepcion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Larios, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for you review.

Breakfast till midday is certainly one of our symbols of identity in Room Mate Hotels, as well is our location in the centre of the city. We are glad you enjoy here.

We also try to do our best for our client, and it is a pleasure to help you, it is not a problem for us to clean if you split milk in the breakfast area.

We hope to have you will visit us soon.

Regards,


Mª Carmen Navarro
Front Desk Manager
ROOM MATE LARIOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Larios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Larios

Address: Marques de Larios 2, 29005 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Hotel Larios Malaga)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#12 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Larios 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The emblematic Hotel Room Mate Larios, again is becoming the hub and meeting place for the coolest people in the city of Malaga. Following the reopening of LATERRAZA DELARIOS last summer, the incorporation of LARIOSGASTROBAR puts in charge of the kitchen chef Pablo Molowny disciple of Berasastegui and Arzak, who after becoming very successful in the restaurant GIFT (Room Mate ÓSCAR, Madrid), earned many loyal political personalities, artists and designers who enjoyed his kitchen and new understanding of gastronomy, as well as his design and cuisine but without losing the traditional flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Larios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Larios Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Larios málaga
Room Mate Larios Hotel málaga
Room Mate Larios Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Larios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.