We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Curro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Don Curro Hotel to your Saves list
Don Curro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sancha de Lara 7, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Staad, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is well located within easy reach of all the main tourist attractions and the port. Check-in and check-out were exceptionally quick. The staff is efficient but unfriendly – not a smile to be seen from any of them during the two days we were there and there was no reply to our “holas” or “adioses”. We asked for a room on the 7th floor and even gave a particular room number. The confirmation of our reservation stated that rooms were available however we were given a room on the 6th floor with no view at all. The room itself was more than adequate for 2 days with a good sized bathroom, lots of cupboard space and a well-stocked minibar. Breakfast was good but let down by terrible coffee from a push-button coffee machine. This is a shame as there is a perfectly good coffee machine which produced good Spanish coffee which, when pushed by a few intrepid travellers, the waiters used with ill grace. If the staff had been more friendly, we would have given this hotel an even better rating and despite the few points that we feel could be improved on, this is a good place to stay in Malaga.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    316
    95
    28
    11
See reviews for
107
283
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were 15 friends & went for a weekend in malaga and don curro was very nice...good location..next to the many tapas bars and a walk away from the beach...it was wonderful stay.thumbs up for the staff as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is in the old city near all attractions.breakfast is very good with a great variety.there is parking in the hotel but the price is expensive 16 euros a day...the room is nice...the staff was friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location, the room, and the breakfast were all fine. The room had beautiful parquet floor. I also experienced Don Curro staff as nice and helpful. Despite the central location, there was little noise from the minor street. I would stay there again, at least if the same good price will be available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked through Alpha Rooms who could not have been more helpful.They arranged private transfer from airport with A2B who again were 100%. Driver was waiting for us from the flight and the return booking was on time and again very efficient.

The hotel gave us a high floor, as requested, and we had top floor room with full length balcony.

Breakfast was more than adequate and fresh.

Reception staff were welcoming, pleasant and very helpful and informative.

We would highly recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, location and service

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel has a rare and good combination in Europe of a great location very close to city center ( old town, cathedral and alcabaza) and parking service for a good price. But it's not so easy to get it because a few narrow streets to drive. It has a valet service that is very convenient but I had a particular problem because the lobby people didn't know that my car was there and it was a mess when I ordered the car and it took me 30 minutes to leave the hotel. I went in the winter and the heating system let the room very hot but I was so tired that it wasn't a real problem.
The room has a small size but good for European standards and I was alone. The bathroom was very clean , the shower had a good strength and good temperature control. A little slow wifi inside the room, but it was enough to read and send emails.
Good breakfast with good options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

On a positive note the hotel's location is great but it end there. The hotel room smelt of standing water/sewage and the smell wouldn't go away no matter how much I aired the room. The bathroom was not clean, as there were some hairs still on the floor, clearly not mine since I am blond and the hair was black. You literally hear EVERYTHING that happens in the room next to you. Trying to get a coffee at the breakfast buffet is a challenge in itself and it tastes awful so not worth the wait in the queue.
Overall not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Curro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Curro Hotel

Address: Sancha de Lara 7, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Malaga
#10 Family Hotel in Malaga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Curro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Don Curro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Curro
Don Curro málaga
Don Curro Hotel Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Curro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.