We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for location and nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You pay for location and nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location with fantastic view from sky bar, the best basically. Rooms are small. Walls are thin so you can follow in details when the couple next door had sex for the third time during the night. They charge you extra 11 euro per night to have a waterboiler - this is the first time I have experienced this. When you have a baby that eats from the bottle then it is not a pleasant surprise. The entrance has steps you cannot avoid so don't come with a baby wagon. They have very limited number of parking lots and it is a busy area so good luck finding a parking space. Basically don't come with a car. Elevators are small so don't have a fear of lack of space. They have free WiFI. The makeup mirror is in a position that makes it difficult to get close, according to the wife. The bathtub is slippery when wet - duh! :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guests,

We are really sorry about your comments. Firstly, having some boiling water in the room is a service we are pleased to offer free free of charge. What you can order daily with a 11€ charge is a coffee and tea service which includes, Nespresso Machine, kettle, milke, teas and different types of coffee , some pastries... Regarding the rooms, all our rooms are wider than usual for the 4star hotels in Spain. Also, we have different type of rooms with different views and services, such as standard rooms, superior rooms with views to the cathedral, rooms with sea view, superior rooms with views to the sea and terrace, junior suites and suites....Our main entrace offers an elevator to be used by prams and wheelchairs. Also we have a 24 hours bellboy service to help our clients with the luggage and any requeriment.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    473
    135
    30
    19
See reviews for
136
490
51
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked this hotel by chance after seeing it from the port of Malaga,,we were traveling around and had not expected to stay in Malaga another night but it was my daughters birthday so we decided to treat her however I could not believe the value.. the rate was soooo reasonable for the hotel you get.. we checked in as early as possible to avail of the roof terrace & pool as we had been on the go for 3-4 days and needed to chill..which is exactly what we did the pool is amazing with the views and overall vibe i cannot rate it enough.. the room that we got was overlooking the port and main road - noise didnt bother us all that much..would have loved another night here however it was fully booked but the guys at reception couldn't do enough to try and get us a room.. which was lovely..location is excellent to all attractions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words. We are pelased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in having you again in our property.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The check in on arrival was efficient, with check in time 3pm onwards.

The hotel décor is generally a little dated, though it’s clean and well appointed.

The hotel is in a great location for both the old town and modern harbor areas, though it’s a 15 minute walk to the revamped harbor bars and restaurants, and the beach.

Our room was on the 13th floor, had twin beds, a minibar, a bathroom with an over bath shower, toilet and beday. Complimentary toiletries, though no toothbrush or toothpaste.

The room has plenty of storage space for clothes, and sufficient space below the window for two cases without having to trip over them.

There is no in-room safe, which I found unusual.

There’s no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, though these are available at a charge of 9 euros per day.

Wi-Fi is also chargeable if required in your room, though it’s free in the reception/lounge and also available on the roof and the breakfast restaurant. Just select AC free, and accept the T&C’s.

The rooms are noisy, particularly the room door shutting.

Breakfast selection is ok, though a little limited in my opinion. Breakfast is available from 7am, and was generally quiet until around 8.30am.The selection includes cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, bread, yoghurt, pastries, and a hot selection of streaky bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs and sausage.

The pool area is well maintained, and there’s more room than the photographs indicate, though late afternoon it gets quite busy.

The pool doesn’t open until 10am, which seems a little late as by this time the sun in August is already roasting.

There are only a handful of sun loungers and if you aren’t up there at 10am you won’t get one. Towels are available at the pool.

Adjacent to the pool area is a bar and also the rooftop restaurant.

Drinks and snacks are available from the restaurant from 1pm, and there’s also a restaurant menu available. The small bar at the side of the pool opens at 4pm.

We did have some snacks at the pool, a Caesar salad 11 euros, a cheese and ham toasty with fries and salad 9 euros, and two small beers at 3 euros each.

The pool did get a little noisy on one of the days we were there, with a few children screaming and generally being kids, though the parents didn’t seem to see they were disturbing the majority of the guests around the pool.

We have previously stayed at the Molina Lario in 2010; just over the road to the AC, and the Molina is overall better, a higher class, though the pool area smaller.

Checkout is 12 noon, and we were told there were no extensions or courtesy rooms available the day prior to departure. As we had a late flight we had planned to use the shower rooms up at the pool, however when we actually checked out at 12 we were given a room on the second floor for 1 hour to get showered etc.

One additional tip is to use the airport bus to get into Malaga (line A). It runs every 30 minutes to and from the airport to the AC at a cost of 3 euros per person flat rate. It takes 30 minutes and has a number of stops, inbound about a 3 minute walk from the AC on Alameda Principal, and outbound just outside the hotel to the left beyond the Kiosk on Paseo Parque.
The bus has free Wi-Fi so we could see when we needed to get off on Google maps.
We’ve taken a taxi before which still takes around 25 minutes and costs about 25 euros each way so saves a couple around 38 euros.

The AC is a good place to stay, with a good rooftop pool and a great central location, would go again but will probably go back to the Molina Lario before.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your explanation. We are pleased to inform you that all AC Hotels By Marriott offer the same deco. Our up graded rooms offer internet and coffee facilities. There is safety boxes in a room next to the reception desk free of charge. We are pleased to inform you all our rooms are equipped with double glazing so the noise is eliminated. It is true there are sometimes, doors are not closed properly so the benefits of double glazing are deleted.
Concerning the hammocks, there are a number according the space on the roof.
We will be pleased in ahving you again with us
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is great right in the city center at a walking distance from Alcazar, the Catedral and the Marina. The hotel is a typical AC (not a Marriot) with the rooms well decor and pleasant however we got a room with a view facing a wall and the floor corridor smelled to sewage. Not a good thing. All the rest was ok with the staff being very helpful and a fair breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room not facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words regarding our property. Concerning the rooms, we have a wide range of rooms, for example, interior rooms with lower rates, standard rooms, cathedral rooms, view rooms, view rooms with balcony, junior suites and suites, where all our clients can choose the one fit their budget.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Ático Bar and Restaurant does have an incredible panoramic view of the city, that's where incredible ends. We were dressed for a night out and excited about the evening. The restaurant service was non-existent starting at the disorganized entrance: no one sat us so we sat ourselves (all tables were empty). After a spell, we were asked if we had reservations and since we didn't we had to sit inside — if they can even sit us. Up we went inside to wait by elevator again, then we were ushered to a table by the elevator (again where people land). We had little attention, our servers were rude and ill mannered running around hyperactive. It's one thing to be disorganized but another to have a major attitude. We would have left but we wanted to hear the flamenco music. Our food came too quickly, we ordered water and wine that we had to ask for several times and it came after the food was delivered, no bread, and the meat dish was cool, the not too fresh salad was over produced tower thing. We had to remind them to pay attention to us by standing up and waving...it was not a fun place or good food. By the way, our hotel called the hotel about the music event and restaurant, he was not told we needed reservations. Also, by the time we finished our meal, the original table on the terrace was still available! Now the outdoor bar was fun, great view, with a cloudy half-full little pool with the stage at one end. Mix of well dressed locals, ages and international types, all enjoying the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear client,

We are really sorry about your comments. Prior reservation is required in our roof restaurant over all, the days with any kind of show. We are really sorry if you saw a empty table. As we had a client reservation, we were not able to resell this table. The only reason for the empty table was the client finally did not come. As the Flamenco Nights have had a great success, all roof tables have been booked some days before the show date so in your case, that day our outdoor area was fully booked.
We are really sorry about the inconvenience and we will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a short business trip. It is well located, close to the centre of town and bars and restaurants. The rooms are functional, but I would suggest asking for one with a view, else you will find yourself facing concrete buildings and walls. Despite having the Marriott tag, the rooms do not have Marriott beds or bedding. Nonetheless, they are comfortable and the bathrooms are of a good quality. The breakfast was a little disappointing. The roof top bar is an advantage, as is the friendly service. Recommended, but only for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear clients,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with other future travellers. Concerning the beds, we are pleased to inform you that we have a lot of types of rooms so you can get double beds, twin beds, king beds...Regarding our breakfast buffet, we offer the buffet but also, a wide range of hot dishes that clients can order at the moment.
We would be be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have written a couple of email to them and after some day I didn't receive any answer. This is the main reason I put the worst vote.
I have found their email addrss on their website and I have written them asking some information about the chance to be there in september.
After the first silence I have send again the same email and ... nothing again.
I went there some month ago, I liked it and that's why it was my first choice but after that...not.
I am sorry but a hotel like that can't answer to possibile guests who use their email address written on their website
I am sure they can answer me privately, they only need to search among their emails

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear client,

We are really sorry about your comments. First of all, our main object is to sell our rooms so there is not any reason for not answering our client emails. As you can see the client´s attention is really appreciated by our staff, proof of this, for example, is that all client´s opinions in Trypadvisor are answered. The only reason for not answering your emails may be that we did not receive it or that it entered in our spam so we could not see it. On the other hand, we are also proud of our small dely in the answers. For example, if a client sends us an email in the morning, it will be in the afternoon, the latest, he will receive our answer or if the client sends us in the afternoon, he will have our reply, the latest, next morning.
Please, check the email address you used or send us a fax in case of problems with the email, and we will be pleased in serving you. We have never had this kind of communication problem.
We thought we do not deserve this comment and please, we would like you to rectify your opinion about us.
Always at your disposal
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Address: Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio By Marriott Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.