We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & everything we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location & everything we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed two nights at this hotel in early June 2913. I chose this hotel because of the location & the roof top bar pool area & I was not disappointed. Everything in Malaga is easily reached on foot, including the old town area, port and the beach. I enjoyed a Sangria at sunset overlooking the town which was lovely. Rooms were clean, well appointed and quite roomy. There was a balcony but no chairs to sit on. I used the gym on the third floor which although small, had everything I needed and again was spotless. Free water in the gym fridge was a nice touch.
It there was anything I could ask them to improve, it would be to extend the free wifi to the rooms. I know if you pay a premium you can have it but this day & age wifi should come free with all room rates. The lobby wifi did work well though and there was lots of spaces to sit and relax while catching up on email etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are pleased you have shared your comments related your last stay with us. We are delighted you have enjoyed a lovely stay in our property. We will be pleased in having you again with us so do not hesitate in contact our property and we will offer you a nice stay.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    513
    150
    31
    23
See reviews for
148
539
53
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel, it is well located, close to shops and restaurants and if you have a sea view great views across the harbour. The staff we found were very attentive, helpful and polite, always making you feel they wanted to give a good service. Our room was equipped well, good bed but no room safe which is a little odd today. Breakfast was ok, fresh food but it always amazes me the charges hotel make for breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our property.

We are very thankfull to know you enjoyed your stay among us.

Please, our aim is your satisfaction so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your opinions related our services and facilities that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location, easy to walk to waterfront, shopping walk streets, the cathedral and all the old city. Staff at this hotel was a pleasure to deal with, they were informative and always greeted you with a smile. The women that checked us in (I believe her name was Sylvia) was a delight and really went out of her way to give us tourist information, and her restaurant suggestions both for tapas and dinner were fantastic. The hotel has a magnificent view from the roof and as it was a little cool the evening we were there the heaters and the blankets they offered allowed us to be able to sit outside and truly enjoy it. Our room had a terrific view of the Cathedral with a small balcony.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be in a great location in the heart of old Malaga. We were only there the one night, but found both the hotel and the city exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely words about our collegue Silvia, we will transfer your comments to her.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.

Please, our aim is your satisfaction, so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I often travel through Malaga on the way to Nerja but this is the first time I have actually stayed in Malaga, I was very surprised how lovely it is.

The hotel has a great location, right beside the cathedral with many bars and shops very close by. I had a room on the 6th floor that overlooked the park and the port, pretty decent view.

Room was of a reasonable size with all of the usual amenities. I had a few issues with my room though, firstly the bed creaked loudly everytime I moved, the noise woke me up a couple of nights when I moved while asleep. There was a problem with my shower, it sprayed water all over the bathroom so the floor looked like there had been a flood! I reported it to reception on the first morning, it was looked at but not fixed. I reported it again on second morning and this time it was fixed but it really shouldn't have taken me reporting it twice. On my second day my room was not cleaned, I had been out all day and returned at around 5pm so plenty of time for the room to be cleaned.

I had breakfast on one morning, there was plenty of choice - but at 33 Euro way too expensive! It turned out to be a very expensive bowl of cereal, glass of orange juice and slice of toast. how the hotel can justify charging 33 Euro for breakfast is beyond me, I feel totally ripped off.

The roof top pool area is small with a few sun beds but offers fabulous views of Malaga.

I would stay in this hotel again but will definitely have breakfast outside of the hotel and save money!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter, less street noise and one side of the hotel has views of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear cliente,

We are pleased to inform you that there are differents types of rooms even 100mª rooms. Breakfast buffet is 15€10% tax not included, also you can order a continental brekfast, or even a cup or coffee and each kind of breakfast has a different rate.

We will be pleased in hearing from you soon
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in May 2013. The location for touring the center, restaurants, shopping, etc couldn't be better!

We also used the pool area which is nice but is not heated so it isn't that useable. But the deck is great and very peaceful. The restaurant on the 15th floor is nice as well and very reasonably priced.

The service overall was good for what you generally experience in many European hotels, but could be better. The room was clean, bathroom newish. Wifi was 12 Euros a day but it works in the room.

I think that the hotel could organize the service on the pool deck area much better, it was a frustrating experience for other guests as well. During the weekend it is very busy in the restaurant area with first communion parties, etc and they do not have a dedicated server checking on guests in the pool area. We felt weird having to go into the restaurant disturbing a party so we could order drinks. With unemployment in Spain what it is, I would think they could hire someone to just serve the outdoor hotel guests during the day on the weekend at least and make sure there are enough towels, etc - this would go a long way with satisfaction. It just seemed very disorganized and frustrating in the current set up. I would also recommend nice plastic glasses and plates that they use on the deck for day and night (we found bits of broken glass around the pool area).

Finally there was the most delightful man who took our luggage when we arrived and went out of his way to help us when we left, Amine. This man deserves a promotion, he is a shining star!

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are writing in reply to your comments related our property. We are plased you have enjoyed your stay with us but we would like to make some additional comments. First of all, Internet in the hotel is free in all areas and rooms except standard rooms, that as you mentioned has an extra charge. Relating the Roof Restaurant is placed on a penthouse and is highly used by citadins, guests and foreigners. The pool size does not need any safeguard. In order to keep the client´s service all our staff working at the area is focused on clients needs so they can provide clients towels, hammocks, ant take your bar order. In order to keep the safety in the area in case the maximum capacity of people is reached, the entrance is closed and the new clients are diverted to the Bar AC on the first floor or our Restaurant on the second floor.
We will transfer your lovely comments to Amine, our colleague. He will be proud of them.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. We had a room on a high floor overlooking the port with a little balcony with seats and a table, and couldn't have been happier. The older lady who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately there are stairs as you walk in from the street and go up to the lobby. Not helpful when you have luggage but there is a gentleman to help. Room was good, not huge but big enough with plenty of cupboard space. Bed was comfy and lovely and clean. Bathroom was good with nice towels. Breakfast was the usual continental but very adequate. If you want tea & coffee in the room they charge 11 euros per day - can you believe that? Really let the hotel down with that bit of nonsense. Fancy paying 11e per day - ridiculous! Hotel is in a nice position close to the old town and the waterfront. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if ever in Malaga.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the Port for really nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pleased in having you again in the hotel and in Málaga.
Related the tea and coffee facilities, we inform you that we provide this service complimentary in superior rooms.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is an extremely well located hotel and we had a superb room overlooking the old town and the cathedral. Ask for a room on the corner of the block .

The foyer is dated and worn. The rooms clean enough. No room safe is annoying in a hotel of this standard and cost. The staff were all very attentive.

The only free wifi is in the downstairs lounge area and the connection intermittent and weak..You can pay and get better. The difference between meanness and generosity is usually small. Lets hope the Marriott AC reconsider this policy.

This hotel however could not be better located for Malaga's key attractions which are certainly worth a visit.

We would return.

Room Tip: Go for high, 13 or 14 , and a corner overlooking the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear clients,

We are pleased to inform you our hotel offers free security boxes in a secure room next to the reception desk. Related our furniture, and decoration, the hotel has been renovated a few months ago, but we are always working to keep updated our facilities. Cocnerning Internet connection, there is a free signal in lobby and roof restaurant, and all our superior rooms have complimentary access.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Address: Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio By Marriott Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.