We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Lovely Rooftop Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Location & Lovely Rooftop Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is in a great location for exploring the city. We had a spacious corner room overlooking the cathedral which was within a stones throw. Breakfast good variety. Rooftop terrace is great for having a relaxing drink especially if the weather is nice. Didn't eat at the hotel but the rooftop terrace restaurant looked lovely and there are lots of restaurants within minutes walk. Mini bar was complimentary which was a nice touch. Found staff to be very pleasant. Overall very nice hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will pleased in having you again in the hotel and in Málaga.
See you soon
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    473
    135
    30
    19
See reviews for
136
490
51
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valladolid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel has a very good location, near the harbour, with beautiful seeviews, and near the cathedral. There is a swimming pool on the roof, but far to small for this size of hotel.
The personnel at the welcome desk is not so friendly, internet did not work in our room and breakfast is horrible! The restaurant is too small and very noisy. The quality of the food is very low and there is very little choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jorge,

First of all we are pleased you have shared your experience in the hotel with other future guests.
We are really sorry about your comments for breakfast because our breakfast buffet is widely recognise our high quality products and the hot dishes offer our clients can taste at the moment they order it. Also, our Atico Restaurant has been awarded by Academia Gastronómica, the oldest in Spain. Related our roof, as our location, we are the only hotel in Malaga where our clients can enjoy of a 360º view, enjoying Malaga Harbour, Cathedral, Alcazaba and Gibralfaro Castle... All of that while having a bath in our swimming pool located on our penthouse. Because of its location, the size can be of an olympic simming pool but it is highly used to have a bath while drinking a combined.
All our staff is focused on client service so they are working everyday for clients´satisfaction.
We will be pleased in having you again with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is really good, this is already the second time I stay in this hotel and it is absolutely worthy.. Although very expensive. The breakfast is excellent and the location couldn't be better. The employees hovered are not that nice like you would expect in such a hotel and in such a country, but I will come back if I will have the chance

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear clients,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.We will try to improve our high quality level service in order to offer you a nice stay in your next visit.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Greatly enjoyed an extended spring weekend in Málaga in the Marriott Palacio.
It's very close (5' walk) to the major bus stops (including airport bus), between cathedral and harbour - our room was overlooking the latter and providing stunning views. Despite of heavy traffic around it was quiet in the room when windows are shut.
The breakfast is worth booking: the small selection of cereals is compensated by a great selection of various sweets.
Staff was very friendly and reasonably knowledgeable about the city.
The opening time of the swimming pool (great views from the terrace!) between 10am and 6pm should be extended for early swimmers (as the beaches are a bit far away).

Room Tip: Book an upper room with either harbor or cathedral view (depending on preferences).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. AC Hotel Malaga Palacio offers a central location and it is really near of restaurants, shopping areas, museums, monuments, so it is ideal for discovering Malaga.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio from a Thursday to Sunday evening for a long weekend.

I booked via trivago and then contacted the hotel regarding an upgrade to a room with a balcony/view. Worth the extra money upgrading although the staff were not overly forthcoming in offering this.

We had a superior room overlooking the port- beautiful views. Room itself not quite 4 star. At first glance it looked the part but on closer inspection over the few days a few things were noticed. Balcony roof/upper walls had strange damp stains, floor was obviously patched in the room as quite bumpy and screws in strange places. No tea/coffee making facilities- although available to hire for 11 euro per day- I think for a superior room and paying the extra money this should have been free. Bed was very comfy and good wardrobe space with a cd player and free mini bar- although only 2 bottles of beer and the rest were soft drinks. TV only had 2 English channels- both news orientated, but this wasn't a problem to me. No safe in the room but in the reception area downstairs and was free of charge for us. Bathroom was gorgeous- granite bathroom, large shower with excellent pressure, brilliant toiletries, bathrobe (although only 1 when there was 2 of us was strange) and slippers. A separate bath would have been nice if I was being picky.

Level 15 is the roof top terrace and pool. Pool very small- never used as the beach only 15 mins walk away. Didn't have drinks either as felt a little intimidated by the upper class clientele- Definitely not a touristy hotel, more business people and socialising. Didn't use the hotel for food as we prefer to eat out when on a trip but appeared to be reasonably priced. Usual check out time was 12noon but hotel extended it free of charge to 1pm which was very kind and useful.

Hotel is in a great location- overlooking the port, 15 mins from the beach and right on the edge of the commercial centre/ shops/ cathedral/ cultural hot spots. Perfect for exploring.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view over the area. Pay the extra for a beach/ port view and balcony- wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our property.
Our aim is your satisfaction, so do not hesitate in coming back to the hotel and informing us about all your comments related our services and facilities, that make us better everyday and give us the best opportunity to be your reference hotel in Malaga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had stayed overnight years ago when just passing through and I thought then what a nice hotel it was and how good the staff were so when we decided on a weeks break in Malaga I chose this hotel again.
We had drama before we ever arrived in that it I got a phone call while on the bus to the hotel and it turned out I had someone elses suitcase and she had mine. Lucky I had my name and mobile number on a tag on my case otherwise it could have been a disaster. When we arrived at the hotel I explained my problem. Straight away reception were on the phone to Torremolinos where the lady with my case was and they sorted it all, brought us outside to a taxi, explained to the driver where to go and shortly afterwards we had exchanged suitcases and all was well.
Our room was very comfortable and the balcony with the sea views was lovely. We had free wifi in the room included in our rate but it was a nightmare. A seperate card was needed for each device and for each day and you had to go through the logging on process every time you wanted to use it. It worked perfectly on my partners laptop but would just not work on our iphones or my ipad. It nearly drove me crazy so I just gave up in the end. Luckily the free wifi in public areas was excellent and I used this. It's just sometimes I just wanted to sit peacefully in my room or on the balcony and use my devices.
Breakfast was also included in our rate and it was very nice and was served until 11am which was good if you wanted to lie in.
The staff were very helpful, attentive and pleasant with one exception - the rooftop bar. On more than one occasion we sat for close to an hour either to have our order taken, to be served or for the bill. It wasn't usually very busy so I felt there was no excuse for the bad service there but that was the exception in the whole hotel. Luckily we were happy using the wifi and enjoying the great views from there.
Would like - Docking stations, free tea & coffee making (there's a charge for the facility in the room), iron, DVD player.
We had a room on the 9th floor with balcony and sea view. We didn't have any problem with street noise. The air con was very quiet which is a plus.
The location is excellent and in general it was a very pleasant stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. We are proud of them and we will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was, by far, the nicest hotel of our trip. My daughter and I stayed Friday and Saturday during Semana Santa. The location was superb. From our balcony we could see and hear the religious processions. We had drinks poolside on the rooftop bar/restaurant with an incredible view. Reception was very helpful.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms get a bit too warm during the day so be sure and close the drapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are really pleased with your lovely comments our aim is your satisfaction so do not hesitate in contact us for future stays with us and we will be delighted in offering you a nice stay with us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Address: Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio By Marriott Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.