We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for business at the AC Malaga Palacio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good stay for business at the AC Malaga Palacio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Palacio before - in 2010, prior to it joining the Marriott chain. As in 2010 I had a comfortable stay. This time, I had a comfortable room on the 6th floor, overlooking the main street. It was quiet, clean, and well appointed. There was a little street noise, but nothing significant, and I slept well both nights I was there. Unlike in 2010, there was no inclusive mini-bar, but that's not a big deal. Breakfast was decent - nothing fancy, but enough to get you going. The staff were all friendly and helpful. One afternoon we ate lunch in the restaurant on the roof, and it was excellent. I really like the location of the Palacio, near the water and right in the old town. I'd definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are likely to have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. Minibar and Internet connection is free in all our superior rooms, junior suites and suites. We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel. Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    466
    131
    28
    19
See reviews for
133
481
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here one night after a Med Cruise. Used my free night certificate with Marriott. Very modern hotel just behind the Cathedral and walkable to the Castle/Fortress, Cruise Port and other major sites around Malaga. Arrived early and my room was unavailable so checked emails and the web in the lobby/bar area, where free WiFi was available, as well as a dedicated computer. Was able to check into my room around Noon and was pleasantly surprised with a King bedded modern room with a balcony overlooking the park facing the cruise port. Minibar items were complimentary which was nice. Only complaint is that WiFi is only free in the lobby area, otherwise there is a charge in the rooms. Would recommend for any length of stay in Malaga.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear client,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Our hotel offers free internet connection in superior type rooms and our library. We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us for future stays in Málaga.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at the AC for 2 nights in February on a business trip and can report this as a pleasant inoffensive location. The hotel standard rooms are comfortable if not mind blowing, floorboards to be honest we're perhaps a little cold for my liking in Feb, and maybe a rug of some sorts would have helped. Other than that all ok, lack of a kettle/ wasserkocher! in the room is par for the course in mainland Europe but still an inconvenience for this traveller. Wifi a bit challenging so I didn't bother. Hotel has a delightful terrace with lovely views of the harbour, however when I was having drinks with a few friends the service was pretty slow. View from my room was pretty atrocious, side of hotel view!

Prices were good however I was on corporate rates for a local company so perhaps getting a good deal. Breakfast was basic but acceptable - Overall recommended for a short business trip with little difficulty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we want to thank you for taking time in write a comment about our property.
We are really sorry about wifi problems, but there are problems with our internet provider that we are trying to solve.
Concerning the kettle in the room, we have some of them to lend to rooms, but you have to ask for it at the reception desk.
Related to your room views, standard rooms have a discounted rate so they don't have the same views, amenities or facilies than other room types as superior rooms, view rooms, ocean rooms, junior suites, etc..
Thank you again for your comments.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, had a room with a balcony facing the ocean which is a great view! The downside is that the main road is just outside so it's a bit noisy if you like to sleep in. The rooms and hotel is of excellent standard with helpful and attentive staff. The buffet breakfast is great, but if you find €16 a bit expensive there are plenty of alternatives nearby. The hotel is a short walk from the old town with the museums, main sights and a great nightlife. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks a lot for your lovely words related our property. AC Hotel Malaga Palacio offers rooms overlooking the harbor quieter than rooms overlooking the harbor. We have also a double glazing system that avoid any type of noise.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The outside of this hotel is not very prepossessing nor is the lobby which is dowdy and with lots of steps which make it awkward for strollers and suitcases. However the room that we occupied was excellent with a good amount of space, large window looking out over the rooftops and cathedral in the old town and a modern glass and chrome bathroom. Unfortunately the lovely flat screen television didn't deliver on the advertised 'On-demand' movies when we wanted a quiet evening in,there is only BBC news in English. We didn't have breakfast in-house as it was E15 per person but there are lots of great cafes around that do coffee, fresh bread, fresh tomato dip or whatever for E5. Loved the view from the 15th floor it is really spectacular. The air conditioning in the room was a bit over enthusiasticly warm and we had to keep opening the window to let in fresh air, we did try turning it right down. The staff at the reception desk were quite busy the Sunday we checked in and there is no concierge desk for questions which was unfortunate as the reception personnel were not familiar with local restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear client,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Related our breakfast rate , we offer different options, one of them is breakfast buffett, which has a rate of 15€+10% tax. Clients can also have a coffee or choose between the options of our room service, paying for the item you choose.
Related our Tv Menu, we try to offer a wide variety of international foreign language channels so all different nationalities could find own language channels. Related our reception staff is focussed on client service and they are pleased ion offer you different types of turist / local information so they can book a restaurant table, offer trips information, or any other useful information such as realted with flights , weather forecast or any other request made by our clients.
We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel soon so do not hesitate in contact us.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Ac hotel is part of Marriott, although you don't realize that when you stay there. Still, a nice modern hotel. The best things are the location next to the beautiful Malaga cathedral and the old town full of bars and restaurants.

The entrance has a lot of steps so difficult with the stroller but they do have a ramp and people to help. Also, no concierge desk so you have to ask questions at the front desk.

Breakfast is decent but nothing special. Only a few hot items.

Overall a clean and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear client,

We are please dto inform you the hotel offers hot menu for breakfast under your request. Related the main entrance, there is an elevator that can be used by our clients and our valet staff is 24 hours at your disposal. We will be pleased in having you again in the hotel so do not hesitate in contact us for future reservations.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Normally our chain of choice in Spain is Melia but this time their location did'nt suit us. This hotel is right next to the cathedral, right in the middle of the main shopping area & side streets full of bars & restaurants. The hotel itself is of a high standard on most levels. Parking the car was no problem, the staff park it for you, we needed a cot which was delivered to our room minutes after arrival. Carmen on the reception desk was very helpful before & during our arrival.

Also worth a mention is the roof top bar area. The views are stunning over the whole city & coastline, especially during sunset. The only negative was service was very slow even though it was'nt very busy. I would definitely stay in this hotel again. We had a room on the 10th floor which was spacious, clean & comfy.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AC_MAP, Gerente at AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guests,

We will transfer your lovely comments to our colleague Carmen. We are always pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleased in having you again in the future. Do not hesitate in contact us and we will be pleased in offering a lovely stay in Málaga.
Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott

Address: Cortina Del Muelle 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel Residencia in city center, overlooking harbor; near Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels málaga
Ac Hotel málaga
AC Hotel Malaga Palacio By Marriott Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Malaga Palacio by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.