We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very ambitious, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Guadalmar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Guadalmar to your Saves list
Tryp Guadalmar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and very ambitious, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Was lucky to stay on a business trip for our motorcycle testride days through Andalucia. In those 14 days I was amazed from the friendlyness and helpfulness of the whole staff from the maintanance guys over the reception, the kitchen, the waiters and last but not least the selling personell with those beautiful ladies. A pleasure to work with them. And overall the whole staff had always a smile for you on their lips. That always made me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your excellent rating , I will transmit your words to all my staff.

These comments encourage us to continue working daily to provide our passionate guests unforgattable experiences.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    289
    122
    59
    31
See reviews for
160
278
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and we loved it again ! the rooms are large we had one facing the beach,beds are super comfy bathrooms are large clean and well equipped, the reception area has been updated since our last stay and looks great,breakfast and evening buffet food is great fresh with lots of choice,the staff are always very happy to help and have a smile,located right on the beach in a quiet area there are 2 beach bars for a drink or some snacks,you can take the bus from just outside to the old town where there are lots of shops and nice bars etc.just love this hotel nice relaxing weekend break before travelling to cadiz we will definately return next year.thanks again tryp we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.

Your comments, are an invaluable help and a stimulus in order to achieve a higher satisfaction level for our guests.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza.
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room was clean and suited our purposes. After a whirlwind trip to Seville and Granada, we wanted to relax at the pool/beach and do some shopping. The breakfast was very good, the beach is small and if you're thinking "Florida" then unthink that- the water is chilly and the sand is brown, but there's sunshine (at least from 11am till 5 pm- mornings and evenings are chilly and cloudy). We collected pretty pebbles instead of seashells. There is a convenient bus to the downtown and another bus to a shopping mall that has Zara, H&M, etc... We also took a half day trip to Marbella (in our rented car). The hotel offers arranged trips and games/language classes/cooking lessons. Free parking and free towels, but it's a hassle to organize for both. There are two little restaurants on the beach in front of the hotel- high quality seafood but both of my chicken dishes left a lot to be desired. Our hotel faced west and while the view was lovely, it was very noisy at night with the planes flying overhead and trucks beeping in the wee hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your comments and we hope you visit us again in a future.

Your feelings is our greatest source of motivation and makes us want to improve day a day.

Thank you again and warmest regards,


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a last night treat at the end of our holiday and I booked it because it was near the airport and the description made it sound perfect. I booked a half board deal on the Tryp website which I thought was quite reasonable for what is described as a 4 star hotel with `stunning sea views from each bedroom`. Unfortunately it didn't live up to the hype!
We arrived at reception to check in, the male receptionist was on the phone speaking to someone in Spanish. There was another couple in front of us who had clearly been waiting a while by they're expressions. We stood there for 10 minutes until he finally took down the person's phone number and put down the phone - by this time there was another French couple waiting behind us. He dealt with the couple in front and then said hello - no apology, no small talk, he asked for our passports, he gave me a form to fill in and while he was putting our details on the system he started talking to the couple behind in French, he was very jolly and smiley and was all please and thank you with them. I more or less got thrown the card key and was asked if we wanted lunch or dinner as our half board option - while I was discussing this with my husband he continued to tell us the times the restaurant was open and basically talked over me. He is one of the rudest people I have ever met, how on earth he is a receptionist I don't know!!! When I booked the room online I requested a room on a high floor but you've guessed it, we were put on the second floor! The `stunning sea view` was of the roof of the restaurant and air conditioning system, we could just about see the sea to the right across the roof and outdoor swimming pool. It also state's all rooms have a balcony, our room did indeed have a balcony with 2 cheap white plastic chairs and a small table, it also had our air conditioning unit which was covered in rust and looked like it would fall apart at any minute. The bedroom was big with 2 small double beds that were comfortable, it was 28 degrees outside but we had a heavy quilt on the beds - why? The walls had clearly been painted not too long ago but the furniture was battered and the floor tiles needed regrouting. The bathroom was ancient, again the tiles needed replacing or regrouting. There were 2 long dark hairs on the floor by the bidet and 2 other small ones in it - disgusting. There had been at least 2 leaks in the ceiling of the bathroom which someone had tried to paint over and the coving was a mixture of yellow and brown stains.
The food in the restaurant was no more than average but the manager was very nice. The friendliest member of staff in the building was the barman but we only had 2 drinks because we had to be up early to catch our flight back to the UK. All the other staff we passed didn't even acknowledge us but were very friendly with all the French guests. So if you don't speak French or Spanish don't stay here! And it's not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry that your perception has been negative this time and we would like to tell you that we work everyday to get a spirit of teamwork and we transmit your comments to our Guest Experience department.

Kind regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

big room and very clean, free car parking and that's the only nice things I can say about it. 70's reject. food like something from a time warp. staff completely uninterested, setting ghastly. I really didn't think hotels like this existed any more and I am not sure they should do. Surely travelling is about more than what they are offering.

Room Tip: they are big and clean. if that's what you are looking for in a hotel 412 was the right distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear client,

We are really sorry about your apreciation about our Hotel, anyway this help us to improve in our work.

Warmest regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was in a rental property across from hotel but use the hotel establishment , like the restaurant, pool and concierge they where always friendly ,great place to be, the location 5min from airport on the paseo maritimo , and a bus station out side the property I recomend the hotel and staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Gerente at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment , I hope you will stay in our stablishment in a near future.

Regards,


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Tryp Guadalmar in Malaga is certainly an interesting place. We stayed there for five nights in September and enjoyed it. There is a sense of light and freedom about the place which is attractive. It is not formal; it is casual and yet well-fitted. The best about it is that it is almost in the sea! Our bedroom, which was high-up and with a balcony, had a huge wide view of the Med and an enormous open area over which planes took off. It was of ample size with two double beds. The other side of the hotel had a large and well-looked-after swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers on the grass.

Breakfasts were magnificent. Better that some Melias we have steyed in. Eggs newly fried, etc Bread was fresh and very tasty. We can't say much about the food as a whole; it is unfortunately an all-inclusive resort. This inevitably entails food sitting in pans for hours at a time, and it's bound to get stale. We did sample one help-yourself meal, which wasn't bad, but the chips were stale. By contrast the chips at the beach cafe a few feet away across the outer rood were crisp and freshly cooked; magnificent; as were the barbecued sardines. And we had a four-course meal at the restaurant in the road opposite the entrance on the land side which was excellent, that came with three men enthusiastically playing poker.

The French FRAM travel agents seem to have dominated this hotel and they have organised entertainments and keep-fit classes; all this has a touch of the Butline oomps-a-daisy, but it's all happy fun. and not too intrusive There are very few UK visitors here, which is a great pity because Malaga is cheap and easy to fly to. This would be a great place to bring the family and children for a week or shorter.. The beach is OK but is a bit stony. You catch a taxi from the airport, which cost us an expensive E20.

Over-all a clean, modern, 250-room, well-run hotel with much to recommend it. It has plenty of sun through the year so do not be put off going in the out-of-season. Enjoyable; very good value.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to have a balcony and a wide sea view, but you could ask for that; and high-up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Tryp Guadalmar, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I want to thank you for having chosen Tryp Guadalmar for your stay in our city.

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments.

Your comments, are an invaluable help and a stimulus in order to achieve a higher satisfaction level for our guests.

Here is looking forward to having you as our guest again and to offer you our hospitality.

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Guadalmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Guadalmar

Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Guadalmar 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tryp Guadalmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Guadalmar Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Guadalmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.