We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Guadalmar

Save Saved
You added Tryp Guadalmar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Guadalmar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 91 hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for three nights mainly to be near the beach and be able to do some sightseeing in Malaga ang Granada. The hotel is very well located near the airport and right at the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a balcony to enjoy the sea views. Everything was in good working order. The out-door swimming pool was well maintained. For an extra 10 Euros one could acess the sauna and Jacuzzi. The breakfast was very good with a large variety. However, the dinner had some variety but could have been better, with a bigger vegetarian section. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel, with bus number 10 to take you into malaga city.
All in all a good place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    222
    100
    46
    26
See reviews for
115
218
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We only stayed here because it was a less than 10 minute drive from the airport and we had an early morning flight. While its right on the beach its not a very nice beach and so I would agree with other reviewers and say be careful about location before you book. The room itself was the largest family room we have stayed in, in Europe with two double beds and a bunk bed. The beds though were really hard with my wife saying its one of the worst nights sleeps she has ever had. The room did have a great view of the ocean but I think in summer facing the west would be awful.

At the end of a long holiday we decided we couldn't face going to find a restaurant for dinner when there weren't many places around. The hotel restaurant was also not our style so we decided to order in from a pizza menu which turned out to be surprisingly good. We could have eaten in the restaurant for breakfast as it turns out we had booked and paid for a breakfast but due to language issues we didn't realise this so its worth checking.

Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here unless like us you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I orginally stayed at this hotel for a weekend at the end of May 2011 and due to flight cancellations spent a further 3 nights here.

The hotel is very nice, very clean (maids were in every morning) and the staff were very helpful.

The rooms are very big, spacious and very clean. My room as a lone traveller had 2 double beds and wide screen television.
The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice (something for everyone) and represents good value for money given that it is a buffet.

The lunch and dinner are also very good, although they were sometimes repetitive.

The location of the hotel is not great to be honest and to the centre of Malaga costs between 15 and 19 euros, which would not be ideal if you were on holiday wanting to travel to shops.

However, the hotel is virtually on the beach so for beach lovers this will be ideal.

For another business related trip, I would 100% recommend this hotel and also for short stays but I think for holidays it would be better to get a hotel nearer Malaga centre or in a nearby resort like Torremolinos.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The hotel is in a residential area that would probably be hard to find if driving yourself. It is right on the beach with two casual beach restaurants right behind. Plus, it has a really nice pool with a lot of lounge chairs. Getting towels for the pool is a little restrictive as they are hard to get once the gym is closed.

The restaurant hours are a little tough if you are with small kids as they only open for dinner at 8 pm and the only other option is taking a taxi somewhere or going to the two restaurants on the beach (which can be repetitive if you were there for lunch).

The hotel staff are nice BUT they can be a bit condescending. You can stand there for a bit before they acknowledge you and there only seems to be one person on duty.

The rooms appear nice and clean but definitely show some wear and tear. The A/C did not work initially (they did fix it), the beds have very hard mattresses that creak when you move around on them and the bathtubs could use some caulking.

The hotel is fine if you want to be near a beach and don't expect high end resort services and are OK with just hanging out at the hotel every day. Do not stay here if you want to be pampered and have everything seem to flow smoothly as things are just slightly off at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Not sure I would plan to stay here for a proper holiday but for a long weekend or a handy airport stopover which is what we used it for, its perfect. Very child friendly with large family rooms - bunk beds and two double beds in ours. All balconies overlook the sea.
A gate from the grounds of the hotel leads directly onto the beach and a really great little beach bar/restaurant - v nice to enjoy a beer at while the kids play on the beach! The food is good too - mainly grilled seafood.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed 1 night at this hotel prior to heading down to Andaluca. Our room was on the 17th floor facing the Sea. The weather was to cool to enjoy the facilities. Breakfast was great. Our 1 disappointment was dinner in the restaurant - just another buffet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Nice hotel with excellent amenities and views along the beach to Torremolinos. More than adequate breakfast and free parking.
The only thing that let the hotel down was the location.
We chose this hotel because we were arriving late at Malaga Airport and wanted somewhere close. The hotel is close, just do not try finding it in the dark! Inadequate signage and if you just stray a little you enter an industrial area that seems to double as Malagas red light district!

Room Tip: Nice hotel, just be sure of your directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Guadalmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Guadalmar

Address: Moby Dick, 2 | Urbanizacion Guadalmar, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#19 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Guadalmar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Guadalmar hotel is placed right alongside of the beach, facing the sea. Just ideal for combining business and leisure. Only 2 km from the Plaza Mayor with its leisure activities, 3 km from the airport of Málaga (Pablo Picasso) and 6 km from Malaga away. Close to various golf courses as well as the Malaga & Torremolinos Convention Centre. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect starting point for getting to know Granada, Seville, Cadiz and Cardoba ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tryp Guadalmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Guadalmar Hotel Malaga
Tryp Hotel Guadalmar
Tryp Hotel málaga
Tryp Guadalmar Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Guadalmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.