We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza 16

Plaza 16
Calle Compania 16, 29005 Malaga, Spain
+34 952 22 51 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #455 of 1,150 restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $21 - $36
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located next to the Carmen Thyssen Museum, this bar-restaurant is a must for anyone visiting the museum. Located in a beautiful old building completely renovated has kept its original facade, between Compañia Street and San Ignacio Square, where you can dine with the view of one of the most valuable monuments of the city, the Sacred Heart church
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location of Plaza16 is fabulous....unfortunately the same cannot be said of the service. The waitress was extremely rude and ignored us for a long time after serving our drinks. When she eventually took our order she was uninterested and ignored our request for additional sauces. After some time she informed us that 6 out of our 8 orders where no longer available and that only chicken was left. When the meal finally arrived it was beautifully presented but the chicken was hardly cooked...pink and bloody. When we complained no apology was offered . Needless to say we left and certainly won't return. Malaya is filled with fabulous restaurants... Plaza 16 is not one of them

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    31
    20
    9
    2
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Plaza 16 was such a great find on our holiday. We ate here 3 times whilst we were in Malaga. Great food at a very reasonable price. The waitresses were really friendly and helpful and had excellent English which was good as our Spanish is not very good! Would recommend the Cod Au Gratin. Will eat here again if we ever return to Malaga.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

There was a lovely atmosphere out side the restaurant so we took a table with a nice view of city and cathedral. The staff were very helpful and friendly because we did not speak Spanish. The waitress made some helpful suggestions - I had prawns and hake, my friend had chicken salad and a beef burger . All the food very good, beautifully cooked and presented. We would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved first visit, Disappointed 2nd visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had dinner twice at Plaza 16 during our visit to Malaga. First visit we had great food, great wine, good service. I had the chicken and it was melt in the mouth. My friends also loved the starters and their mains. The server did not speak english but we managed fine. The patio is very nice and is surrounded my beautiful old buildings including a church and a museum. The price was very reasonable. Inside is very stylish and there is also more seating upstairs.
Our second visit was not so good. The patio was very busy and maybe short staffed or unorganized. I had the same chicken dish but it did not taste the same. Our white wine was not cold and we asked for an ice bucked multiple times. We drank most of it room temperature. We didn't order a second bottle because of this. When we were finished, we said no to dessert and asked for the bill. It took 45 min and asking several times to get it. We dropped the money with the manager and left. We didn't complain but the looks on our face must have spoke volumes. As we left, she said "sorry." I would say: dine at your own risk! Maybe assess situation first.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with great outside seating area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant with good food and wine. The outside seating area is very nice and you can watch the people passing by. The furniture is need of restoration and the service is sometimes a bit slow. (although friendly)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza 16 also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Plaza 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.