We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous restaurant, beautiful decor, very pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza 16

Plaza 16
Calle Compania 16, 29005 Malaga, Spain
+34 952 22 51 23
Improve this listing
Ranked #622 of 1,239 Restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $21 - $36
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located next to the Carmen Thyssen Museum, this bar-restaurant is a must for anyone visiting the museum. Located in a beautiful old building completely renovated has kept its original facade, between Compañia Street and San Ignacio Square, where you can dine with the view of one of the most valuable monuments of the city, the Sacred Heart church
Berry NSW Australia
1 review
“Gorgeous restaurant, beautiful decor, very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the lack of clientelle put you off! It was such a lovely meal, served by warm & inviting staff that we went back a second time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    11
    5
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great food, ate there twice in the last week. Salads, currys, steaks, desserts were all delish. Service erratic but fun. Very reasonable prices. Good wines. Good beer & lovely gins ! Decor inside is beautiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donaghadee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse in Malaga Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We came across this restaurant on our first walk through Malaga old town. The decor is fabulous and it was lovely at night with all the candles lit. I was tempted to give it a 3 because the service was terrible. We are not sure what went amiss with our meal, but it took ages to come. They didn't have the wine we ordered and it took ages to get the alternative. My hubby was getting very cross as all we had to keep us going was a huge plate of tomatoes and garlic. However, the reason it got 4 stars was because the food was fabulous when it finally came!! We both ordered off the steak house menu - my husband had a lovely steak and I had a fantastic pork kebab. The garnishes were very tasty. I would recommend this restaurant, but make sure you are prepared to wait!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, exceptionally bad service and less than average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our second attempt at dining out in Malaga after having had a less than satisfactory first attempt at Cafe Bar Cheers. (See separate review) The location of this restaurant is stunning with a beautiful church right next door. It took approximately 25 minutes before the waiter came to take our order. We ordered fillet steak which then took approximately 50 minutes more to arrive. When the steak arrived, although well presented it tasted very bland. It was also very tough and dry. The vegetables and salad were nice but we left most of the steak.

When we finally managed to get the bill it took a further 15 minutes to actually get the waitress to swipe the credit card. I just couldn't understand why the staff seemed so unwilling to actually serve our table. It was some of the worst service I've come across in quite a while. The total cost for one meal shared, a glass of wine and a coke was 27.5 euros. We didn't leave a tip and won't be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walk442truth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“perfecto meal with a Renaissance touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

found by accidents via walking the streets but I really believe this should have a direction sign pointing to it. The renaissance art deco detail in which the owners have taken to this premises is outstanding as you enjoy a candle lit romantic meal. Service from Resena the waiter is abit hap hazzard but adds charm to your entertainment of the night. This restaurant boosted a very good balanced menu to suit all tastes especially if your order was steak or from their burger range.
For the paid 50 Euro we had recieved 2 starter drinks 2 main courses 2 desserts 2 coffees.
PS: Please do miss this place for lunch either

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza 16 also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Plaza 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza 16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.