We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga to your Saves list
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle San Telmo 14, 29008 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed just two nights, but it was very good. The rooms are big and with clean nice bathrooms. In our room we even had a balcony. The staff is very friendly and there is enough place to relax in the hostel. On the roof there is a terrasse were you can meet others. It is a very good, well located and clean hostel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    55
    19
    8
    14
See reviews for
3
9
84
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed at this hostel for a week with my friends. Despite it being a slightly tricky hostel to find it was a really good stay. The rooms were all a good size, cleaned daily, large individual lockers and for once the hostel bunkbeds were very sturdy and comfortable!
Every evening there was a pub crawl and a 5 euro dinner on the rooftop which was lovely. All the staff were very friendly and we had a great time.
A few mishaps such as angry neighbours and a cranky roommate but overall a great experience. If I'm back in Malaga I'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: If you want a good siesta ask for a room at the back of the hostel (away from the stairs) as the met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I would absolutely stay here again! Also, take the walking tour......Katherine from Poncho Tours picks us up at the hostel. Very knowledgeable and informative. Definitely worth the tip you may give her!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Oasis Malaga is in a pretty amazing location, right in the historic centre, it doesn't get much better. It's a bit of a wander from the bus/train station, but worth it i'd say. The staff n people at the hostel were cool, although it's quite a big and clean hostel so maybe doesn't 'quite' have that fully intimate feeling some do.

I really enjoyed the Free Walking Tour and hope they keep it up!! Really interesting and a good way to target your exploring of the city.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juchen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

the best hostel ever visited. good location, nice people, friendly staff, good programm (pub crawl tour, free walk tour)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Tricky to find, but...

They welcome you with a drink on the house.

They offer a variety of room sizes to choose from at different rates.

Impeccably clean! New mattresses and clean, crisp white bed sheets. They provide a key card to enter the building which also works to enter your room. Each room has lockers to put away your belongings. I felt very safe here!

Excellent internet service. Wi-fi and access to computers.

They offer dinner for 5 euros, which is great! Perfect time to meet people who are looking for something to do.

Great place to find people to travel with and make friends.

I wish I knew about this place sooner and I wish I had more days to spend there.

Room Tip: For this hostel, getting the cheapest room with the most amount of people is totally ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Service was brusque but efficient, not super welcoming but helpful.

The room (10 bed dorm) was clean, very large, with a clean, modern bathroom and comfortable bedding. When I stayed it was half empty. However, it also faced onto a street (anyone who's every stayed in Spain knows this is a terrible thing, the Spanish are a very loud race and street noise continues until very late at night) and it being summer it was necessary to leave the windows open for temperature control. There was also terrible noise isolation within the hostel, so I could hear conversations in the corridor outside like they were shouting in my ear. For the record, I was using earplugs.

I don't know much about the location for touristing because I was just there overnight before an early plane. It's not close to the bus station, though, and because Malaga is currently undergoing some pretty major roadworks it's difficult to navigate there, I ended up just taking a cab because the directions they gave didn't take roadworks into account.

Overall, probably a great place if you're in Malaga for more than one night and are there to make friends etc, Oasis are always good party hostels. Probably not the best for my purposes, but it was clean and cheap and the service is good.

Room Tip: Street view rooms are SUPER noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga

Address: Calle San Telmo 14, 29008 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most "party" hostel in Malaga. We have a saying at Oasis Backpacker's Hostel in Malaga, " If you can't meet anyone here, you can't meet anyone anywhere!" or maybe that was "Why do my socks smell like tequila?" Either way, cheap drinks, two bars, and endless activities keep travellers mingling all night long. In Malaga we want everyone to join in the fun. Whether we're spending the day basking in the warm Andalusian sun at one of Malaga's many beaches (yes even in the winter), sipping cocktails while looking out over the skyline on our rooftop bar or stumbling through the historic center after one of our famous nights out, you will be welcomed into the family...Oasis Style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Malaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.