We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Malaga Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Malaga Centro to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain (Perchel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Break Suite Novotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent in everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is perfect, close to the city centre, but not the busiest part of the town, the traffic is not that disturbing. The staff is nice, helpful, they speak several languages, and they helped us to plan our jurney, giving us advice what is worth looking at in Malaga, and other parts of Spain.
The room offers several free movies that I rarely experience in other hotels (and I travel a lot)
The layout is a bit funny, as the toilet is the other end of the room as the bathroom, but apart from that excellent rating in everything. The bathroom is well equipped, satisfying every needs, the bed is amazingly comfortable, we had a memorable 5day holiday there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Front Office Manager at Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear CS-0727,

Thank you very much for your positive coment!

We hope to see you soon in our hotel !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    329
    57
    17
    3
See reviews for
183
384
38
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and always ready to help you. We were able to check in early which I really appreciated as I was feeling a bit sick. The room is new, spacious, clean and comfortable. Normally I don't really care for the TV but I needed to rest/ stay in the room more so the on-demand TV system was nice. It was great to just relax in the room. The wifi in the room was good. There is also a computer and printer in the lounge area that you can use for free. I liked the kitchenette which had a microwave,kettle and an empty mini fridge. Very handy for drinks and snacks. The bathroom is nice and spacious. I agree with previous reviewers that it would be nice to have some handles in the shower and bath to hold on to. It can be a bit slippery. The room was a bit hot even though the heater wasn't on. Luckily we could open the window a bit. The room isn't soundproofed as we could hear the noise outside, but it wasn't really a problem for us. It was a light traffic noise. They had set up the sofa as a third bed even though there was only the 2 of us. This might be one of the few places where the third bed is actually like a real bed. We were just lounging on it but it would also make a comfy bed.

The location of this hotel is great. Close to a department store and the shopping area is a short 10 minute walk. We were able to walk to all the main sights from here. When you cross the bridge you will see the supermarket Super Sol (5 min walk) and walk another minute you are at the Atarazanas market. Both are great for snacks and drinks.
We arrived from the bus terminal and walked to the hotel in 10-15 minutes. We had to ask for directions, but it was quite easy to find. If they don't know the hotel you can ask for the department store Corte Ingles. When you are at Corte Ingles you will see Ibis budget hotel. Walk in that street. Novotel is in the same building and the entrance is at the back.
We left by train to the airport. It was easy, cheap and convenient. The station is called Malaga Alemada. It isn't really signposted so ask at the reception on how to find it. It's a 5 minute walk. If you arrive at this station when you come out you will see NH Malaga hotel. Walk towards that hotel and you will see Novotel behind it.

Overall we had a good stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Front Office Manager at Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear yogi1919,

Thank you very much for your coment!

We are hoping to see you back in our hotel for a new stay in Málaga.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was nice to have all tourist areas within a walking distance. Though it is probably a bit more than one km away, we also enjoyed to take a walk to the city beach.
Currently there is a huge construction work with blocks/diversions in main roads nearby. Ask bus drivers or locals of appropriate way if you walk from/to bus terminal or local bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Front Office Manager at Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear StopTB59,

Thank you very much for your coment!

We are glad to see that you had a great time here in Málaga and hope to see you soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

So we are sitting in our suite right now at 915pm on 31st January 2013 frustrated, angry and tired.

We checked in at 2pm to a suite that actually suits us really well. We haven't found anything in the specification of the room that caused us an issue until we went to put the air conditioning on as advertised as a facility in the hotel.

The weather is warm this week, 19 C today and 21 C for the rest of the week.

So the excuse we have now been told 6 times is that the hotel has either heating or air con, not both. The system was turned over to heat so no air con can be provided.

When do they tell you this? After you have paid and arrived!

Were they happy to provide a solution? Not really. After 7 hours and numerous excuses including that from the manager Sergio, we are still waiting to have this sorted and cannot even relax as the street noise from the town square side of the hotel will stop us from hearing the TV or sleeping.

So that's days 1 of our 4 day trip ruined. Who knows whether we will sleep tomorrow as the temperature gets higher.

Thanks Novotel suites for not much of a response and to Sergio for going home without updating us or ensuring this would be resolved as promised.

Shame...

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is well placed 10 minutes from the old town. The staff are friendly helpful and efficient, speaking English and very patient with my limited Spanish. The suite was sparkling clean and kept that way throughout our stay. Therey was everything needed and we had a very good deal for our 8 night stay. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Front Office Manager at Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear wshUnitedKingdom ,

Thank you for your coment!

We hope we will see you again in our hotel !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastke upon tyne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We ve just had 2 nights here. Got a prebooked special deal via booking.com. Presume jan specials but believe there are offers throughout the year bar summer school hols. Location could not be better for a city break. The train direct from the airport stops within a 5 min walking distance. Get off at the very last stop. Malaga centro alameda I think. Train terminates here. About 1.70 euro single . Hotel is nearby, superb base for the old town.

We had a suite. Very clean modern and with a fridge, microwave, kettle etc tho bar card cups there are no plates etc. however, they sell meals if you get stuck etc downstairs. Handy still for families or putting in your vino o cava! Staff helpful in hotel too.

Our only relatively minor gripe was it was too hot overnight as the heating came on. We were roasting. We asked at reception in case of any technical issue. Air con is not available in the winter. We slept the second night with the heating off and both windows open so then the city noise awoke us early. That was preferable to the overwhelming heat. However I d definitely go back and thought it was a great place for the money and location and ease of city break transfer, our suite had an extra bed and for u. 16 s is free. Again pretty good. The area never felt dodgy and in fact nowhere did. Different feel to some cities. Could recommend wholeheartedly.


We ate out the whole time finding Malaga much cheaper than England. Tried the tapeo de Cervantes and la plaza restaurZnt in the Merced plaza. Both excellent value. We loved the city and were pleasantly surprised by in January at least, a very charming and untouristy city, especially given it s location on the developed costa del sol. This was also a change from seeing Barcelona and I did enjoy and would like to return to see more of rhe museums etc. We had just 48 hours. The local market is close by and had gorgeous, fresh fresh food and no obvious horse burgers! Bar los pueblos outside is local and cheap. All the shops are shut sundays so be aware if you do want to shop and are limited in time. There are other things open incl the alcazaba, free sun 1400 to 1930. The weather was a bonus at 22, having left the uk in - 2! An underrated city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUITENOVOTEL, Front Office Manager at Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear LouiseB

Thank you very much for your coment!

It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you during your stay in Málaga!
We do apologize for the AC inconvenience and are making our best to avoid this problem in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Malaga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Malaga Centro

Address: Calle San Jacinto 7, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Malaga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Malaga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Hotel Malaga
Suite Novotel Malaga Centro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Malaga Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.