We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorenzo Trattoria

Lorenzo Trattoria
Plaza de la Merced 5, Malaga, Spain (Centro)
952 22 91 96
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 1,152 restaurants in Malaga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very good pasta and excellent service. Very helpful and friendly waiter. Reasonable prices. Highly recommended.. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    27
    22
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
386 helpful votes 386 helpful votes
“Good Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently visited Lorenzo Trattoria after looking around for a good Italian restaurant. It is located on Plaza de la Merced and were quite surprised when entering to find it relatively quiet even though it was Halloween night in Spain.
We chose a table and there are some excellent old pictures on the wall too.
We were quite hungry so we started with a couple of portions of Bruschetta al Pomodoro before ordering a starter and a main course. The Bruschetta was delicious with lots of chopped tomato.
For a starter we chose Funghi Gratinati and Gamberoni al Pomodoro. Again these dishes were both very good although the Prawns were like a main course so I only managed half of them. They were fresh and very succulent though.
For the main, we chose Maccheroni con Pollo and Sorrento Pizza. The pizza was very good and we found the only let down was that the pasta was maybe a little dry - although it still tasted good.
We also had a couple of bottles of Cruzcampo each with our meal and the bill was very reasonable at less than €50. We found the owner and waitress both friendly with the owner offering to take a picture of us both too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had dinner here with some friends a couple of days ago, and we were stunned by the bad and even rude service. The waitress clearly mixed up the orders: we got our starters and the main courses all at once, and even then there were some mistakes. When one of my mates made clear that we expected the starters first, and the main courses only after we had finished the starters, the waitress just kept ignoring us. She didn't even take the time to listen to our complaints as we were also dissatisfied with the fact that we didn't get everything we had ordered. Obviously we didn't bother about desserts. When receiving the bill we noticed they charged us one pizza too many (actually, we did order this pizza, but it never reached our table). The waitress, however, was unwilling to believe this, and got even ruder. Need I say we only paid for the food we really got, and we didn't leave a tip? Oh, and the food ... Well, not bad but not great either. The pizzas were fine, the salads were okay, the pastas were nice but rather on the small side, the meat dishes were of poor quality. My guess is that none of us will ever return to this place, although all of us are huge Fawlty Towers fans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I'm really surprised to read some of the negative reviews about this place - we were here just a few days ago and totally enjoyed it; the food and the service were both excellent. We ate early one afternoon and went for the medio menu - two courses for 5.95. For the main course we had a Pizza and Berenjenas, and we each had a (large) portion of Profiteroles for afters. I really couldn't fault it; the food was great, and we each had a glass of house wine. If we'd been in Malaga longer we would certainly have gone back. Good atmosphere, lovely décor and excellent value for money!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Im here now. just finished the worst italian meal ive had but the staff dont want to know. rubbish. if this is italian im don the godfather. nice place crap food.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorenzo Trattoria also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Lorenzo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorenzo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.