We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location excellent service!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garum

Garum
Calle alcazabilla n0, 1, 29015 Malaga, Spain
952 218 408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,146 restaurants in Malaga
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ¿ Qué es Garum Casual Rest ?Si “casualmente” te encontraras en el centro de la historia de Málaga; entre la Alcazaba, el Teatro Romano, el museo Picasso, la Aduana y la Catedral y además pudieras disfrutar de sus vistas tomando una copa o compartiendo algunos platos con tus amigos, Garum es tu lugar por descubrir. Te espera la historia, te esperamos en casa.
2 reviews
“Great food, great location excellent service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice at this particular restaurant during our stay in Malaga, both for lunch and an evening meal. On both occasions the staff were an absolute delight, providing attentive service and willing to indulge and help our poor Spanish skills! The food was extremely tasty as we sampled various tapas dishes! We would certainly recommend this as a place to dine and enjoy the historic views.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    53
    29
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Historic location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This bar/restaurant has a great location just opposite the Alcazaba and near the Picasso museum. There are tables outside where you can sit and watch the world go by and take a break from the rigours of sightseeing in this delightful city.
We stopped off here for drinks on a Sunday morning in March after visiting the Alcazaba (highly recommended). The place was busy with locals and tourists but we were lucky enough to find a vacant table in a prime spot.
The waitress took our order and brought our drinks and complimentary nibbles within a few minutes of our arrival. We hadn't planned to eat here but we were so comfortable we decided to try the tapas taster platter, 9 euros for the two of us. This consisted of about five different dishes - all good.
This restaurant is worth visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top class food and service at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant in a glorious setting. We visited on a dull February afternoon, but were totally cheered up by tasty food and excellent service. What you would expect from a top end restaurant, pre meal olives, nuts and delicious bread and excellent service, at a very reasonable price. Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A fabulous lunch in the autumnal sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Three of us were in Malaga for the day and we called in to Garum by chance, as we were passing. We chose well. We had a couple of jugs of Sangria and Tapas plates which were all delicious. The restaurant is in a great location and we were able to enjoy the warm November sunshine - two days later we were in a cold, wet and miserable UK but with great memories of Garum. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This great little tapas bar/restaurant is perfectly placed for a visit to the Picasso museum, Malaga Cathedral or the Ancient Arab fort. The tapas looked great but we just had coffees and the most amazing homemade ice cream. We think it was flavored with- almonds, pistachio, cardamom and rosemary flowers. It was delicious, beautifully presented and not expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garum also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Garum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.