We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad ending to my parador experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro to your Saves list
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Malaga
Rolling Hills Estates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bad ending to my parador experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After 2 weeks in a wet and cold Andalucia, and having spent 000 s of euros at paradors, my last experience was haggling over 20 euros at 4 in the morning as we left for an early flight. On check in I'd been promised a credit towards dinner to make up for the fact that we weren't going to be able to enjoy our prepaid breakfast, but somehow the message hadn't made it to the bill.
On the other hand, our room was fine, with a great view into the bull ring, but location is a bit of a problem. You really don't want to park in Malaga and it's a bit of a trek down (and then UP) the direct path . And in the rain that slate path can be treacherous.
Food in the restaurant is not great. There's buffet for both appetizers and desserts and nothing memorable in either. Main courses are limited and cooked to order, and I had to send back my very rare veal escalope, which meant my husband and I ate in shifts. I think all the paradors we stayed at could step up on the culinary side.
Also, not sure about the sheet metal headboards. Who thought they were a good idea?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    168
    69
    29
    14
See reviews for
54
252
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our friends had a room on the third floor with fabulous views. We had a room on the first floor with a view of the service entrance, no wi-fi-signal, and next to the elevator. I would only stay here if you could get a guarantee for a third or fourth floor room. Otherwise, not worth being away from the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stabekk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This parador have a marvellous view. But instead of staying in a hotel with cockroaches and bad service, it is better to take the afternoon tea, coffee or beer at the terrace, overlooking the city of Malaga and return back to a hotel with a good service after the tea.
We stayed at the parador for three nights. But already when we checked in, we discovered slow and bad service. It took us 25 minutes to check in, from waiting to be helped, to a lot of papers to fill in. We asked if it was possible to reserve a table in the restaurant for dinner the day after, since we were quite a lot of family members who wanted to sit together for celebrating a birthday. But no, they did not have that kind of service at the parador, we were told. After some discussion with the staff, they finally agreed to reserve a table for us.
Since we had booked rooms through www.booking.com, we got rooms downstairs. Small rooms with no view. But worse, there was no wi-if in the rooms either. We tried to talk to the staff at the front desk, but nothing happend.
Every afternoon are the terrace filled with Spanish families, having their vine or tea overlooking the beautiful city, leaving no space for hotel guest with no view from their room to see Malaga from the top. So why paying to stay here, when you are not able to see the view?
At day two, there were three big cockroaches in one of the rooms. The management moved the guest to an other room. But we did not expect cockroaches in a four stars hotel.
The breakfast are pricy, but very good. But we would not recommend dinner at the Parador. The vine list are excellent, but the food is not worth it. Dinner cost 30 €. Starters and desserts are served as a buffet, and main course are from the grill. The food is tasteless. For the same price you can have a excellent meal downtown. Which we had the other two days.
We had a lovely visit in Malaga, despite of the Parador.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in third floor. The you will have both view and wi-if.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not my favourite Parador but the location overlooking the historic city of Malaga is second to none. Clear views of the port and bullring with the castle and alacazaba in the background. Usual 4* Parador standards inside and a beautiful terrace that I would recommend at almost any time of year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a terrific location !
Sadly the accommodation was basic and tired and so was the service.
We booked in for the special Valentines night dinner and had an OK but expensive set meal in a brightly lit dining room. No flowers , no colour , tiny table candles, and no romantic music until we were about to leave. I think they forgot to turn the sound system on.
The dining room staff were OK , but other staff seemed disinterested and not that helpful. Perhaps the financial troubles besetting this state owned chain is impacting the morale of staff.

We were very disappointed and glad to check out next day after one final look at the great view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location and view from the terrace was exceptional. Evening meal in restaurant was good but service was not very welcoming. Not sure where breakfast was served. No AC only very noisy central heating, therefore quite an uncomfortable night's sleep

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandogo, pembs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Super location that gives magnificent views over the old city and port.
Breakfasts are plentiful and excellent quality; the coffee's good too. The room was very good, and the rooftop terrace a bonus. Good strengthwifi throughout. The dinner was slightly disappointing; an incorrectly translated English menu meant we ended up with a Dessert one of us couldn't eat due to allergy. We would have been better off with the Spanish menu.
Nice walk down into town.
All in all a great 3 night break - think 3 nights is max for Malaga!

Room Tip: 4th floor facing port
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 86 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Parador de Malaga Golf
#21 of 86 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#1 of 86 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#6 of 86 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.