We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro to your Saves list
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Beautiful room, superb view - worth coming back regularly. Breakfast was very good and staff very pleasant. A little difficult to get to without a car or taxi, but taxis into the city centre are not expensive. Malaga is a great centre for shopping( unfortunately! ) and the tapas bars are outstanding. The port is active and loads to watch from the Hotel balcony of each room. You also have a great view of the bullring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    147
    60
    23
    14
See reviews for
49
212
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very comfortable accommodation, if not cutting edge. I know you could walk,bus or taxi up to the hotel to enjoy a drink at the bar and take in the view BUT it's not the same as sitting on your own private terrace with a glass and enjoying the view as the sun goes down or indeed comes up... Or having breakfast on the terrace. The walk down to town is steep but I like walking, even walked back up which wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be... Reception staff helpful and friendly. A bit disappointed with the 'menu degustation" in the restaurant - really not up to scratch. Also restaurant staff a bit dour. Having said all that, would still stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Although less impressive in style than the previous Parador we stayed in (Carmona), our room overlooked the harbour, the bullfight arena, the Gibralfora Alcazar and a nice part of town.
There's a footpath going down the Gibralfaro mountain to the city center (appr. 15 minutes) but going back up after a long day of shopping and sightseeing in Malaga can be quite strenuous!
Our room (top floor, under the roof) was not so big (compared to Carmona), it had a nice balcony and the breakfast and dinner were up to expectations.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (under the roof), they migth be smaller, but you're sure to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for two night in October after a lovely week down the coast at San Pedro De Alcantara. Have actually stayed here before so knew what to expect. Its a lovely hotel with friendly efficient reception staff. Our room was very large, beautiful, having been decorated and a large lovely bathroom. Very very nice. Balcony with table and chairs and a great view. Beautfull decor and very comfy beds (large twins together). Flat screen TV but only the usual BBC World News. Bathroom was glorious with particularly nice shampoos, lotions etc (lovely smell). Whoever chose them knows what they're doing! The roof terrace is small but perfect for a cool down in the pool and a relax after a hot day exploring the wonderful city, gardens, port and beaches of Malaga. No problems getting a sunbed each afternoon we were there. The breakfast was good and varied and lovely eating out on the terrace. All the views from the Parador are nothing short of spectacular. Please keep in mind though that once you are up at the Parador its a long steep walk down (and back up again!) so if your not able and fit you have to drive or get a taxi. Having said that there can be no better place to sit with a drink watching the sunset over this beautiful city that is so often ignored by holidaymakers on their way down the coast to the resorts. The only negative was that often the terrace bar seats were taken up by day visitors and locals and hotel guests including ourselves found it difficult to find somewhere to sit in the evening. In the hotel lounge there were sofa's etc reserved for hotel guests and maybe this is something that should be considered on the terrace. Also, the bar service was slow and we waited a long time to get a drink and a snack one evening. However, don't let this put you off. This Parador is a great place to stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk res
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a location! The rooms are typical of a Parador, that is adequately but not imaginatively finished. I think all the rooms have fantastic views over Malaga town.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff most helpful.
The only problem that might confront some is the out-of-town situation, but a taxi into Malaga centre is about 7-8 euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September for a birthday treat and we were really looking forward to staying at this Parador. Unfortunately we got the feeling that we should be "honoured" to be staying there, and that the hotel is more geared up to the business sector rather than the "passing through" tourist. The service and the staff were lacking and indifferent to say the least. The only redeeming factors were the views which looked out over Malaga. The hotel is a bit isolated, and I would say that a car is definitely needed unless you want to spend loads of money on taxis. We will not be re-visiting. Tea/coffee making facilities would have made a difference as would a front of house who was more "personable" and the least bit interested as to whether you enjoyed your stay or not!

Room Tip: A sea view would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent a lovely last night of our Spanish holiday at the Parador in Malaga. You really do feel on top of the world with the whole of the city spread out below you. Unlike other reviewers, we found the staff very friendly and twice were offered a drink on the house for no particular reason. We are fortunate enough to speak good Spanish which helps I suppose. Liked our room with its small terrace. The food in the restaurant was a bit disappointing - mangos were obviously in good supply and were found (sometimes rather surprisingly) in almost all the dishes we had, plus a rather frightening 'jam-like' cloying sweet sauce with both fish dishes we ordered. But the fish itself was well cooked, the meal wasn't expensive (€33 for 3 course menu) and we were recommended very good (and very good value) wine. Finished off listening to music in the bar performed by a somewhat portly but passionate Spanish tenor .. Granada, Moon River, Feelings, etc Cliched but a lot of fun! I would definately stay at the Parador again if we were spending a night in Malaga.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#24 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.