We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Save Saved
You added Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 91 hotels in Malaga
Lymington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had high expectations as this was our first Parador experience. Initial impressions: fabulous views over city and harbour; warm welcome, friendly staff. However the building (exterior and interior) is nothing special - none of the historic interest and charm we'd been expecting. The decor in public areas and in our room was downmarket and shabby. The room was comfortable, but gave onto a service access passage, so we had trolleys and delivery noises in the evening and again in the early hours. Dinner: food was good, service prompt and courteous. We would agree with Seashore reviewer: stay downtown, and just come up here for a drink and the view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    108
    44
    22
    8
See reviews for
40
164
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I travelled end April to South of Spain, Malaga for our honeymoon. My husband booked Parador. It is undoubtedly the best location in spain. Tourist buses make a stop to the hotel to show tourist the view from here. It is right next to the only historic monument in Malaga - Castle of Gibralfaro!!

Room Tip: >> Take a room on the 3rd floor. Only because since there are so many tourist that come to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The view from this hotel was fabulous. The hotel rooms were comfortable. They had great food and everyone was pleasant. What a relaxing place to stay! We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor but we still had a view. I would imagine higher floors would have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I were really looking forward to our 2 night stay here as had never stayed in a Spanish Parador before. On arrival, the location is stunning, amazing views across Malaga town and the harbour and the building from the outside and reception has charm, check in was smooth and very friendly receptionist. We were given a room on the top floor which I was most excited about as had read they were the best, however on entering the room it was extremely disappointing, very very dark and dingy and the interior very shabby and dated and lots of holes in the bedsheets! It was also very dusty and I actually found it harder to breath.
If you stay here you'll need earplugs to block out the noise from neighbouring flushing of toilets in the night,so loud...the plumbing needs seriously looking into.
We'd booked a full board package as the reviews we read regarding the restaurant were good. Well what can I say...AWFUL. The food was very poor, flavourless, probably the worst meal I have eaten in a long time, my main course was cold and when asked it took them 15 mins to heat it up by then my husbands main course was stone cold, and no apology! we even saw one of the waiters emptying the uneaten bread from various tables back into the baskets ready to hand to the next table!! it was so bad both my husband and I opted to take the hit and head into town the second evening, we ended up having a fabulous meal in the new harbour area, definitely an area to check out.
This hotel is a 3 star at best and very expensive for what it is. My advice...stay in an alternative hotel in town and just head here for an afternoon drink to admire the views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I am a fan of the Spanish Paradors, and this one lived up to my expectations.

The view from the parador, and all of the rooms, is stunning, but the downside of this is that it is situated high on a hill on the outskirts of town, so you have to be fit or prepared to pay about 8-10 euros per trip by taxi to get to and from the town centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was the 3rd of our stays in Paradors this trip, the other ones being Arcos & Ronda. Whilst they were steaped in history this one from the outside looked more modern. Although the inside was a similar style to the Ronda one. We chose this one due to the views over the bay which were magnificant and we were not disappointed, particularly at night time. One particular view is the bull ring and when we arrived many of the matadors etc. were practicing which we clearly saw from the terrace.

The restaurant is positioned on the second floor and took full advantage of the view. We had evening meals in each of the 3 paradors and the menu here was the best of them all. Good choice of breakfast as well.

There is nothing around the parador in terms of restaurants and things to do and it is too far to walk down to the harbour and town of Malaga. So be prepared to use your car or a taxi to get down to the "sights".

Worth a trip is the new harbour immediately below the parador where there are some fantastic restaurants with good views of the boats etc.

Room Tip: Be prepared to prebook tables by window for evening meals as they are extremely popular with guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We arrived from Granada, already spoiled with beautiful views from Alhambra. This place is placed above the city of Malaga, about 100 m above, and the harbor area is just below you. We asked for a superior room, from where the view from the balcony (embedded in the roof) over the harbor is spectacular - especially to see the vessels coming in and cruise boats leaving. The kitchen has on the list "local, hearty stuff" menues, especially the stew with sea food and rice we liked very much. Most of the white wine is local, the red is from the North, and the cava naturally from the Northeast.

Perhaps the hotel staff was a bit slow during check-in, but they were very helpful in finding one of our bags which we forgot taking with us at another Parador hotel, in Ronda - which gave reason to go back to this remarkable place!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior rooms. It costs a bit more, but it is worth it. I think they are on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro

Address: Castillo de Gibralfaro s/n, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#19 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Hotel Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro málaga
Parador Malaga
Parador De Malaga Gibralfaro Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Malaga Gibralfaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.