We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent menu del dia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla

El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla
Pozo del Rey, 5 y calle Alcazabilla | Old Town, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
+34 952 21 48 58
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 1,375 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“excellent menu del dia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came here for lunch after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I am glad we did. We had the menu of the day which was 7.50 euros and was really tasty. You had a choice of 2 soups lentil or cream of potatoe I had the lentil which was lovely and my husband had the potatoe which he said was lovely, it was served with home made warm bread which was also very good. We then had vegetable paellea and 2 tortillas and a side salad and then yougurt. everything was tasty and wholesome. Great for vegetarians which my husband is and also for meat eaters myself!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice vegetarian restaurant but menu a little uninspiring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely location. Service very friendly. Food not too exciting but Ok. Carrot, raisin and cinnamon croquettes are delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food, vegan and vegetarian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I went to this restaurant after the half marathon. They have all kinds of vegan and vegetarian food. Not so charming, nor embellished, simple dishes but they're healthy; and the "tapas" they served in the beginning were very yummy! Hmmm! Their homemade bread was still hot, and delicious! I had seitan burger with baked vegetables (ñam ñam), everything was yummy, healthy and suitable for non-meat eaters :D It's in the center of the city!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Port in a storm for veggies in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I really, really enjoyed my meal at El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla. It is quite hard to find decent vegetarian food in Spain, but the dishes served up here would not be out of place in any wholefoods restaurant in any country.

My friend and I both had the menú del día at €7.50 which was great value but perhaps could have included a drink.

The soup starters (lentil or pumpkin) were unbelievably tasty. I have thought about the pumpkin one on several occasions since, and wondered how they made it so nice. The main meal - pasta with tomatoes/capers, leek tart and salad, served on a plate alongside the soup - was balanced, healthy and flavoursome.

Desert was yoghurt with summer fruits OR a tea/coffee.

The setting is lovely and relaxed.

As a vegetarian living in Spain, I'll be going back here every time I go to Malaga.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Welcome vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After a few days eating meat and fish in Malaga El Vegetariano made a welcome change. The staff were as helpful as they could be without speaking English and advised us on popular dishes. We shared a tasty salad starter, followed by a pasta trio. We shared a pancake dessert and with two glasses of wine and coffee, the total was 34 Euros for two. The main course could have been a little hotter, but the service was good, the atmosphere relaxed, and I would recommend this restaurant to both meat eaters and vegetarians. There are vegan dishes too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.