We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian surprise in Malaga city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla

El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla
Pozo del Rey, 5 y calle Alcazabilla | Old Town, 29015 Malaga, Spain (Centro)
+34 952 21 48 58
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 1,230 Restaurants in Malaga
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian surprise in Malaga city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great vegetarian restaurant in the centre of Malaga. The food was delicious, varied and filling. We both had yummy pastry turnovers – spinach, and tomato/basil/feta. It was nice to swap with a friend, meaning you didn’t overload on your own filling. Each dish was three pastries, and a mix of three sides, which were delicious too. They do a good range of drinks too.

The menu is in a few languages, including English; and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food near the Alcazaba!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I had a dinner in this restaurant that is located in the center, in a small street near the Alcazaba. We are not vegetarian but all the plates we had were delicious and we didn't miss meat at all!!! We shared 3 plates: Cous cous, Mousaca vegetariana (so good!) and Paella vegetariana. Then we shared 1 dessert (Kefir con fruta) that was amazing! That was enough for us.
The price was really great as well. You can check the menu at
"http://www.vegetariano-alcazabilla.spanish-menu.com" you find the link just below the address.
The service was nice too. I will definitely recommend it!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We are not vegetarians but we like good vegetarian food. This little restaurant in convenient location in central Malaga serves variety of vegetarian meals. Everything we had was tasty. The service was adequate, but not exactly homely.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good specialist veggie restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Ate here a few nights ago with 2 friends, one of them a strict veggie. There was plenty of choice for all of us, I'd really recommend the pasties with a saucy sweetcorn filling. It came with 3 side dishes - brown rice with fried onion through it, a wee bowl of vegetables in a korma sauce, and a slice of carrot cake (a savoury one, not the sweet kind!). The menu is huge and caters for gluten-free and vegan diets too. Would recommend if you fancy "proper" vegetarian food, rather than just your average veggie-burger!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the best veggie restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

There's just so much choice!!! And it's all so good! My (meat eating) partner and I had a meal where you choose the main and get 3 sides for about 10 euros-which we thought was a bit expensive but the quality and amount of food made us think it was a bargain! We were both really full afterwards. The food was gorgeous-said meat eating partner wanted to go back! The restaurant was cute with pretty plates and lovely decor. Mostly full of tourists for lunch-it is in the Lonely Planet guide-but seriously the food is too amazing to let this put you off. It's very central, down a side street, and wasn't too busy when we went at about 2pm. Try the spinach turnover!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vegetariano de la Alcazabilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.