We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner gave us a fasinating tour of his museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Glass and Crystal

Museum of Glass and Crystal
Plazuela Santisimo Cristo de la Sangre, 2 | Frente a la Iglesia San Felipe Neri, 29012 Malaga, Spain
+34 952 22 02 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 174 things to do in Malaga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum is located in a crefully restored 18th century house, where we can browse through the history of humanity by means of the glass. Opening hours: Tuesday to Sunday, from 11am to 7pm. Closed on Mondays, Christmas Day and New Year's Day and for the whole of the month of August.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The owner gave us a fasinating tour of his museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at 2 PM and was told that the next tour starts in half an hour. We rested a bit at their reception area and then was treated to a wonderful visit through all key exhibits by the owner of the museum. He was enthusiastic and passionate about his collection and gave life to the various unique pieces throughout the museum. The collection is eclectic and extraordinary and it was housed in a wonderful bright large historic home. It is a bit out of the way but well worth a visit. He even encouraged us to look into collecting glass and crystal pieces as an hobby.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    88
    9
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, excellent and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been meaning to visit this museum for the last 2 years and finally we did and I am really pleased that we eventually did. You are shown around by one of the owners and his knowledge of glass is excellent, but this is not just a glass museum, it is owned by three people and it is also their home. There are lots of interesting pieces of furniture and art work and china as well as the excellent stained glass windows and the collection of glass work. The house has been beautifully restored by the owners and it is worth the visit for the house alone. It is one of the best museums we have visited and a must if you are in Malaga.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

An absolutely lovely little place to visit in the centre of Malaga. The museum is owned by three friends, and contains a multitude of exquisite pieces of glass, furniture, art, amongst other things which has been both collected by them, or have been heirlooms that they have inherited. The place is ripe with history and as it is a guided tour, the three tour guides are the owners who have extensive knowledge over every piece they have collected, as well as being able to tell you history which they are a part of, including royalty from across Europe. It is an absolutely fascinating tour, the guide who brought me and my family around was extremely friendly and accommodating, making it much more personal than any other tour I've ever been on. I would definitely recommend it and I do hope to return the next time I am in Malaga!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A beautiful and interesting place to visit, guided by one of the owners with obvious love and care for the house - also his home when in Spain - and its amazing contents. Unlike any other museum I have visited, it feels like a home: the glass, furniture, paintings and china are all part of the private collections of the three owners, but are truly beautiful and some very rare indeed. The stained glass windows are lovely, particularly the latest acquisition, by Burne-Jones and William Morris. The whole is set in a stunning 18th century house, which has been superbly restored, and is like the Tardis, far larger than one would imagine from the facade!
This gem is truly not to be missed - not easy to find, but so worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A MUST when visiting Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was our first visit when arriving in Malaga and we were more than enchanted! The house itself is a jewel in itself, the collection is of immeasureable beauty and interest. It must be mentionned that the tour (available in 5 languages by the owner himself!) was a treatise in history. As he said he should have been a teacher! Loved it! Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Glass and Crystal also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Museum of Glass and Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Glass and Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.