We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Glass and Crystal

Museum of Glass and Crystal
Plazuela Santisimo Cristo de la Sangre, 2 | Frente a la Iglesia San Felipe Neri, 29012 Malaga, Spain
952220271
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 attractions in Malaga
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The musuem is about a 10 minute walk from Picasso Museum or from the underground parking at Calle Sta Ana. The route to the area is clear but the enterance itself is somewhat hidden. This is not a standard museum but more of a tour in an estate. The tour is guided and you should reserve at least an hour for the tour. The guide is the estate owner who is also the collector of the exhibits and a scholar in the field of glass history. The exhibts include glass and crystal artifacts from various geographical places and from different times, from far past to these days. Other exhibits are antique furniture and paintings, mostly portraits. Some of the exhibits are facsinating and much flavor is added by the guide - combining historical comments as well as industrial manufacturing and chemistry related information. Definitely recommended for the general public and especially for those interested in glass history. Price was 4 Euro per person - quite reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    52
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best tourist attraction in Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a fabulous place, not at all like a "museum", taken around in a small group (4 of us) by a gentleman who has a great love of crystal and glass. It was his own home so the objects were on view in a personal setting. It was amazing and I will never forget the beauty of the crystal chandelier as the light caught it. I had read that it was hard to find so I asked at tourist information at the railway station, he gave me a street map and we walked straight to it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Heigh light of the trip to Malaga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

THE place to visit.The private museum at the private residential house of the collector.The owner / collector/tour leader is a acharming Cambridge educated gentelman.The house is absolutely fantastic,the collection is fasinating and he makes you appreciate the art and beauty of glass .You will not pass another vase,glass window or anything without thinking about him ever. A 5 star .pLeas go and support you will agree.The ticket is too cheap 4 Euro?!

Elham

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect at this museum, but as other reviewers have said it was a lovely surprise and well worth the visit. If you have any interest in glass it is unmissable; but there is so much else as well, including furniture, paintings and sculptures displayed throughout the proprietor's beautiful home. The owner / guide was passionate about his collection and we couldn't help getting swept up by his enthusiasm. I'm not sure that it deserves its rating as the number one attraction in Malaga, but I will say the museum was one of the best things we did while there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A personal tour by one of the owners. Very reasonable entry charge. A little off the beaten tourist track but worth the effort to find it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Glass and Crystal also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Glass and Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Glass and Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Glass and Crystal to your Saves list