We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de las Mercedes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de las Mercedes to your Saves list
Casa de las Mercedes
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Malaga B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A lovely small hotel set in a quiet street. It is in the heart of the city and has a charming courtyard The staff are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is as expected. They were happy to provide an extra towel.

The room I had was not ideal. Wifi reception was either very slow or usually not present. The safe deposit box did not work. The drying machine outside the window was set to come on at 12.30 in the morning and would repeat every hour or so. I had soap and shampoo for two days after that it never got replenished.

I would stay here again if the wifi was working in the room and away from the dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenu Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Hywel H,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely.

We are so happy to read all this good experience in our Hotel. And we loved to read you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

We are sorry about the wifi reception and the deposit box didn´t work. By the moment everything is working perfectly. But regarding soap and shampoo we do replace it everyday when cleaning.

We would be really happy to receive you once more and try to make your stay the happiest.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
72
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here one night when the hotel a few doors down could not have us as he had problems with a leaking soil pipe. It's in a good location, on a passageway in old Malaga near all the historic areas and we could park in the local multistorey carpark round the corner for an extra 15 Euros for 24 hours.

Receptionist was unfriendly, seemed uninterested in us and enjoyed smoking right by the front door which doesn't look nice nor professional. This was despite us being able to speak near-fluent Spanish.

The room, however, was tiny. Now, we're Brits, so we're not demanding of room space unlike our cousins from the US (!) and we like being out as much as possible...but you could barely walk around the double bed. There was only enough room to have the suitcase on the floor behind the door. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor on the left side.

The TV did not work as the satellite box only let us watch 2 channels. The other channels were scrambled.

We'd also been told that we'd have a double bed, but it was 2 single beds pushed together. A pretty sad way of ending an otherwise lovely 1 week stay in Andalucia.

The receptionist kindly switched on the wall heater when we arrived as it was cool and felt damp and infrequently used. However, we could not control it at 4am when the room was roasting hot and had to fight to pull out the plug from behind the wardrobe! The bedroom was generally quiet but on the friday night there were really loud bass sounds from a nearby club or venue making the windows rattle, luckily this finished before midnight.

The bathroom (shower room) was a reasonable size but old hairs were still visible on the tiled walls and floors - not a nice sight.

We had to leave at 0730 the next morning so we didn't have a chance to see anyone to tell them what a disappointing stay we'd had. Bizarrely perhaps, there was a sign on the back of the main door requesting that guests write Tripadvisor reviews. I cannot believe their naiivety and total lack of insight, that they actually want people to moan about this place. I'm generally very positive and generous with my reviews, but this place is outrageous.

Positive: good location, 24h car park nearby for an extra 15 Euros.
Negative: room was unfeasibly small, non-functioning TV, receptionist unfriendly. Cannot believe we paid 65 Euros for this dump, no breakfast, broken TV, plus another 15 Euros to park the car. What a rip-off....avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
First of all we are very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel although we are really surprised comparing the opinions of our clients in general either in trip advisor, booking.com or other distribution channels.
It is true that our double rooms are quite small due to the fact that the construction of the building dates back to the 18th century and is classified as an historical monument what makes it impossible to change the seize of the rooms and make them bigger. We hope you understand that our hotel is not a conventional hotel which was built and designed as a hotel with specific seizes of the rooms but it is more a special project and our clients like the originality of it. Nevertheless, we like to mention that the triple rooms have a normal standard seize as in any other hotel and the seize of the suite goes beyond of the expectations of any client who stayed with us.
Referring to your comment that the bathroom was not cleaned well we have to disagree in this point yet cleanness is one of our priorities, as well as the friendly service to our guests.
Breakfast is always included in our hotel, it is not an optional choice but in your case as you were sent from another hotel which does not include breakfast you already booked their rate + conditions. Anyway, we think 65 EUR is not a reasonable price for a double room in the center of Málaga. If our clients have to leave early, before breakfast time we normally give them a breakfast to go on their way.
The parking does not belong to us, it is just a service which we offer to our clients and with 15 EUR we are 7-8 EUR cheaper than the normal price of the public parking in the center of Málaga.
As we are a really small hotel and a family business our opening hours cannot be 24hours but in fact they are 16 hours (from 08:00 – 24:00h).
For your next visit to Málaga we recommend you to book in a modern, big and conventional hotel of the city, there are lots of them and it might be more of your style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a gem...was relunctant to write a review as we want to keep this property a secret.
We received a warm and friendly welcome (even at midnight!)
The room we stayed in was simply magnificent.
Breakfast was more than adequate.
Location is central but enough to be off the beaten track so a good night sleep is guaranteed.
Can't wait to return! We fell in love with Malaga with a lot of help from this great property.

Room Tip: Book the suite, it will take your breath away.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director General at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear clients, thank you so much for this excellent opinion, we are very pleased that you felt so at home at Casa de las Mercedes and that you also appreciate its qualities like the location, atmosphere and its service. It is a real pleasure for us to accommodate such positive guests as you are. We hope to see you soon again!
Kind regards,
Ignacio Benítez. Owner and Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is small, friendly and relatively easy to find.

I have two criticisms, both of which were raised at the hotel itself.

First, all beds are twins. On Lastminute,com I booked a double room. Twin was not mentioned anywhere. I am always careful to check. I even wrote in the special comments box that I wanted a double bed. Our room had twin beds. I pointed out that I had requested a double and the receptionist told me that all there is in Malaga/Andalucia is twins, even in five star establishments. This is simply not true as this was our fifth Andalucian hotel in two weeks and the first to have twin beds. The standard advise is just to push them together, but someone always ends up falling down the gap. I think that if I am paying a decent sum, it is reasonable to receive what I requested. If they're unable to fulfil this request, then it should be made clear to I can consider possibly rebooking elsewhere. I feel a bit like I have been tricked and once you're being shown the room by a member of staff it's just a little bit too late to start arguing and trying to rebook - so genuinely not pleased about this.

Secondly, the free WIFI which is used as a selling point was too weak to work in our room. I am using iPad 3 and iPhone 4 so no issues with my equipment. Only option is to sit in breakfast room, which is not ideal.

Other than this, the hotel is small and friendly. Breakfast is fine.

I probably would not stay again, as I really hate the twin bed thing, but if you and your partner don't really get on and don't like to be close to one another then it'll be fine.

Overall would be 4 stars with a double bed
Service would have been 4 stars if we'd been served up a double bed.
Value would be four stars with a double bed.
Sleep quality would be 4 stars with a double bed.

I hate to write a poor review, but I did raise these things at the time and nothing was done so I feel I am able to mention these things here. Clearly a bed is critical in the hotel rating. Had I had a double bed it would have been a four star review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMer2, Revenue Manager at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Agoentis,

First of all we apologyse for the delay in our answer.

We are really sorry that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us completely

Following spanish hospitality law, and as we are just a 7 rooms Hotel, all rooms need to have twin beds but whe double bed is required, we dress them as double.

We are sorry about the wifi reception, but we can confirm the by the moment it is working ADSL all around our Hotel.

We are so happy to read that you were happy with our Staff and Breakfast, which are 2 of our high points!

Thank you very much for your review,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were greeted by a nonchalent member of staff who lead us to a poorly decorated and dark room that had room for one double bed. The wall paper was peeling off one side of the room and dust was everywhere. There was barely enough room for my partner and I to move around and in truth we spent two days avoiding the room. Futhermore, the room was on the ground floor and its windows opened up onto the corridor (so no opening the windows at night then...) So a tiny room, terrible decoration, poor lightening and bad service
Breakfast was in the compact hotel reception area and consisted of nasty pastries and toast. You had to ask the member of staff for coffee and it felt like you were asking them for a limb... Just poor poor poor. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: You pay for the location and don't expect anything else. Really don't....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and we do apologize we have not exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is small but charming, it was built in the XIX c. as a house and it was refurbished into a hotel. It is decorated as a typical Andalucía house. There is no doubt; this is the first time we have review like yours. Although we take note and we will try to improve in every aspect that we can. We will do our best to change.
Sincerely, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This special place is located a couple of meters near Teatro Cervantes, on a quiet street, very close to the main streets and sights in Malaga. Beware of the fact that if you look for a location near the beach, this is not for you, since the center historic of Malaga is rather far from the beach (20-25 minutes walking).
We found the hotel quite easy with the help of a GPS (the street is very narrow) and the host were very helpful to direct us to a very close and convenient public parking.
The room was pretty small but ok, and looked into an inside small iluminator (patio). However, since we saw other rooms looked into the inside corridor, ours was better. When biiking, do ask for a room with a street view, to get natural light.
We suggest the hotel a small improvement to the bathroom, respectively a shower cabin, instead of the current shower curtain.
The breakfast was not memorable but good.
We noticed that not all the hosts in the reception were customer oriented. We were offered a map when we arrived and some basic orientation tips but, for example, at breakfast time, there was no interaction between the people in the reception and the guests, since we all were in the same room.
The hotel provides extremelly good value for money, and it is beautiful; we especially liked its interior patio (tipical for andaluzian style).

Room Tip: As for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadelasMercedes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa de las Mercedes, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry we had not exceeded your expectation. We take note and we will do our best to improve our services and installations. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de las Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de las Mercedes

Address: Hinestrosa 18, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa de las Mercedes 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decor of the rooms as the rest of the house is especially careful and elegant, emulating the original construction of the building and personalizing each one with different wallpaper, paint, curtains and design headboards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa de las Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Mercedes Hotel Malaga
Casa De Las Mercedes Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de las Mercedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.