We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice for a few days stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Trebol to your Saves list
Hotel Trebol
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Moreno Carbonero, 3, 29005 Malaga, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Malaga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Europe.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice for a few days stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went to this hotel for 3 nights. Very clean and new. situated at a perfect location. Only one minute from the center. Buss stops 4 minutes walk away. Candy store almost next door. Restaurants, snack bars and a lot of shoe /clothing stores nearby. Malaga cathedral was only 5 minutes walking away.

Small rooms but very clean! toilet had a shower. Shower head was broken so you had to hold the shower head while showering. Shower doors were pretty strange. Was "locked" inside the shower two times. Someone had to come and open it from the outside.

Everything could be heard from the corridor to the room. From the corridor you could hear everything from every room.

Tv channels were all Spanish, could not change the audio to English.

Ac worked fine. Small cute balcony. request a room towards the street. There were rooms that had a "view" to an inside garden (garden was approx 2 m x 2 m and could be entered to from the corridor. So you had to have the curtains closed all the time.
Wi-fi was working also. they gave a wi-fi wire at the front desk.

The employee that was from the morning until 2 pm i think, was very kind and helpful! dark hair and a nice shirt everyday :) Answered every question we had. He had also pretty good English. He was there because he liked customer service.

older night guard was not at all nice. Very rude! Don't know why, he did not talk that much but when he talked he was very angry. I have never been at a hotel with that kind of customer service. Will not go to specific details. I think the details is for the manager, not to others.

I would come back for example a shopping trip for 2 days. For a longer stay, this room is little too small and has no fridge!! Would not go with children, because of the noises you could hear from other rooms.

paid only 61 euros per night.

I would go there again with a friend.

If you are going there to party, i would not recommend this hotel. Their system at the hotel is that the door is always locked! front door, so the front desk has to open it for everyone. So, if you are coming late and very drunk, i think this older night guard would not be happy about it? who knows.

Hope the hotel gets refrigerator to the rooms! because there were no breakfast and you could not buy anything the day before.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
75
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A great budget hotel in heart of Malaga. Everything within walking distance. Had back room, on small side but very quiet, clean and comfortable. air con very efficient and quiet. would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Would select a Front room with balcony if possible. Not much of a view but good to have outdoor spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

stayed here for 1 night pe -cruise and will deffo be back. its a small hotel but our room was clean and bright the bathroom was clean and the shower was great.
it was also close to the main shopping/eating area and we could walk from the bus station and to the cruise ship.
the staff were very helpful so all in all it was a great find ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It seems as if spaniards have taken foreign tourism for granted. They don't offer the friendly service they used to. This hotel has a system in the room where you're supposed to plug in your room card key into an outlet once you open the door in order to get the electrical system to work. But the front desk person ignores that the system while convenient to them, is not used throughout the world. That means you have to go back downstairs and ask looking like a fool why you can't get the lights to work. Other hotels I stayed in Spain and around the world specially here in the USA don't use the system which is supposed to save energy every time you leave the room. But they should have the courtesy and brains to tell you the moment you check in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

On a recent trip to Malaga, Spain we stayed at 2 different hotels before and after a cruise. We booked the Hotel Trebol for price and location. The positive is the location with the hotel being close to shopping/restaurants, port, and train station. The negatives are rooms were not very clean, the front desk staff was not friendly, and the curb appeal of the hotel is not too nice. The shower head was broken. The HVAC controls were difficult to control.

I would recommend before reserving this hotel to compare the rates to the "Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad". If it is only a minor increase to get the Ibis Malaga hotel, I would recommend the Ibis Malaga hotel over the Hotel Trebol.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARSHALLTOWN
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
436 helpful votes 436 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The Hotel Trebol is an excellent budget option in a convenient location near central Malaga.

From the cruise port it is a short taxi ride. From the bus and train stations take any local bus to Alameda Principal (most bus routes go to it, as does the 2 euro airport express bus), and then walk north about 200 meters. The hotel is on a quiet corner just north of the indoor farmers market (ask for Mercado Central de Atarazanas).

The Trebol is a small hotel with only 4 rooms per floor. Two face the street and have large windows and balconies. Two face air shafts toward the back.

On my recent stay there I had a small non-smoking back room with a double bed at the single room rate. The room was modernized with IKEA style furniture and a flat screen TV (no international channels). The climate control worked well and was quiet, although I did not use it much since my window onto the air shaft provided nice fresh air.

The shower (no tub) had fantastic water pressure -- a joy after a long day of sightseeing. The streets around the hotel are very quiet and I slept very well. Even the balcony rooms in front are probably quiet enough.

The front desk staff was friendly. I booked through Expedia and had no problem with my pre-paid reservation. Booking directly may be even cheaper. The hotel was good about replying to my email requesting a confirmation of my stay.

Next to the front desk is a wi-fi lounge for the free use of guests. There is no restaurant. I simply bought fresh fruit, bread, and cheese at the farmers market, and wine at the nearby small supermarket (southwest of the farmers market on the same street).

Malaga is a very tourist-friendly town, with several information booths offering free maps and good advice.

The Picasso museum is the most famous draw, but the small free art museum in the Episcopal palace, the free open air Roman amphitheater, the small museum of costumes and crafts, and the free modern art museum were all enjoyable.

The cathedral is impressive from outside but I did not enter since the tickets seemed over-priced.

Best of all, Malaga is very pedestrian-friendly, with many shopping streets and sidewalk cafes and crowds of locals enjoying a paseo in good weather.

For day trips outside Malaga, there are buses to the east and west along the Costa del Sol. My recommendation is Nerja, a picturesque beach community an hour by bus to the east. From Nerja, stop by the mirador “Balcony of Europe” and then walk to one of the fine beaches east of town.

Buses for both coastal directions leave from the main station west of the town center, and some also leave from the bus depot on Avenida Manuel Heredia near the downtown cruise port.

In summary, Hotel Trebol provides an excellent tourist class value, with small rooms, good rates, and a very convenient location.

Room Tip: From rooms have large windows and a balcony. Back rooms have a window on an air shaft but are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very handy from the train station, and extraordinary value for money. A very useful stopover. Good sized, clean bedroom, with an excellent ensuite bathroom. The staff are really helpful and friendly (especially if you speak some Spanish). Easy online booking. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Moreno Carbonero, 3, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Trebol 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trebol Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trebol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.